We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
104
25
8
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
25
8
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski school cable car toboggan run down resort is lovely exceptional quality two young children great sun terrace location is ideal rooms are comfortable spa area food and wine family atmosphere family run underground tunnel swimming pool spent a week both breakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2017

I came here with the family for a skiing holiday. It was absolutely amazing. The bar was very nice and the drinks were lovely and the bar manager, David, was brilliant. The hotel and resort was nice offering a wide range of skiing. What really made the trip exceptional was the toboggan run down to Lech. It was closed off to tobogganers only which was really cool. It was also lit up the whole way down. Once you got to the bottom you could just get in the cable car and go back up. You can rent the toboggans in the Sonnenberg Ski Rental shop beside the Montana. The hotel is very well situated for ski school and for apris ski. It is also ski-in ski-out which is handy.

The hotel is run by olympian Patrick Ortlieb. I was very lucky and got to meet him and take pictures with him. He is very nice.

The restaurant was very cool. Everyday they had a different buffet. On Sunday, they have a whole buffet just with desserts!

As expected, during the British mid term the pool and associated areas can be packed but if you come when it's quiet it is really lovely.

Overall this hotel and resort is lovely and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alexator98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana279, Inhaber at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Many thanks for your warm words and good and nice description of our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Montana hotel and that you recommend it to other guests. We hope to see you again soon and send our best regards from sunny Oberlech Kathrin and Patrick Ortlieb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

We stayed here in early April, with a few other families, we were lucky with the snow.

I have broken my review down into a few sections as we had so many highlights at this hotel with only a few niggles.

Location - Oberlech is a great spot and this hotel is one of only four or five in the hamlet, we did not venture to any other hotels so can compare but they all looks pretty similar, although the Montana had the best terrace and best view. You can ski and ski out, the ski school is only a two minute walk and th bubble car up and down to lech is five mins walk. I would say the location is perfect and couldn't be improved on.

Hotel - the hotel is lovely, nicely decorated and maintained, the restaurant and terrace are all really great, and the bar was excellent it felt like a cocktail bar in the evenings and the owner has a drinks reception one night with canapés etc... This is not to be missed, and you get the chance to meet Patick and hear about his Olympic gold win, our kids loved meeting him and they had photos taken with him, thus was a real highlight.

Spa and pool - this was a delightful area, the pool was large and nice and cool with lots of comfortable seats around, the sauna, steam rooms and relaxation rooms where also excellent, as food as any spa I've been to in the uk. Our kids has a swim every day after ski school and it really helped them to wind down and relax.

Rooms - it's worth upgrading, we did and has room 603 which I would recommend, the kids had a room that we could partition off if needed, as well as a huge bathroom and jacuzzi bath, a little kitchen and a walk in wardrobe, as well as a table and chairs for 6 people. We also had access to the snow via the glass doors,

Food and drink - was too notch ,the tour course menu each evening was fabulous even thing it was a set menu, we enjoyed foils gras, steak, deer, duck, cheese and gorgeous puddings. The wine list was extensive too and whisky not cheap it was still value for money, breakfast was super and lunch in the terrace was amazing, try the snail and the steak tartar!! The only downside to all this was the lack of variety for the kids menu, so we had to often order of the adult menu for them which added to our half board extras.

Staff- the staff were superb, David in the bar makes the most amazing cocktails, and Nic in the restaurant was efficient and entertaining the really made our holiday special for us.

I would love to return and we do intend to in another few years, it's an expensive hotel, but you can see the quality so don't begrudge paying that much.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Great hotel right on the slopes. Hotel has nice bedrooms with lovely beds, good food and exceptional staff. We went as a party of 11 -three families with teenagers, it worked really well. Only downside is it's quite a quiet area, so if you want apres ski you need to head down to Lech, but the cable car is open until 1am and runs really frequently so if you want to party you can do so pretty easily.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank James67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana279, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

Dear James,

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are very delighted that your vacations with us lived up to your expectations.

Our hotel is a rather special place, of which we are most proud. This couldn’t be so however without the team and the lovely guests like yourselves, whom we welcome here every day. Thank you for choosing us.

We very much look forward to welcome you again in your new second home here in Austria.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We were a large party of 15 ranging from one year old to 60 years old and all ages in between. The rooms were comfortable with amazing views from all sides and the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. A special mention for Marcus and David who looked after us so well both at meal times and in the bar. They even organised a small party for when our youngest grandchild turned one complete with balloons and a cake. The food was excellent both at lunch times and in the evening. The only small drawback is that breakfast is a little slow if you want anything cooked as all prepared to order and only one chef doing breakfast for all of the guests. We, along with other guests at times, had to cancel the order as waited so long and needed to get to ski lessons, etc. Apart from that, an amazing holiday and really enjoyed staying at The Montana. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Excellent views from all of the rooms so whichever side you choose you will enjoy.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana279, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

Dear Nikki,

We are thrilled you enjoyed staying with us and are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your satisfaction here on TripAdvisor; it is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed.

Moreover we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and were satisfied with the one we accommodated you in.

We also have taken good note of your comments regarding the breakfast and will forward this to our kitchen chef. Sorry for that!

Last but not least, we are grateful for your comments on our team, especially on Markus and David.

Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make any future visit even more comfortable and we look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Montana for a week in April 2017.

1. Oberlech, which is two hours' drive from Zurich, is a small, car-free resort about 400 metres above Lech, accessed by a cable car or a chairlift (we had to leave early in the morning to catch our flight, but the cable car was running). It is linked to a resort called Warth and between the two there is just about enough skiing to keep you entertained for a full week. However, the resort is linked with the rest of Lech as well as other resorts, such as Zurs and St Anton. Altogether there is a huge amount of accessible skiing to satisfy even the most ardent skier (it takes about an hour and twenty minutes to ski to St Anton).

2. Oberlech is a car-free resort, with a focus on family-owned, family-friendly hotels. There are not many restaurants on the mountain, most people eat lunch at the hotels, which have great food and lovely terraces.

3. The hotel is in a fantastic location. Ski-in/ski-out and right by the ski school meeting point, with a beautiful vista. Our room had a balcony that overlooked the valley and the mountains opposite, which were very beautiful. The terrace gets the sun for pretty much the whole day. There is a ski-hire shop in the basement of the hotel next-door.

4. The hotel is furnished in a traditional style, and looks like it has been renovated recently. The restaurant and bar were both attractive and our room was nice. The spa area was pleasant, although it was in the basement and the pool was small, which was a bit of a disappointment compared to the hotel we went to last year in Obergurgl, which had a fantastic spa with views overlooking the slopes and a large pool, where you wanted to hang out.

5. We had a family suite (room 605), which had two separate bedrooms with two bathrooms and a sitting area in one of the bedrooms. It was very clean. There was plenty of space, including storage space for ski outfits and luggage. There were about four English language channels on the TV and a very good wifi connection.

6. The food in the restaurant was excellent, some of the best we have had in a skiing hotel. Breakfast was extensive - fruit, meats, breads, pastries and cooked options. Dinner was a five course affair every night, save for the six course gala dinner. There were no separate options on the menu, but the staff were very willing to change things and said that we could effectively have whatever we wanted. One of our kids ate from the children's menu, which I would have been very happy to have had! The staff were really lovely, very engaging and happy to chat.

7. The hotel is very well set up for families, which was evidenced by the number of return guests, particularly those with young children. There is a kids area with table tennis, etc, kids supper Is arranged in the bar each evening at 6pm and a film is then put on at 7pm. Our children are 11 and 14 and we're too old for this, but we could see how well it worked for others.

8. We really enjoyed our stay. My only gripe are the pool size and location and the fact that children's supper in the bar meant that pre-dinner drinks were not overly relaxing, but you sort of know what you're in for. Out of school holidays, I think the atmosphere would have been very different.

9. The snow was good, even though it was late in the season and the season has not been particularly good. There was plenty of snow and it snowed a couple of times during our stay.

In summary, we really enjoyed our holiday and could see ourselves going back.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Londontripadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana279, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

Dear "Londotripadviser",

Thank you very much for your detailed review here on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and went home with memorable experiences.

You are completely right, we are a family friendly hotel and we offer a special children menu at 6.00 pm in our hotel bar. During vacations, many families appreciate this, therefor the bar is more alive in this time.

Again, thank you very much for your good review and we would be very happy to welcome you back here.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews