We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent, comfortable family space in a...”

Review of Waterend Barn

Front Door and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Door and garden
Side View Front View 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Front Door and garden
Side View
Front View 1
Front view 2
Front view 3
Living Room 1
Living Room 2
Living Room 3
Dining Room
Waterend Barn Kitchen
Main Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Attic Floor sitting area and Single Bedroom 3
Single Bedroom 4
Single Bedroom 4
Family Bathroom
Garden 1
Garden 2
View over Belton from ridge
View of Belton and Waterend from Lambley Lodge Road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Belton-in-Rutland, Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ambassado...
1 review
“An excellent, comfortable family space in a lovely location”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The extended family of four adults and three children spent a great week at Waterend Barn. Everything was so clean, comfortable and well-appointed to accommodate us all. The children (11,9 and 5) really loved their attic space which was 'very cool'! We were lucky with the weather, but there was good space for all to enjoy games in the evenings and when it did rain. Parking has been commented on by previous reviewers but we had no difficulty, using the grass space opposite the cottage for one car and adjacent street parking for the other. We had helpful and efficient service and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2016
Great guests and we look forward to them staying again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aly J
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A real home-from-home in a beautiful, peaceful location.”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is our third stay at Waterend, and once again we had a wonderful time. It always feels like a home-from-home. We were impressed with the work that has been done on the property since our visit last year. The windows look lovely - a top job. The new flooring in the lounge/dining room was a real boost. It was so much easier to clear up the dogs' fur! The screen in the shower room was also a real improvement.

Thank you again for a wonderful break.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Great guests and very welcome for a fourth visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tantan36
Llanfoist, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage was lovely,really clean and having the fire lit was nice.It was a chocolate box cottage. Only downside was the parking.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAMann_12
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“clean, well equiped in a delightful setting”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Only stayed a weekend to attend a family wedding nearby however could have comfortably stayed longer as the cottage was just lovely. A brief explore of the little village we discovered a 'secret garden' playground so sweet. The cottage does have low ceilings on entering the second floor as one review said however it is a cottage and you would be hard pushed to find a character building like this with high ceilings. The cottage was very well equipped for a young family with travel cot, movable stair gate and plenty of linen. We stayed in summer but an autumn/winter stay with the log burner would be wonderful. Saw lots of walkers so I suspect it is a real hot spot for walking holidays. Didn't find parking an issue as the lane is so quiet we unloaded 'blocking' the road/lane without issue and then moved the car onto the verge opposite. My mum and brothers were able to park on the verge too when convoying over the to wedding so I don't see how it would cause issue even if you had multiple cars in your party.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: so well stocked - made all the difference not having to bring the kitchen sink
Liked least: loved it - no complaints!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing