We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ras Kutani
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunrise Beach Resort(Dar es Salaam)
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$308
US$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Africa Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$123
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam(Dar es Salaam)
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$100
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Nyangumi(Dar es Salaam)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
242
25
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
25
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolour honeymoonindian oceanminute flighthuge bedperfect place to relaxbeach bagbaolittle piece of paradisedeserted beachdar es salaamthe managerspost safarilocal fishermenfresh water lagoonsun loungersmeal times
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

From the moment I took off my shoes at your entrance to the moment I reluctantly put them back on the day u left I felt completely relaxed. After 9 days exiting but busy safaris it was the perfect ending to our special 50th anniversary holiday. From the restful massage to the refreshing pool what more could u want .The particular care given to us both while we were with the lodge was way beyond what was expected. The accommodation, food and staff could not have been better. The setting of the hotel is wonderful with both the endless beach and lagoon adding to the beauty if the area. As a carer I would not hesitate to recommend Ras Kutani to anyone needing a totally relaxing but secure holiday .Thankyou to everyone involved .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smallworldmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you so much for choosing Ras Kutani to spend your very special holiday. It is the perfect place to unwind after 9 days on safari. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for mentioning our team's care of you...I will certainly pass your comments on.

Karibu Tena
The Selous Safari Company team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Ras Kutani was our first stop on our amazing honeymoon in Tanzania. After a long flight we arrived and were greeted so warmly. We loved crossing the lagoon on boat and the minute we walked in our shoulders dropped and we felt instantly relaxed after a very hectic few months for our wedding! were were so well looked after and even got upgraded to the most beautiful room with its own pool - we couldn't believe our luck! It was the perfect place to start and could hide away without anyone around enjoying lovely walks on the beach and lying by the pool, The food was delicious and we enjoyed yummy gin and tonics learning how to play Bao! we left feeling so well rested and fed, and couldn't recommend more and very much hope to return soon!!!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghenderson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smallworldmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you so much for choosing Ras Kutani to start your very special holiday. It is the perfect place to unwind and relax before embarking on a safari adventure. Perhaps we can welcome you back again for your 10th wedding anniversary?!!

Karibu Tena
The Selous Safari Company team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Luxury, the jewel of the Dar es Salaam coast line, Ras Kutani is just stunning. It was some seven or eight years ago that we found Ras and enjoyed a week in suite one. That unit sits high on the hill but passing years and less able bodies gave us reason this time to select a standard room. It maybe an almost immeasurable bit smaller than the suites but it is still totally luxurious. The standard units all face either the sea or the lagoon, there is little that could be added to the rooms, hammocks, an eight foot bed, spacious bathroom, yes all is pure luxury. The decor is most attractive, bright colours adorn walls and furnishings. That is all inside then there is the pair of hammocks that allow a view of the ocean and lagoon from an arena of swinging relaxation. The swimming pool is like all here just perfect, warm clean waters, lots of shade, an adjacent library, changing areas and a wifi station. There is no wifi in the rooms or public areas, it is so refreshing to witness conversations taking place in the open air dining room rather than computer games etc. Ras is not only about relaxation and luxury there is the food, it is amazing. There can be few locations in the world that offer the food quality that is presented each day by Juma the chef, try the fish chowder, in fact try it all, it is an irresistible delight. Not only is the fare on offer special but so is the delightful eating locations that the wonderful staff make available. Dinner on the beach, on the boating pontoon, yes you never know where next your table will be placed, it adds so much to the eating experience. The staff are like everything else, special people intent only in ensuring that you enjoy this piece of heaven, the splendid and efficient Emiel was managing things during our stay ably assisted by the ever smiling Johns and a host of other guys who add so much to a holiday. The beach is an un-spoilt bay of glistening white sand washed in clean warm water. Attractive individual and private areas of shade under locally woven raffia screens and a convenient beach bar formed from an upturned boat is typical of the levels of attention that have been applied to the needs of the guests. One last but important matter, there are no hawkers on the beach at all. One or two local fishermen will offer a friendly wave as they walk by with their catch but no one will do a Zanzibar on you here. Maybe there are no hawkers in heaven for this is heaven on earth.

Room Tip: Fit, young, maybe on honeymoon take a suite but a standard is also just perfect
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalmesburyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smallworldmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences at Ras Kutani - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed the different dinner locations...its always nice to surprise our guests with new dining experiences! Thank you for mentioning our lovely long and peaceful beach - can walk for miles and no one will disturb you!

Karibuni Tena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

I have just spent 6 incredible nights in Ras Kutani after 4 days in Selous.
What a beautiful spot and retreat hidden away from the nearby Dar es Salaam which is less then a 2 hour drive away or 15 minutes by plane.

From the moment I arrived I saw nothing but smiles from all members of staff which lasted until they day I left...but that's because I can no longer see them.

The resort is stunning and well maintained. Large spacious rooms with the delightful breeze from the Swahili coast. Plenty of hot water and gorgeous toiletries so ladies don't worry about 15 kilos baggage allowance if you are combining a safari as the products are lush. The beds are huge and extremely comfortable in fact I wasn't sure which direction to sleep.
Nothing better then to wake up to the sound of the crashing ways or to fall asleep to the sound of bush babies, frogs or monkeys.

The fresh water lagoon is lovely do try kayaking which are provided down by the beach hut free of charge. I didn't get around to walking the forest route as I found the beach walks ate away at my time. When the tide is out you can see the old shipwreck and play around in the Rock pools and crabs.

The food is amazing and the chief will go above and beyond for those with dietary requirements. Make sure you bring larger clothes to travel home in. 3 course meals and awesome cocktails catch up with you after 12 days. Dinner locations may change but I won't spoil the fun!

Shoes you will not need only flip flops for during the day for the sand gets rather hot under the beautiful African sun. Sipp a cocktail read a book no news is good news. For those who do want to keep updated WiFi is available by the pool cabana 50mb per day.

Finally a big thank you to Suzanna and Bas for being great hosts and dinner dates. A huge thank you to all the staff for making me feel part of the Rad Kutani family! All the best for the future.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank tjnicklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smallworldmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences at Ras Kutani - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for mentioning our lovely long and peaceful beach - can walk for miles and no one will disturb you!

Karibu Tena
The Selous Safari Company team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Ras Kutani was the third part of our holiday in Tanzania. After the safaris in Selous and Ruhah it was great to chill out. The hotel is only a few minutes away from its own airstrip (approx 15 minute flight to Dar es Salaam). We had suite 8 overlooking the lagoon and sea. Staff were all welcoming, food excellent. Accommodation spacious. On the veranda there are two hammocks and 2 seats, just perfect for resting in the afternoon. Walks along the fine sandy beach, take a dip in the pool, play Bao or take the self guided logoon walk or just chill out reading a book its up to you. Joseph our waiter was friendly, he also escorted us to the village where we met the locals, village Chairman and school children. One class of around 40 (8/9 years) all decided to sing and dance for us. This is worthwhile and gives you a chance to see where most of the staff come from. Selous Safari Company owned all of the 3 hotel/camps we stayed at. All very different, well run with excellent accommodation, food, staff and guides. From the moment we were collected from Dar airport to our return everything ran smoothly. One of our best holidays, a perfect way to celebrate our anniversary. Thanks to everyone at Selous Safari Company and staff at Siwandu, Jongomero and Ras Kutani. Also Craig at Rainbow Tours for arranging it.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 760Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smallworldmarketing, Public Relations Manager at Ras Kutani, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and we are delighted that you got to experience all three SSC properties. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day soon.
Best wishes,
SSC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews