We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$199
US$164
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pension Kilian(Lech)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aparthotel Filomena(Lech)(Great Value!)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Austria(Lech)(Great Value!)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burg Vital Resort(Lech)
US$372
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alphorn Gasthof(Lech)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$390
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
104
25
8
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
25
8
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski schoolcable cartoboggan run downresort is lovelydrinks receptionski lunchexceptional qualitytwo young childrenkids areagreat sun terracelocation is idealrooms are comfortablefood and wineimpeccable servicekids menuboth breakfast and dinnerswimming pool
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from our first stay at the Montana having enjoyed lunch on the terrace during a previous trip to Lech. Our experience was excellent.
The room was clean, comfortable and warm, serviced discreetly while we were at breakfast and again during dinner.
The standard in the restaurant both of food and service is first class. Although a set menu each evening there are plenty of other options offered. Our meal each evening was delicious. The hotel's wine cellar, quite rightly, is a source of pride.
Oberlech is not for those looking for lively apres ski but the peace and quiet at the end of the day, after the crowds have gone, sitting on the hotel terrace watching the sun set, is very special.
Two generations of the Ortlieb family are very present in the hotel throughout the day and I am certain this accounts for the excellent standards.
Thank you to the Montana team for a superb trip. We hope to return!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank SET49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Big menu, reasonably priced (although definitely higher this year), very good provence rose. Salads are excellent and the daily ski plate is always worth considering. Book ahead, particularly on sunny days.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Likesitlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana279, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Dear "Likesitlux",

It is with great pleasure that I read of your recent visit to our restaurant and I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. It gives me great pleasure to read your kind words on our salads, and of course our famous daily ski plate.

I do hope to welcome you back to us whenever you are next in Lech.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

We stopped here for a late lunch whilst skiing. We opted to sit inside although there were heaters outside for the tables. The dining room was very impressive and the staff were very smartly dressed. We ordered the smoked salmon main course with rosti and a small carafe of local white wine and were very impressed. Service was excellent and prices were reasonable. We had not booked but in good weather would highly recommend reserving a table outside as the views are lovely from terrace.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank flipper019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana279, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Dear "flipper019",

Thank you for sharing your great review of our restaurant.

I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We strive to deliver perfection to each and every guest and it is a pleasure to hear that our efforts have not gone unnoticed.

We look forward to welcoming back very soon again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

10 of us gathered for late lunch on the heated and covered terrace of Hotel Montana after a very long morning of skiing in Lech. We were hungry and ready to rest, and the Hotel Montana had room for us near some wonderful heat lamps when other nearby establishments were packed. We loved the view from our table, and we were delighted as soft snowflakes began to fall while we dined.
The service and food were equally as wonderful, and we appreciated the cheerful willingness of the wait staff to work with our rather rowdy and somewhat indecisive group. Everything we ordered was perfectly prepared and artfully presented.
Although we did not see any of the guestrooms, we did visit the lobby gathering spaces and the restrooms. They were absolutely beautiful and so spotlessly clean. The Hotel Montana merits a return visit, perhaps for a week this time.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Bianca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana279, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Dear "Bianca M",

It is with great pleasure that I read of your visit to our restaurant and that it was a memorable experience. I am happy to hear that you truly appreciated the attention provided by our team as well as the ambiance and the food.

Your compliments are highly appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future; for a whole week would just be fantastic!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Had lunch here many times but tried dinner this time. Used lift up from lech which runs to 1.00am. You still need boots to walk downhill across the snow to the Montana, which was quite slippery that night. A lovely welcome and attentive service. Had wienerschitzle and have never had better. Served with cranberry sauce and we had superb amerone to match ( as others had venison). Slight niggle is that our patron seemed to confuse the temperature for keeping wine with that for serving it, but by the time we got to the red it had more or less reached room temperature. Wine list is v extensive.
Paid about 30e for each main course and 50-60e for wine, so not cheap but reasonable for the location, the surroundings and the standard of service.
Gold skiing medal of Patrick Ortlieb is on show in reception and well worth a visit for that alone.


Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Biagio14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana279, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Dear "Biagio14",

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at our restaurant.

It was wonderful to read that you found the food to be superb and rest assured that we will share your feedback with the kitchen team who take great pride in ensuring each guest has a memorable experience.

On the other hand we are very sorry about the temperature of the wine; we also forward this comment to our restaurant team.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our restaurant whenever you are next in Lech.

Best regards

Your Montana team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews