We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
9
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
11
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I was not expecting much from Malekula after my flight was cancelled and I arrived one day late at a burnt down airport at Norsup but this place was a gem. Clean, nice grounds, good food (I had very tender and tasty beef with an onion, tomato peppery sauce) and friendly owner. Room had a fan and mosquito net and clean towells and soap which I did not expect in the backblocks. Only stayed one night but half expected to stay longer if dysfunctional Air Vanuatu had cancelled flights again. Would have been a fine place to sit and write a report if they had. As it was, Air Vanuatu turned up (eventually) and I got back to Vila just in time to intercept someone breaking into my house.
Would recommend this to anyone passing through Norsup/Lakatoro.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SukaMakanLos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Malekula is most definitely off the beaten track for many visitors to Vanuatu, but if you're looking for something unique and unspoilt, it's the place to go. Often, accommodation in hard-to-reach places is average, and food less than appetizing. But Nabelchel offers simple yet comfortable Bungalows with clean bathrooms and nice furnishings - ill admit I was surprised! I was further surprised by the food, which was really, really good! Lakotoro is small, and there aren't many options for dining out or nightlife, so having a nice bungalow to retire to is a real bonus, as you'll spend most if your evening in it! Don't expect 5 star luxury - but do expect friendly service, clean, comfy and bug free accommodation, and food that beats many of the options offered in port Vila!

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malolava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

You have to consider the alternatives before making a rating. No hot water, no a.c. , not even a fan. But what makes this place is the owner and his family. Ocea has to be the nicest and most helpful guy on the planet. He could not do enough for us, from introducing us to business contacts, providing breakfast and dinner, even taking us to the french school for lunch.
If you need somewhere to stay in Malekula look no further.

Date of stay: September 2013
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank mrbean69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Me and my partner spent two nights in this place and we LOVE it. Basic, but nice and clean accommodation with access to fridge and very good meals, also cold beer. We fully recommend this place to all kinds of travellers. They can organize all kinds of trips for you including fabulous boat trip. You can also buy some very interesting authentic art from Malekula.
So PLEASE do not even thing about dealing with horrible Malampa Travel Call Centre which is a HUGE SCAM !!!!!!!
Make your booking directly with the hotel.
Voytek and his partner from Vancouver Canada

Room tip: All rooms are nice and clean.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wwloszyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Bungalow with bathroom for 3,600 Vt.

This positiveearth bungalow is located 5 min walking from the airport (in the way to Norsup).

Staying here is living with Hosea’s family. In fact, the three bungalows and the two rooms are located in the family yard, where there are some chickens walking around and several fruit trees. The bungalows are home-made, but with high standards. Each bungalow has its own bathroom (throne and shower) and all the beds have mosquito net.
The meals are not included… but you have an equipped kitchen to cook. Another option is to ask Hosea to cook for you, which was not very expensive. The biggest supermarket is at the entrance of Lakatoro.

Hosea is very helpful organising activities such as Big nambas (5.000 Vt/pp + 3.000 Vt. truck), Small nambas (5.000 Vt/pp + 6.000 Vt. truck), etc.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sastals_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews