We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mimmi

It’s okay

Review of Scandic Aulanko
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Jul 2023
The hotel is overall okay. It definitely has a 70’s feeling all over, but everywhere felt and looked clean. We had a nice stay. The rooms were quite hot, no airconditioning in the standard room, but there was a fan that helped. The spa is small, but it’s clean and also okay. The surrounding area is super beautiful, make sure to take a walk. Breakfast standard. The man working as a shift manager at the frontdesk was very friendly when welcoming us. Scandic Aulanko is alright, would consider coming again!
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Scandic Aulanko, Other at Scandic Aulanko, responded to this review
Responded 1 Aug 2023
Hi, thank you for your visit and for writing us this review. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed your time as our guest. Hope to see you again soon. Wishing you a nice end of summer, Outi / reception
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Original SH Vaakuna Hameenlinna Terassi
€183
€171
  • Expedia.com
    €171
  • Hotels.com
    €171
  • Priceline
    €183
3.0 km from Scandic Aulanko
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€149
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    €130
  • Priceline
3.4 km from Scandic Aulanko
Free Wifi
Free parking
€149
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Destinia.com
    €139
  • Priceline
    €149
3.2 km from Scandic Aulanko
Free Wifi
Pool
€126
  • Vio.com
    €126
  • eDreams
    €126
  • Agoda.com
    €126
3.2 km from Scandic Aulanko
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Linnan sisäpiha - Courtyard of the Castle
€140
  • Expedia.com
    €140
  • Hotels.com
    €140
  • ZenHotels.com
    €139
8.1 km from Scandic Aulanko
Free Wifi
Free parking
€90
  • Agoda.com
    €90
4.0 km from Scandic Aulanko
€45
  • Agoda.com
    €45
31.0 km from Scandic Aulanko
€143
  • Expedia.com
    €143
  • Vio.com
    €134
  • Hotels.com
    €143
0.0 km from Scandic Aulanko
Free Wifi
Free parking
Homestay Cozy Hosting
€122
Fully refundable
    25.6 km from Scandic Aulanko
    €71
    €65
    • Agoda.com
      €71
    27.5 km from Scandic Aulanko
    View more hotels in Hameenlinna
    Reviews (762)
    Filter reviews
    763 results
    Traveller rating
    77
    185
    245
    156
    100
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    77
    185
    245
    156
    100
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews spa hotel adventure park beautiful scenery tennis courts riding school old fashion free of charge nice view nature lake bowling minus sauna lover golf
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    13 - 18 of 763 reviews
    Reviewed 27 July 2023 via mobile

    Reception was great!

    The room was ok, but in the shower shampoo was empty and shower gel almost empty. Toilet seat had a large area of dirt on it. At first I thought it was something that cant be cleaned, but I was able to scrub it off with toilet paper and water.
    Restaurant was the worst. We ate there twice and the service was bad, slow and the food was just way below the price. In the evening we waited for 15 min to even get our drink order, and ended up sitting at the table for 50 min before getting our food. And then the kitchen was closed before we had the chance to order dessert. The waiters really did not seem that busy, just unprofessional.
    Hotel is a bit outdated, but if it was clean and the restaurant/bar would function properly, it would not matter, the location is beautiful.
    Breakfast was ok though I've had better in other Scandic hotels. All in all we feel this hotel does not live up to Scandic standards, but restaurant/bar was the worst part.

    Date of stay: July 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank kaarin78
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Scandic Aulanko, Other at Scandic Aulanko, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2023

    Hi Kaarin, Thank you for your visit and for writing us this review. It's a shame that we couldn't meet your expectations and offer the level we want to give our guests. Wishing you a nice summer,
    Outi / Front Office

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 July 2023

    Great outdoor scenery but the hotel was quite shabby and the staff seemed miserable. One of the local staff members complained loudly to a younger staff member in front of us guests about a collegues job effort, even though there really was no problem. Very bad manners, local dude about 40 years old who probably was very stressed and wanted to make an impact on the younger workers. Shame on you.

    Date of stay: July 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Excursion40711843819
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Scandic Aulanko, Other at Scandic Aulanko, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2023

    Hi, thank you for your visit and for writing us this review. It's a shame that we weren't able to meet your expectations in all respects and offer the level we want to give our guests.
    However, it's nice to hear that you had a good time.
    Welcome again!
    Wishing you a nice summer,
    Outi / Front Office

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 July 2023

    Date of stay: July 2023
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
    This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Scandic Aulanko, Other at Scandic Aulanko, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2023

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
    Reviewed 2 July 2023

    Everything is old and needs a massive refit they have pulled up carpet in areas and left the underlay exposed.The rooms look like the last refit was in the 60s It has everything you could need but there is no staff to service anything, which leads to nothing been open and really slow service. The reception always has a line because during peek time there is only one person there. You can never guess if the bar will be open and when it isn’t there are long lines to the restaurant counter with people wanting drinks which makes the restaurant service slow. With a refit a massive hiring of staff and all facilities open it would be a fantastic place to stay. But unfortunately I couldn’t recommend it due to poor service due to a lack of staff, facilities not open and the ancient rooms.

    Room tip: Have plenty of time because everything done here takes a long time.
    Date of stay: June 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Corey H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Scandic Aulanko, Other at Scandic Aulanko, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2023

    Hi, thank you for your visit and for writing us this review. It's a shame that we couldn't meet your expectations and offer the level we want to give our guests.
    Wishing you a nice summer,
    Outi / Front Office

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 June 2023

    The dinner buffet was bad and the room was old and shabby. We had to wait an hour in line to check in and get our room. The pools were nice though. The Prison museum in Hämeenlinna was very interesting.

    Date of stay: June 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank sini l
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews