We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
146
51
13
6
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
51
13
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kahuna burger sandy beach continental breakfast night scene big kahuna off season has great food alarm clock puerto rico bring earplugs enjoyed my stay wonderful hotel pool bar mini fridge the location is perfect tamboo tavern a great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Casa Verde is just a two minute walk from Sandy Beach (it's basically across the street) and consists of two separate buildings. On the left is reception, the fine dining restaurant, the pool and rooms. The right side (where we stayed) has more rooms, Kahuna Burger/Bar, a gift/convenience shop and outdoor sitting areas. The entire facility is IMMACULATE. Inside and out, at all times of the day and night. The room itself looked and felt brand new and had every convenience one could wish for. Queen bed, full size dresser, satellite television, loveseat, table with two chairs and a credenza with mini fridge, coffee maker (with real mugs!), microwave, wi-fi hotspot & free bottled water. Plenty of pillows, good quality linens and blackout curtains topped it all off. Bathroom is small but modern and nicely appointed. There is a downside and it could be a big one - the bar offers live entertainment nightly and as I mentioned, we were right near it. The music lasts until at least midnight so if you're looking for quiet, this IS NOT the place for you. If you close the bathroom door, it helps but even with the TV on, we could still hear the music pretty clearly. It did t keep us up, but that may have had something to do with the awesome Pina Coladas...! There are a few places within walking distance but not many. Sandy beach is pretty wavy but big and great for walking, exploring. We very much enjoyed our stay here and truly appreciate their friendly staff and fine attention to detail!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

We were really looking forward to staying here, but were repeatedly disappointed. We stayed on the top floor, expecting a nice ocean view while we sat on our semi-private terrace. Sadly, the view could only be seen if you stood at the low wall at the edge of the terrace. The cushions on our lounge chairs were wet, and my husband went downstairs (no phone in room) to see if they had extra cushions that might be dry. He was informed that the cushions could not possibly be wet, since a) it hadn't rained that day, and b) the cushions were waterproof. We had no warm water the day we arrived, sweaty and grimy after hiking en route. The same helpful girl at the desk explained that we couldn't be out of hot water, because the water heater was solar powered, and it hadn't rained that day. No, there was no manager we could talk to until 7 am, even though this was in the late afternoon. The next day, the building manager explained that the hotel had not expected to be completely full for a week at a time when it purchased the underpowered water heating system. We still didn't have water even warm enough to contemplate a shower the next morning, but finally had hot water, after letting the water run for 5 min, in the mid afternoon. The room cleaning service gave the room a lick and no promise, leaving a dirty wine glass in the room. The stairs to our room were not standard, with very high risers that were challenging for my short, arthritic legs. There was no one to help with luggage, so I am grateful we could manage that. There were 2 rooms, one of which I expected to be a sitting room. It had one chair, and one low piece of furniture that I suppose was a futon, but not something you could sit on. The continental breakfast was a sorry affair, as well. The "juice" was a powdered orange drink, like Tang. The were bagels, bread, dried out mini pastries, two kinds of cereal, apples, pears, and grapefruits. Tropical island, with mostly imported fruit..... you figure. All in all, it would have been fine at 1/3rd the price, but we certainly didn't get what we paid for.
Keep looking.....

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WeBRads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy B, Owner at Casa Verde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

WebRads,
I am sorry your stay with us did not live up to our expectations. Since Puerto Rico is a tropical island, many of the plants that surround our area grow very, very quickly. What could be an unobstructed view one day, may look like a jungle the next. We are approximately 100 yards from a beach with coconut palms and royal palms growing ferociously. Our hot water system we use is indeed a solar hot water system. It has a 480 gallon capacity which generally meets the needs of our guests. However, the GM is correct when he said it struggles to keep up with demand when the Hotel is full for an extended period of time. Therefore, we have installed heating elements in all of our tanks in hopes to avoid this problem during high demand periods in the future.
I am a bit confused with regards to our cleaning staff. They, including the General Manager have some of the highest standards I have ever had the privilege to work with. We have a 32 point checklist which must be completed whenever they clean a room and this would be the first complaint in nearly 6 years regarding cleanliness. Wine glasses are not part of our inventory for a room and one can only infer as to why it would not have been cleaned.
The rooms are furnished in what is referred to as, European contemporary design. It will have all of the comforts of home without being bulky. I will certainly let our interior decorator know your thoughts. With regards to the continental breakfast, Puerto Rico has little to no agricultural industry. Most of our fruits and vegetables are imported from other countries. It is unfortunate and I wish it were different...but, we felt providing imported fruits and vegetables was better then not providing them at all.
Lastly, we have 5 different room categories and pricing to choose from...I would suggest our Standard or Superior rooms for the next time you stay with us. The Superior Room located on the 1st floor maybe a better choice as there are no stairs to navigate and is significantly less expensive then our Penthouse Suites.
Thanks for your feedback,
Billy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Thanks for the Great Customer Service. Thanks to Angel the security card who was awesome! This is a great place to stay and is also in the heart of Rincon!!! They also have one of the best party bars in Rincon!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daniellejblackwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

This place has it all, an amazing location right in front of sandy beach, two awesome restaurants (one with live music every day! ) great pool, all the modern amenities, and an amazing friendly helpful staff. If it's your first time in Rincon or your hundredth, you'll feel right at home here!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ward1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Rincon is one of the best kept secrets in Puerto Rico especially by Americans who travel there. Reason is because of the endless secluded beaches surrounding the area from Aguadilla down to Mayaguez and not wanting the world to know. In Rincon there is a special atmosphere and experience due to the local surfing community "culture" which brings a myriad of people from abroad. Sandy Beach is located Bo Punta and one of the best beaches in the area. The finest place to stay while in Rincon is Casa Verde Hotel and just steps from Sandy beach. Here you will have the opportunity to meet friends that will last a lifetime..in fact become like family. When you leave Puerto Rico after staying at Casa Verde it will be like leaving home rather than returning.

Tim Cates

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies...
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimCates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews