We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
40
58
23
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
58
23
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationlarge clean roomsqueen roomgreat roomthe main dragfree wifilong drivetwo night staywithin walking distancetown centremain beachair conlocal knowledgestayed one nightcafes and restaurantsroad tripcomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

Great location easy walking to the shops cafes and beach. Good value for money. It is an old style motel but it is clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful. Good shower and comfortable bed.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan K, Manager at Golden Sands Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thanks so much for taking time out to provide feedback, we really appreciate it : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

The Golden Sands is well located within 5 minutes walk of the Lake, beach, and high street. We particularly appreciated:
- the ability to use a standard power point to re-charge our plug in hybrid 4WD;
- the excellent free WiFi
- air conditioning
- the high standard of maintenance and cleaning of our room and other facilities,
- availability of a hose to wash down kayaks after use.
- the large room and reasonable rate for our 1 week stay.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halt84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan K, Manager at Golden Sands Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide such comprehensive feedback, we really do appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We normally stay at a different motel in Forster but thought we would give this one a go instead.

Golden Sands Motor Inn is right in the heart of Forster. It's literally so close to everything. 2 minute walk to the beach and less than that into the Main Street of Forster.

The motel itself is quite outdated in terms of the decor in the rooms. I think it needs a renovation just to give it some life. We noticed that the pipes in the room squeak when turned on and the hot and cold taps are the other way around. Also takes a while for the hot water to come on in the shower.

The beds are small and slightly uncomfortable. The windows were sealed shut with nails so could only really use the air con for some form of breeze. Having said all this, the room was quite spacious and the pool was lovely but for the price we paid, I don't think we will be returning to this motel. Also not enough car spaces in the complex.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan K, Manager at Golden Sands Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi thanks for your feedback.
We are a little confused by a few comments as we definitely don't have any windows nailed shut? that's very odd so we can only think you are referring to the windows not being able to slide to fully open which is actually required by law in any rooms above ground level.
Likewise the bed is small? We only have 2 bed size options being a budget double room (with is a double bed) or a queen bed. They are all standard size?? Perhaps you booked a budget double & didn't realise this meant a double bed?
Our motel was built in the 50s so yes the shower taps are reverse from what is done now however that is simply the way it is. Likewise it can take a little bit for the hot water to come through the old pipe system first thing however the bonus of the old piping is that when the water comes it retains its heat & pressure so we think its a pretty good trade off.
We are sorry you didn't see the value in our old school property in an awesome location & trust you will find something more to your liking and budget in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

I absolutely love staying at this Motor Inn. We visit the same Motor Inn every year with other family members. The staff are super lovely and very accommodating, the rooms are very well maintained and kept super clean. A hop, skip and a jump to the town centre, so within close walking distance to the local shops and just across the road from Forster Beach and local swimming Baths. Excellent value for money! Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Forster! Highly Recommend! :)

Room Tip: Great family room, offering 2 adjoining rooms, each with their own bathroom and toilet. Close to in ground pool, handy to carpark.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan K, Manager at Golden Sands Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thanks SO much : )
We love our returning guests that value our old school motor inn & old school customer service.
We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

A genuine 3 star motel
BUT ....despite showing its age(40+???) it's clean,very close to Main Beach and CBD
We checked in late (1.30am) with a secreted key without any dramas
Good sheets and towels
Free WIFI(as it should be in ALL motels)
Hot water a bit bit slow to arrive but excellent when it did( there is a warning)
Some genius had swapped Hot and Cold identifiers( to the consternation of my wife) but not a big deal
Managers quick to help with any issues
Bloke next door has a week in this motel each year(from Nowra) as it's cheap,clean and not too crowded

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank necrovista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan K, Manager at Golden Sands Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hi thanks so much for your feedback.
Our building was actually build in the early 1950's. She is holding up well. It is the 1950's plumbing that slows that first run through of hot water for the day, but once it gets there your patience is rewarded by its beautiful temperature & pressure.
We have lots of guests like your neighbour who visit every year & have done so for a really long time. We even have guests that stayed for their honeymoons in the 60s : ) Back in the day this was the first motel in the area & was know as 'the place to be'.
Thanks for your feedback, we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews