We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer break!”
Review of Hotel Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sole
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Lampedusa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2016

This hotel is small but has all the comforts you can wish for on a short summer break. Staff and owners are helpful, very educated and make you feel just at home. The cleanliness is outstanding, every part of the hotel smelled like roses! The rooms are comfortable with TV (mostly Italian channels). Bathroom comfortable and spotless clean. Not a lot of furniture space where to put clothes but who needs space when you only need a shorts and a bikini :) Breakfast is good too, I enjoyed my morning croissant every day!!!
I chose this hotel since it had a pool and it was a right choice since its a relaxing place to chill at the hotel.
Location is great too since its not far from the beaches and the center either. I recommend renting a car/bike though so you can go all over Lampedusa and discover all the breathtaking beaches this little island has.
If you want a really relaxing Summer break I recommend this Island and this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graziella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2016

I choose this Hotel since it was only one of the few that has a swimming pool. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and take good carfe of their guests. The Hotel irself is very clean. It is close to the sea and very quiet and relaxing. Makes for a good break. The food is excellent and in abundance. The menu is mainly made up of fish. I highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are adequate. Having said this my room had a balcony and faced the sea compliment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2015

We ordered this hotel because we wanted to spend the holidays aktyviai.The hotel is located near the sea shore (about 500 meters), where you can start actively walking around all island.Sun hotel is clean, the hosts very pleasant and helpful, breakfast really Italian

Room Tip: rooms on the south side on the second floor have views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank skaiste66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2014

We booked this hotel thinking we'd have to book our flight by ourselves. The good surprise: they have MONDI NUOVI, a tour operator who arranged everything for us, flight plus hotel. Happily the owner gave us the advice about booking the Gold level rooms. This was really clever, because standard room were not refurbished and frankly not to be recommended. That said, the Gold were average, no room for our stuff, no drawers, we had to keep all our things in our luggage. We visited the upper floor, there we found the higher level of rooms, something like suites, but no place and no drawers again. So don't expect comfortable furniture, the bathroom is clean but ridiculously small and again no place to put your toiletries. The pool is again average. Breakfast is not so bad and dinner has a lot of choices, but the homemade food was very hard to process for my stomach. But, since I cannot recommend any of the hotels of Lampedusa I have visited (the best four on a common opinion) so you can try this, once we say that Lampedusa itself worth the trip only for few days (the sea is spectacular, but that's all folks!)

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are not so bad, a little bit more of space and a big balcony instead a small one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biavati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

Beaches: There are 3 Major Beaches with sands in the south of the Island: We were about 600 feet from the one called " Cala Guitgia", there's another one called "Cala Croce" about 1 mile from the hotel and the wonderful "Baia dei Conigli" aka "Rabbits Bay" u can reach after a Bus ride and a 20 minutes walk.There's even another small one called "Cala Madonna".
i have to say i went in Lampedusa to enojy the beach so i didnt care about nothing to do in the evening. No night entertainment at all, you'll just see some shops opened until late night and some place like the BAR called "13.5" where you can taste good Ice cream, Cannoli, Granite,Cassata and marzapane's Candies.
That's All.
On the Beaches they offered to rent a Sun Umbrella and 2 Chairs for 15 euros x day. You can even buy ur own Umbrella for about 15 euros and just use your towels, beaches are not private but you need to find a free spot.


Food: Breakfast was quite normal and they open at 8 o'clock.
Meals were also normal for my standard; i suggest to try different places in Via Roma ( the Main Street in the island) where spending 25-35 euors you'll eat a good meal. Unfortunately i picked the Half Board at the Hotel so i hade to eat there on the evenings : they served the dinner starting from 7.30pm until 9, i never got sick but if you wanna taste some specialty like Cernia's Cous Cous or Paella you gotta try somewhere else.
The best resturants are opened jut for dinner so i suggest to avoid Half Board and pick just B&B.

Moving around: We got a Motorcycle the first day and after 10 minutes it suddenly stopped...so we got a Jeep for 25 euros x day + had to pay the gasoline ( about 1.7 euros x liter) I suggest to try a Jeep / Car even to go to the Rabbits Bay.
On the other hand you can get the Bus for 0.6 Euros x ride, there are 2 Lines and one of them connects the Rabbits Bay with the Main square of the Island with some Stops.

Rooms: Really Under the averege, the Bathroom is really small and you easily hit the lavatory moving inside. it's almost impossible to move, remember to buy sopas and everything you need to get a shower.On the last day i complained about a really bad smell coming from the bathroom..


There are some Excursion you can enjoy navigating around the island: just ask to the Fishermen at the seaport or at the front desk. it costs about 25 euros with a small meal included.
Dont forget to take pics of the old buildings made with stones Called "Dammusi"

I heard ppl saying In september a lot of turtles drop their eggs in the Rabbits Bay's sands.
I would go again in Lampedusa because i loved the beaches i just would try a better accomodation to enjoy the relax!
O'scià ( Hi)

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank SeaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lampedusa hotels
1.7 km away
La Rosa dei Venti
La Rosa dei Venti
#2 of 41 in Lampedusa
247 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel i Dammusi di Borgo Cala Creta
0.2 km away
Hotel Baia Turchese
Hotel Baia Turchese
#31 of 41 in Lampedusa
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
El Mosaico del Sol
El Mosaico del Sol
#1 of 41 in Lampedusa
260 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Martello
Hotel Martello
#8 of 41 in Lampedusa
227 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel il Faro della Guitgia Tommasino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sole

Address: Via del Mediterraneo, 92010, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Lampedusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lampedusa
Price Range: €127 - €133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sun Hotel of Lampedusa is a little and comfortable hotel a few meters from the Guitgia beach (about 150 m) and 2 swimming pools where guests can meet and share beautiful moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lampedusa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing