We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely property”
other travellers have booked this property
Front view with roses
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view with roses
King sized bedroom Main bathroom with two person spa, double shower, double vanity and WC
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Front view with roses
King sized bedroom
Main bathroom with two person spa, double shower, double vanity and WC
Kitchen and dining area
Ensuite bathroom with shower, double vanity and WC
One of three queen bedrooms
Queen bedroom (one of three queens) with ensuite bathroom
Third bathroom with shower, vanity and WC
Rear garden view
Side garden view
Outside deck with shelter, shadecloth, table and chairs for eight guests
View of rear garden and outside deck with shelter and shadecloth
View of front garden
Living room with TV/DVD
View of king bedroom
One of three queen bedrooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Naracoorte, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
R B
1 review
“Lovely property”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

A great place to stay in Naracoorte. Clean & spacious. Highly recommended. Great for families. Would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2015
Thanks, "RB", we appreciate your comment very much and are glad that you enjoyed MacDonnell House, regards Richard and Judy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormanHui...
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
1 review
“Just wonderful”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The MacDonnell house was the best house to stay during our trip in Australia. The house was spacious, everything you needed was available, great bathrooms and wonderful beds. Many thanks Richard Peak,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bathroom
Liked least: The surroundings
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2015
Thank you, Norman, it was a pleasure to have you and your family to stay. Our housekeepers take pride in preparing MacDonnell House to ensure that guests have a very relaxed and comfortable stay. with kind regards, Richard Peake
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karrinjee...
Crossley, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Great beds...”
Reviewed 17 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My husband and I stayed at MacDonnell House with our two young daughters. It was a beautifully set up home that was comfortable and stylish. The quality of the beds was exceptional. I have a bad back and rarely wake up without back pain - I did wake up without it after sleeping at MacDonnell House. The owners had thought of everything, with a well-provisioned kitchen and movies for the children to watch. It is central and convenient too. We highly recommend MacDonnell House as a great place to stay in Naracoorte.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high quality of the mattresses on the beds.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2015
Thank you very much. We're glad your family enjoyed the stay at MacDonnell House, regards Richard Peake.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert G
1 review
“Clean, spacious, well-equipped, comfortable and exceeded expectations.”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We arrived after a long drive to find this lovely house exactly as advertised, with good quality and generous provisions (including the bottle of wine!). All the equipment and furniture, including the bathrooms was of a high standard, well maintained and exceptionally clean. There were plenty things to keep two small boys distracted safely for the couple of days we stayed there, including the play park just down the road. The location is also excellent and we had a wonderful time at the caves and wished we had stayed for longer. We will take happy memories back with us to Clare, SA and Devon, England.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness
Liked least: awkward TV position in sitting room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda M
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have stayed at MacDonnell House many times over the years. It is always clean & the breakfast provisions are always more than enough for our family. Warm in winter & cool in summer. Hassle free booking & an easy to find location. Richard has done an amazing job with the renovation of this beautiful old property.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$136
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing