We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just....PERFECT!”
Review of Coogee Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coogee Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Coogee
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just....PERFECT!”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Had the most wonderful stay! The staff was very helpfull and friendly. We had a room in the boutique hotel, which was spacious and very comfortable! The location is just perfect as well, just cross the road and the wonderful beach welcomes you! The hotel as everything you need, a bottleshop, fantasic beergarten overlooking the ocean, great pub and club... I was informed that this hotel was also voted as one of the best in Australia... which I can completely agree with! Thank you for making our stay so fantastic and unforgettable! Would definitely come and stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaccoNagelkerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHBoutique, Front Office Manager at Coogee Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Hi JaccoNagelkerke

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We certainly agree that we have a lot to offer our guests and think that Coogee itself is a fantastic location. We will pass on your comments to our staff as they are sure to appreciate your wonderful feedback!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Coogee Bay Hotel.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    94
    47
    23
    39
See reviews for
35
76
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed here over the NYE weekend so the price was higher than usual.

Location was perfect, right in town, close to beach and bars. the hotel was nice, clean and very spacious.

Staff were accommodating and helpful.

Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHBoutique, Front Office Manager at Coogee Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Hi Traveller2787,

Thank you for your feedback. We agree Coogee is a fantastic location right on the beach and just a short bus trip into the city centre. Our staff especially love hearing about a guests positive reviews so we will be sure to pass yours on to them!
Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Coogee Bay Hotel
Kind regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

This is really one of the worst hotels I've stayed in so far. It is not worth the high price! When we came into the nice looking reception a colleague and me were quite optimistic that this is a nice hotel. However, a series of failiures startet with the inactivity of the lady at the reception. All employees in this hotel seem to be very desinteressted and demotivated without any sense of customer care. We were told that our room is in the heritage wing of the hotel. The rooms there are really heavily rundown. The carpet is very dirty and the bath full of mold. Furthermore, it is very noisy due to the bar and beer garden below the rooms. WiFi is only available in the beer garden. I really cannot recommend this hotel in any way...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex183253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHBoutique, Manager at Coogee Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Good Morning

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will certainly address your concerns with the staff members involved as we normally receive wonderful comments on our customer service. We understand that you chose to stay in our budget pub style rooms which offer cheap accommodation for those who prefer to not to stay in our Boutique deluxe style rooms. The pub style rooms are indeed 3 star with own bathroom and we do advertise that they are situated above our licensed premises so therefore will receive hotel noise. If you are ever in coogee again we really would love for you to stay in our Boutique rooms.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coogee hotels

Mackay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I stayed here last Saturday when in Sydney for a concert. The area was awesome with some great cares and restaurants across the street as well as a chemist and other shops which came in handy for my hangover. I stayed in a pub room which was old with a few cracks in the walls and some mould in the bathroom but for $145 in Sydney it wasn't too bad. I didn't spend much time in the room and the beach is right across the road so if you're not too worried about the room it's worth giving it a go.

Room Tip: The higher floors are less noisy as there is a pub below the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 415GerardC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHBoutique, Manager at Coogee Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
Hi 415GerardC

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Coogee is definately a fantastic location with everything you need for a short or long stay!
We agree our Pub style rooms are fantastic value for budget accommodation in the eastern suburbs of Sydney, and yes some of our bathrooms are currently undergoing a much needed "refresh".
Next time your in Sydney you should check out our gorgeous Boutique Accommodation!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We only stayed one night to attend an event in Randwick/Coogee in a 'Boutique District Kitchen' room with our 3 kids. Perfect location and good to be back in Coogee for the weekend. Room was very clean, decent size bathroom with shower and a bath. Great to have a kitchen, but didn't get to use it much with all the take-away meal options a few minutes' walk along Vicar Street. Entrance to property a little hard to find - it is off Coogee Bay Road between Arden & Brook Streets. Everything was setup for us as requested through Booking.com; sofa bed made up for our two older kids and a cot with bedding set for the 2 year old. Lots of towels, soap and shampoo/conditioner provided but not enough tea-bags. Very friendly and helpful staff - the kids enjoyed the early breakfast in the Brasserie at 6.50am. Good for a family stay with the beach across the road. Surprisingly quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Western side with district views are quieter than those overlooking the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanhuddlestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHBoutique, Manager at Coogee Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Good Morning,

Thank you for your lovely comments! We appreciate all feedback and we especially love to hear when our guests enjoyed their stay so much. Our Boutique rooms are very well equipped, particularly if you choose one our kitchenette rooms which also guarantees you a balcony to sit out on and relax. Great for a family getaway!
Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to Coogee and The Boutique Hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel Pub-Style
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 6 in Coogee
246 reviews
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 11 in Randwick
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coogee Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coogee Bay Hotel

Property: Coogee Bay Hotel
Address: 253 Coogee Bay Road, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Coogee Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms offer a refreshing beachside option, incorporating natural timbers, soft blues and crisp white tones. Located behind the main hotel is the Boutique Wing offering stylish, modern accommodation for corporate travellers and those seeking a relaxing retreat. The Boutique Hotel offers 4 star luxury on the shores of one of Sydney's most famous beaches with competitive rates and a range of weekend packages to entice. If you're seeking 3 star affordable accommodation, our Heritage Wing, located within the main hotel building, is perfect for those wanting to be close to the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coogee Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Coogee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing