We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kanerva
Tampere, Finland

Location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 May 2023via mobile
Sokos Vaakuna is located very conveniently less than 5 min walk from the railway station, 5 min walk from Verkatehdas venue, 10-15 min walk from the city center and right by the lake, with a view to Häme castle. Some of the rooms have balconies.

The hotel is clean and of sufficient level (3-star level), the breakfast and restaurant are nice and service very good all over the hotel.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
€189
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    €162
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Free Wifi
Free parking
€149
  • Expedia.com
    €149
  • Vio.com
    €139
  • Hotels.com
    €149
0.9 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Free Wifi
Pool
€119
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    €119
  • Vio.com
    €119
0.9 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
€90
  • Agoda.com
    €90
1.8 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Linnan sisäpiha - Courtyard of the Castle
€140
  • Expedia.com
    €140
  • Hotels.com
    €140
  • Tripadvisor
    €140
5.3 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Free Wifi
Free parking
€167
  • Expedia.com
    €167
  • Vio.com
    €156
  • Hotels.com
    €167
3.0 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Free Wifi
Free parking
Myllytalo
€155
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    €155
3.1 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
€45
  • Agoda.com
    €45
30.3 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Original SH Vaakuna Hameenlinna Terassi
€181
€169
  • Expedia.com
    €169
  • Hotels.com
    €169
  • Priceline
    €181
0.0 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Homestay Cozy Hosting
€122
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
22.7 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
View more hotels in Hameenlinna
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
31
66
54
25
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
31
66
54
25
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews railway station reach the city center comfortable stay at this hotel within walking distance room was clean choose this hotel lake eur castle fees balconies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2022

Located only a couple hundred meters form the railway station this hotel is very convenient for travelers arriving with train. Just a few hundred meters more you'll reach the city center.

Sleep quality OK, beds a bit outdated. I liked the room with smart TV, a proper working desk and a walk in shower but not a place for your things. I hate to store my belongings mostly inside my travelling bag!

Might stay again!

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Konsta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2022 via mobile

Very small room, no air conditioning or frigde/ minibar. Tee supplies in the room but no spoons. Breakfast is ok, but you need to know in beforehand what time you want to eat (split to several timeslots). Good location, great walking paths just a step from the hotel door.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nomad402431
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2022

This was our third stay at this hotel. Decision to choose this hotel was easy and based on our previous positive experiences.

During this stay we were travelling with an infant and requested a room with a crib. We were not just given a room with a crib but it was also a room with a great view of the lake Vanajavesi. Our room was clean with all the usual amenities (locker, tea/coffee maker, small fridge etc.). The bed was very comfortable, bathroom was clean and shower was tidy. Our daughter also slept well in the crib provided by the hotel.

The breakfast was usual Sokos breakfast with continental and finnish options. It was good spread with lots to choose from.

The hotel is within short walking distance from the railway station and within walking distance from the city center. The Häme castle and other tourist attractions are within short walk from the hotel. Parking fees at hotel were reasonable at 14 EUR/day.

We had a peaceful and comfortable stay at this hotel. We will certainly consider staying here again.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vasavapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2021

The situation was just great ashore by the Vanajavesi. Room was good to spend two nights. Bathroom was also good in size. We took our own helmets cause knew that from the hotel you can loan bicycles. Weather was warm, good bicycle roads and the city and the surrounding areas were very clean.

Date of stay: July 2021
1  Thank Tukano
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2021

This was our second time in Suite #517 by Interior designer Teuvo Loman. There are two suites at this hotel. They are sold at the same price. The sale price was 136 euros.

Suite #517 is more spacious. The living room is bigger because the balcony doesn't extend over it like in Suite #519. However, the balconies in both suites are the same size.

The sauna is quite small. The maximum capacity is for two people. The best part in the bathroom was a new mist shower head. It was extremely comfortable. Only at Scandic Oulu City, we have found a similar shower head.

The hotel restaurant had got a facelift after our last visit. It still had a little nightclub feeling, although the dance floor had been covered with tables.

The breakfast was one of the best we have had at any Sokos Hotels. It was pleasantly calm and the food selection was excellent.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews