We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
191
46
36
24
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
191
46
36
24
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool moroccan style the general manager murphy bed puerto rico four poster worth the splurge luxury hotel we spent hours mango trees french doors this place is amazing oceanview room waves crashing sack pools villa
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2018

We booked plunge pool suite for two nights. The plunge pool is NOT private at all, as the manager Wilhelm had assured us, it would be. Our neighbor's balcony overlooked our pool. It was also not chlorinated at all--in fact, the water filter looked like it was leaking gallons of water, per hour while spraying water on an exposed junction box. Exposed electrical wiring all over the property, too. There was no hot water in our suite, at all. No water pressure either, for that matter. No-one on the premises who could fix our hot water issue and no-other rooms available to move to. It rained heavily, which was fine, except for the fact that the rain started pouring from our ceiling in multiple places including through a painted-over smoke detector. Fresh paint was covering multiple layers of patching, in an effort to conceal bowed and water damaged sheet rock. This place is a den of black mold. We fled the premises at 2 am on the first night when the 5 buckets in our room started to overflow and then had to fight the manager, Wilhelm, for weeks to get our money back in full. The Horned Dorset has the appearance of an establishment that has been in a state of disrepair for a long time, not just since the hurricane. As you can see from some of the photos on this website (many of which are outdated), this place was at one time a glorious resort. The only shining spot was the young man on duty that night who tried so very hard to make things right. He should be at the Ritz Carleton but got stuck at this dump. In summary, stay at your own risk and don't let your toddlers play with the pretty colored wires.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank Travellermom6835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wohlsein, General Manager at Horned Dorset Primavera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, although a bit confusing, ...pool not chlorinated ..filter loosing water..,,you had low water pressure,. ..all plunge pools are designed for complete privacy and even if there is a building next door , no one can look in to it and are our hallmark ...some one would have to claim up the wall etc. etc.....none of your comments make much sense.,,

I hope you enjoyed your time as planned beforehand as you wanted to cancel then you did not and so on. . . I also trust you sorted out your issue with your credit card bank as we were contacted by them.

Regards.

W, Sack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

A classic in excellence, quality and charm,Horned Dorset keeps its magical appeal,even after undergoing rough financial times,and complicated circumstances after Hurricane Maria!!
It has recently changed its tradition of being a bit disconnected from the outside world,to promote an atmosphere of total relaxation,with a bit more of cable and WiFi facilities,but still keeping an absolute calm,peaceful ambiance!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank U4238MHrobertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Best adult vacation. Serene, Beautiful views of ocean and mountains. Outstanding restaurant. Rooms are exquisitely decorated. The weather is perfect. A bit pricey but worth every penny. There are mango trees around that are delicious.

Date of stay: July 2018
2  Thank Enid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

This place is located in front of the beach and it’s surrounding is so green and tropical. The room was above and beyond expectations. Wilhelm and his staff were so to the perfection in everything we asked for and more. A definitely must-return spot. A hidden gem. We loved it. Can’t wait to be back.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Miguelon47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

The beauty of the Horned Dorset is only surpassed by the quality of the people associated with this incredible property. The beach may have been reduced and the property may have taken its' hits, but the reality is this luxury resort has not only survived but is thriving post-hurricane Maria. We were so pleased to have spent an incredible evening with the owner of the Chateau Rose, Antonio Rosa. We were welcomed as if we were family and we had the most amazing conversation that revealed the heart of what we have found so endearing about the spirit of the Puerto Ricans. There is a spirit of 'moving forward' regardless of the circumstances and there is just an incredible 'can-do' attitude that we so cherish and have come to appreciate. We highly recommend this resort and fully endorse the staff as charming, loving, appreciative and greatful. You will not be disappointed and we look forward to coming back many MANY times! Muchos gracias Antonio!!!

Room tip: There isn't a bad room in the facility
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kendell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews