We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
vasavapr
Lappeenranta, Finland

Peaceful and Comfortable stay again!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jun 2022
This was our third stay at this hotel. Decision to choose this hotel was easy and based on our previous positive experiences.

During this stay we were travelling with an infant and requested a room with a crib. We were not just given a room with a crib but it was also a room with a great view of the lake Vanajavesi. Our room was clean with all the usual amenities (locker, tea/coffee maker, small fridge etc.). The bed was very comfortable, bathroom was clean and shower was tidy. Our daughter also slept well in the crib provided by the hotel.

The breakfast was usual Sokos breakfast with continental and finnish options. It was good spread with lots to choose from.

The hotel is within short walking distance from the railway station and within walking distance from the city center. The Häme castle and other tourist attractions are within short walk from the hotel. Parking fees at hotel were reasonable at 14 EUR/day.

We had a peaceful and comfortable stay at this hotel. We will certainly consider staying here again.
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
€149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    €149
1.0 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Free Wifi
Free parking
€90
  • Agoda.com
    €90
1.8 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Myllytalo
€155
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
€45
  • Agoda.com
    €45
30.3 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Destinia.com
    €121
  • Hotels.com
    €128
0.9 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    €126
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    €126
0.9 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Linnan sisäpiha - Courtyard of the Castle
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    €140
  • Hotels.com
    €136
  • Priceline
5.3 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    €136
  • Destinia.com
    €130
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Free Wifi
Free parking
Original SH Vaakuna Hameenlinna Terassi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    €166
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    €166
0.0 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€92
  • Agoda.com
    €92
15.2 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
View more hotels in Hameenlinna
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
31
66
54
25
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
31
66
54
25
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews railway station reach the city center comfortable stay at this hotel within walking distance room was clean choose this hotel lake eur castle fees balconies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2021

The situation was just great ashore by the Vanajavesi. Room was good to spend two nights. Bathroom was also good in size. We took our own helmets cause knew that from the hotel you can loan bicycles. Weather was warm, good bicycle roads and the city and the surrounding areas were very clean.

Date of stay: July 2021
1  Thank Tukano
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2021

This was our second time in Suite #517 by Interior designer Teuvo Loman. There are two suites at this hotel. They are sold at the same price. The sale price was 136 euros.

Suite #517 is more spacious. The living room is bigger because the balcony doesn't extend over it like in Suite #519. However, the balconies in both suites are the same size.

The sauna is quite small. The maximum capacity is for two people. The best part in the bathroom was a new mist shower head. It was extremely comfortable. Only at Scandic Oulu City, we have found a similar shower head.

The hotel restaurant had got a facelift after our last visit. It still had a little nightclub feeling, although the dance floor had been covered with tables.

The breakfast was one of the best we have had at any Sokos Hotels. It was pleasantly calm and the food selection was excellent.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2020

We stayed at this hotel during our road trip to Helsinki, Raseborg and Hämeenlinna. The hotel is right next to the railway station and within walking distance from the city center. The Häme castle is also about 20 minutes walk from the hotel. Parking fees at hotel were reasonable at 10 EUR/day.

The hotel is in quite part of the town, so in general it was very peaceful. The hotel is right next to the lake and there is a park next to the hotel. We took a stroll in the park next to the lake and it was a good experience. There was also a patio where we sat for a while looking at the lake.

The room felt like it was recently renovated. The room, bed and shower were tidy. The beds were very comfortable. Being a basic room there were not many amenities included.

The breakfast was usual Sokos breakfast with continental and finnish options. It was good spread with lots to choose from.

We had a peaceful and comfortable stay at this hotel. We will certainly consider staying here again.

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vasavapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2020

Clean and nice hotel nearby city center. Old Hameenlinna castle is about opposite the river.
Rooms are just fine, not too small for a pleasant trip. And well insulated from neighbour.
Tasty food at restaurant, not too crowded.
Hotel lacks gym, only outdoor exercise available.
***
And bunch of Stoats wandering around.

Room tip: River side has nice view
Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank samsk368
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2020

Really nice hotel by the lake Vanaja. The whole hotel has just been renovated and the rooms, sauna, restaurant, meeting rooms and the lobby are really nice and cozy. The service is really good in the reception and in the restaurant. Food in the restaurant Le Blasson is really good and in the restaurant is really special homely atmosphere.

The location of this hotel is really good. The hotel is located next to railway station and Lake Vanaja. Some of the rooms have lake view.
The Hämeenlinna city and attractions are close by, only about 10 minutes walk.

Room tip: Ask room with the lake view!
Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank visithame
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews