We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveller rating
636
43
18
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
636
43
18
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great room wine cellar the cliff sea lions included tours every meal remarkable suite food and wine kangaroo island bucket list high expectations floor to ceiling windows flinders suite classic menu other guests worth every penny remarkable rocks
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 706 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018

The rooms are very spacious, the staff are gracious, the wine is copious, the food is delicious and I could look at that ever changing view all day. This is a luxury hotel in a setting that really needs to be experienced.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2fromaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

We have been privileged to stay at SOL on two occasions and certainly plan a third! As other reviews have attested, the service, food and wines showcasing Kangaroo Island and South Australia, incredible views from the very thoughtfully designed resort and relaxed atmosphere are part of the appeal of this luxury lodge. However, for us, meeting such incredibly friendly, talented and interesting young people who have travelled globally and within Australia is a special feature of this lodge - we learned so much from them!
Baillie Lodges, your formula works! Can't wait for the new lodge in Tasmania!!

Room Tip: Suites with low numbers have a long walk to the main dining area.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank richmondsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

The best place I have ever stayed. ALL staff were friendly and went out of their way to ensure every possible need was met. In particular, Angelique (front desk) and Angellle (wait staff) were incredible. The guides were great (Ben and Michael were two we had). The food was outstanding and creative and was all locally sourced.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Phelps H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

We have just returned from our 4th stay at Southern Ocean Lodge, the luxury lodge is absolutely magnificent, the extremely high standard of Baillie Lodges is why they are being voted the best by all who visit.
Our hosts John & Alison and their wonderful team make our stay a wonderful experience with so much to do.
The food & wine selection is sensational, chef Asher and his team are at the top of their game with great local produce being used and all dietary requirements handled with ease
The property has several bush walks, mountain bike tracks and wonderful tours to Seal Bay, Remarkable rocks & Admirals Arch all a must see.
This is a must Lodge to visit and suggest 3 night min stay

Room Tip: Stay at least 3-4 nights as a min to take in all the tours
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dform3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

This was our third visit to a Baillie Lodge part of the Luxury Lodge collection, they do it extremely well.

From the moment the huge double doors swing open on arrival, the magnificence of the Southern Ocean is just breathtaking and the standard is set for an unbelievable stay. The service, food, included expeditions and the suites are absolutely top class.

It is the location of this lodge which makes it worth the trip. Whether you are relaxing with a book in the main lounge or settled in your suite, there are spectacular views which make you unwind. The suites are spacious and beautifully appointed, with a fire at night. Even the beds and pillows were so comfortable a great nights sleep was assured.

Our trip was for a special birthday and it was truly special. Treat yourself!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bubblezz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews