We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mikael F
Helsinki, Finland

Enjoyable suite stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Mar 2021
This was our second time in Suite #517 by Interior designer Teuvo Loman. There are two suites at this hotel. They are sold at the same price. The sale price was 136 euros.

Suite #517 is more spacious. The living room is bigger because the balcony doesn't extend over it like in Suite #519. However, the balconies in both suites are the same size.

The sauna is quite small. The maximum capacity is for two people. The best part in the bathroom was a new mist shower head. It was extremely comfortable. Only at Scandic Oulu City, we have found a similar shower head.

The hotel restaurant had got a facelift after our last visit. It still had a little nightclub feeling, although the dance floor had been covered with tables.

The breakfast was one of the best we have had at any Sokos Hotels. It was pleasantly calm and the food selection was excellent.
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.0 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Free Wifi
Free parking
€128
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
  • Agoda.com
1.8 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
    1.7 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
    Linnan sisäpiha - Courtyard of the Castle
    €136
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    5.3 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      €133
    • Expedia.com
      €136
    3.0 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Evon Luonto - Aulangon Rantapiilo
    • Agoda.com
    3.5 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
      30.3 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
      • Agoda.com
      30.3 km from Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna Hameenlinna
      View more hotels in Hameenlinna
      Reviews (182)
      Filter reviews
      182 results
      Traveller rating
      31
      66
      54
      25
      6
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      31
      66
      54
      25
      6
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviews railway station reach the city center comfortable stay at this hotel within walking distance room was clean choose this hotel lake eur castle fees balconies
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      7 - 12 of 182 reviews
      Reviewed 20 March 2020

      We stayed at this hotel during our road trip to Helsinki, Raseborg and Hämeenlinna. The hotel is right next to the railway station and within walking distance from the city center. The Häme castle is also about 20 minutes walk from the hotel. Parking fees at hotel were reasonable at 10 EUR/day.

      The hotel is in quite part of the town, so in general it was very peaceful. The hotel is right next to the lake and there is a park next to the hotel. We took a stroll in the park next to the lake and it was a good experience. There was also a patio where we sat for a while looking at the lake.

      The room felt like it was recently renovated. The room, bed and shower were tidy. The beds were very comfortable. Being a basic room there were not many amenities included.

      The breakfast was usual Sokos breakfast with continental and finnish options. It was good spread with lots to choose from.

      We had a peaceful and comfortable stay at this hotel. We will certainly consider staying here again.

      Date of stay: June 2019
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank vasavapr
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 27 February 2020

      Clean and nice hotel nearby city center. Old Hameenlinna castle is about opposite the river.
      Rooms are just fine, not too small for a pleasant trip. And well insulated from neighbour.
      Tasty food at restaurant, not too crowded.
      Hotel lacks gym, only outdoor exercise available.
      ***
      And bunch of Stoats wandering around.

      Room tip: River side has nice view
      Date of stay: January 2020
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Value
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank samsk368
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 16 February 2020

      Really nice hotel by the lake Vanaja. The whole hotel has just been renovated and the rooms, sauna, restaurant, meeting rooms and the lobby are really nice and cozy. The service is really good in the reception and in the restaurant. Food in the restaurant Le Blasson is really good and in the restaurant is really special homely atmosphere.

      The location of this hotel is really good. The hotel is located next to railway station and Lake Vanaja. Some of the rooms have lake view.
      The Hämeenlinna city and attractions are close by, only about 10 minutes walk.

      Room tip: Ask room with the lake view!
      Date of stay: December 2019
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank visithame
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 2 January 2020

      The hotel is centrally located and near to the railway station. Staff was friendly and the food in the resaurant was tasty. The room was clean and tidy and had all the necessary things available. I liked the peace and quietness best and also the emergency exits were very well marked. There could be more food in the restaurant for special diets and vegetarians.

      Date of stay: December 2019
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank Elisabet H
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 10 December 2019

      Beautiful location in Hameenlinna, good food and service. The landscape is nice, with the lake you can see from the restaurant and from some rooms. The rooms are comfortable, quite and hot enough. Satisfied.

      Date of stay: November 2019
      • Trip type: Travelled on business
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Review collected in partnership with this hotel
      Thank Andrea B
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews