We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
dadsasdasd
Tuusula, Finland

3.5 Stars

Review of Hotelli Emilia
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Dec 2020
I would give this place 3.5 stars if possible in Tripadvisor. Excellent location and otherwise quite good hotel somewhat let down by a noise problem. Review based on a one-night stay in November (background of spending 80+ nights per year in different hotels around the globe).

Location:
Very well located in the immediate city center along the pedestrian street. Plenty of restaurants, bars, shops and things to do within the walking distance. 1.5km / 15min walk to the railway station.

Room:
Had a basic room at the 5th floor, which was not the biggest I’ve seen but certainly not the smallest either. The room had been renovated not too long ago, everything was very clean with no stains or signs of usage anywhere.

The biggest flaw in the room was the connecting door to the room next door. I’ve never seen this particular feature being implemented in a way that is really able to block the noise from the other room and unfortunately that problem was very clear here too. I can understand why it is convenient, but the flipside of the coin is that it’s not really great at all if you can hear absolutely everything that’s happening in the other room. It is more or less the same as hanging a curtain between the rooms: you cannot see but you can certainly hear…

Etc:
Check-in & out was very efficient.

Breakfast was not really a luxurious event as such but provided a rather good selection of different

Would I return there?
Yes I would, nothing really to complain about especially if you manage to get a room without the connecting door
Date of stay: November 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
€149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Hotelli Emilia
Free Wifi
Free parking
Original SH Vaakuna Hameenlinna Terassi
€169
  • Expedia.com
    €169
  • Tripadvisor
    €169
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Hotelli Emilia
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€143
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
    €140
  • Expedia.com
    €143
0.1 km from Hotelli Emilia
Free Wifi
Pool
€90
  • Agoda.com
    €90
0.9 km from Hotelli Emilia
€156
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
    €153
  • Expedia.com
    €156
3.2 km from Hotelli Emilia
Free Wifi
Free parking
Linnan sisäpiha - Courtyard of the Castle
€140
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    €132
  • Expedia.com
    €140
5.7 km from Hotelli Emilia
Free Wifi
Free parking
Myllytalo
€155
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
4.0 km from Hotelli Emilia
€45
  • Agoda.com
    €45
31.2 km from Hotelli Emilia
€119
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    €119
0.0 km from Hotelli Emilia
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Homestay Cozy Hosting
€122
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
22.4 km from Hotelli Emilia
View more hotels in Hameenlinna
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
13
36
34
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
13
36
34
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2020

Hotel Emilia is nice private owned small hotel in the center of Hämeenlinna. Friendly personnel welcomes you as you are coming to their home.
This hotel is on the center of Hämeenlinna city. Market place, churches, museums, shopping mall and restaurants are all close. Walking distance to everywhere.

Date of stay: May 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visithame
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2019

Hotelli Emilia is a small family run hotel on a quiet pedestrian street 100m from the Kaupatori the centre of Hämeenlinna, a small attractive lakeside town 1 hr north of Helsinki.

Comfortable, welcoming, good breakfast - and a daily complimentary glass of champagne if you book a 5th floor superior room.

Sauna, cafe, bar with daily 'Happy Hour'.

5 min walk from bus station, 15 min from VR train station.

Room tip: Some 5th floor Superior Rooms have balconies and are quieter on weekends when the basement club is open.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank madalamzungu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2019

We had a mini suite at 5th floor, equipped with private sauna - that really was something special! Otherwise the room was nice and clean and the breakfast was just what we expected with strong enough coffee. The location of the hotel in the middle of the city is great and the possibility to use cellar parking was nice as the winter weather was quite harsh during our visit.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 July 2018

This small hotel beats the bigger chain hotels hands down! Service was impeccable, rooms clean if a bit small, and textiles Marimekko.

We booked the room through the hotel and got a better deal than any of the booking sites could offer. We also requested a quiet top floor room which seemed to be no problem and true to their word, it was one of the quietest hotel rooms we've stayed in.

Buffet breakfast was served in the hotel's night club (?) a bit strange but once you got over the shock the actual breakfast was very good. Having said that, three of the four mornings was great - all down to the server making sure that everything was refilled constantly and all the dirties were collected promptly. On the fourth morning the server was not on top of things and basics - like coffee - kept running low... Had the other mornings not been so good I would have only given 3 stars...

Room tip: Rooms at the back are the quiet ones.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

In the city center with a small bar and a standard breakfast room this small hotel is situated. Rooms are standard, beds are fine, bathroom equiped with shower is very small.
All is there for a basic stay

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank MSCHEPERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews