We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
56
13
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
13
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand great hosts freight train one night enjoyed our stay room was clean and comfortable next morning stayed longer stayed two nights bed and breakfast hokitika gorge shared bathroom south island the ground floor across the road homestay paul
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2017

We arrived on a rainy afternoon and Paul and Linley welcomed us to their beautiful place which is about 2 hours from Franz Josef Glacier. The great room was beautiful and it was a great place for the four of us to relax, have some refreshments and snacks.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 256anthonys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the self contained apartment on the second floor and were more than happy. The apartment is neatly furnished and equipped with a kitchen. We especially enjoyed the terrace which is attached. We were arriving a bit late for dinner but hadn't eaten and decided to call before we reached, Linley was very helpful in advising us where we could dine and making us a reservation. Overall a good stay and would recommend staying here (for Hokitika) especially if you're coming from quite a distance like we were.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank kovitss1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Piper's Flat Apartment at Awatuna Homestead.
We loved it from the first second, as we were really welcomed by the whole family, when we arrived. What a lovely family, house and surrounding. The garden is absolutely amazing!
The apartment was like being at home, it was very clean, comfortable and you had everything you need.
And last but not least let's talk about the breakfast...it was amazing and even as it was just the two of us, Linley really made us different breads, pies etc. We really appreciated all these things and we hope we will come back one day. Thank you!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kathrin_Sven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We spent two nights at the Piper's Flat Apartment at Awatuna Homestead. Arriving was already a pleasure, surrounded by beautiful gardens the house gives an amazing appearance. Our two kids (3 & 6 yrs) loved the two dogs Molly and Abbey. Linley and Paul were absolutely fantastic hosts, very friendly and supportive.
The apartment was very clean, well equipped, cosy.
You need a car to reach Hokitika (approx. 10 min.) or Greymouth (20 min.) where you'll find plenty of restaurants, supermarkets,...
We'd definitely want to come back!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

For this area, the Awatuna Homestead is by far the most amazing place to stay. It has a 5 star feel for a bed and breakfast! The hosts are a delight and so friendly and helpful! The accommodations are excellent - comfortable, clean and quiet. Your room has everything you need and was one of my best night's sleep on the trip. Breakfast is delicious and filling! I cannot say enough wonderful things about this stay! I wish we could have stayed longer!

Room tip: The upstairs apartment was fabulous with a kitchen, living area, balcony, nice bathroom and bedroom.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cjenk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AwatunaHomestead, Owner at Awatuna Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

So glad you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable - it was lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you again if you are ever back this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews