We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok food,high price, bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Romantik Waldhotel Mangold
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Bergisch Gladbach
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We had a reservation for 30 people to have Sunday brunch - fathers 90th birthday. Reservation was appointed for 10.30. When we arrived at 10.30 the arrangement of the tables was not as discussed with the host. After a short discussion with the staff we rearranged them ourselves - no help from the staff. Counting the dishes on the table we realized there were just 25 of them. The owner asked us to be calm - at 11.30 the guests of the hotel would finish their breakfast and enough places would be available??? One hour after the time to which agreed??? Not a nice experience. Food for breakfast was average quality, price for a brunch with no specials except a pumpkin soup, smoked salmon and sliced roast beef was high at 40 EUR per person. No recommendation here.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Jonlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2017

The hotel was booked on the 3/Jan for a stay on the 17/Jan via Late rooms, arrived at in the reception and had to wait 10 minutes before someone came to check me in. They could not find the booking on the system and phone call later, told they had the booking but it was not on the system and no room were now available. I have never had any problems with any booking via late rooms and can only think the hotel could get a higher price for the room and did not inform us it had been cancelled or they changed they minds on the booking.

They did manage to find me a hotel, longer driver and very late at night not what is needed after a 15 hours day travelling and meetings, The comment on leaving was the other “hotel is cheaper”, I don’t care about cost I just wanted the room which was booked over two weeks ago.

We have now taken off this hotel our business recommend hotel list for the group.

Room Tip: Check and doule check the booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bshaw711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights for a get away/spa retreat. We took advantage of the Relaxation 2.0 package and extended the package an extra night:

"Early check in" from 11:00 clock in the morning
a cozy bathrobe and sauna towels are provided in the room for you
a day ticket for the sauna and spa oasis “Mediterana” (Germany's most beautiful sauna)
two nights including breakfast buffet
a 3-course romantic dinner in our restaurant "Waldstuben"

We chose the middle room price "romantic" and we were pleased with the room (#25) with a nice view of the Bensberg Castle. The large room was very comfortable and nicely appointed. The bathroom (tub with hand held shower though no standing room) and WC were seperate.
Breakfast each morning was very good and the dinner was excellent. It included a very nice serving of tender filet mignon among creative & tasty first and second courses.

The hotel itself felt like a well cared for upscale skiers lodge. It seems to be very well run with the family members intertwining their resposibilities in a comfortable friendly manner.

Reasons for 4 rating instead of 5:
"Cozy bathrobe & sauna towels "were not provided in room, but for an extra price in the lobby.
At dinner we were told that drinks were included, then received a bill for 50€ at check out.
Matress was too soft for both of us and bath ceiling was just too low.

We do recommend this hotel especially when the weather is warmer for a hike in the hills adjacent to the property.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenda_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank André F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank mirabarfuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergisch Gladbach hotels
0.7 km away
Malerwinkel Hotel
Malerwinkel Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bergisch Gladbach
116 reviews
0.5 km away
Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg
Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensb...
#1 of 13 in Bergisch Gladbach
838 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Gronauer Tannenhof
Hotel Gronauer Tannenhof
#8 of 13 in Bergisch Gladbach
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Privathotel Bremer
Privathotel Bremer
#5 of 13 in Bergisch Gladbach
21 reviews
1.4 km away
Kardinal-Schulte-Haus
Kardinal-Schulte-Haus
#3 of 13 in Bergisch Gladbach
61 reviews
4.4 km away
Malteser Komturei
Malteser Komturei
#6 of 13 in Bergisch Gladbach
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Waldhotel Mangold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Waldhotel Mangold

Address: Am Milchbornbach 39-43, 51429 Bergisch Gladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bergisch Gladbach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Bergisch Gladbach
Price Range: €153 - €215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Waldhotel Mangold 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Romantik Waldhotel Mangold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing