We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, spacious apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
at Water's Edge Resort
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We checked into the hotel late evening, woke the next morning to an invasion of ants in the bedrooms. The receptionist was very accommodating an immediately arranged a room change. Our first apartment was huge, but the next one even larger, with a balcony and private pool access.
Airline Beach was hit by Typhoons earlier in the year so it still in the process off renovation, the hotel included in this, but it would have been nicer to hear about this earlier than 2 days prior to our arrival. The renovations didn't have a great impact on our stay as the work is carried out between 9 & 5, we were disturbed more by the party on the floor above, no Reception after 6 makes it difficult to sort these things out.
The apartments themselves are very well equipped but a little dated. Location is excellent, close to shops, bars and restaurants and not too much of a hike up the hill
Overall our stay was good, pool area super, however this hotel is expensive compared to other similar accommodation we had stayed in along the east coast and charging for tea and coffee at breakfast is bonkers!

Room Tip: Ask for pool view, but check which part of hotel is being renovated during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived and was checked in by a blond hair guy. Our room booked was a 1 Bedroom High Floor Ocean View Apartment. Opening the door to our apartment and checking the view, we were located over the drive way near the end with a lovely view of Woolworths car park. I went down to reception and queried the guy that we had booked a 1 Bedroom High Floor Ocean View Apartment. He told me that level 3 was a high floor apartment. Now last time I went to school
If you had 5 stories like the building we were in, levels 1 and 2 would be considered lower floors, level 3 middle floor and levels 4 and 5 a high floor. The blond haired guy at reception then told me they were booked out and we had to take the room we were given. The room was outdated and had cane furniture from the late 1990's. Even though it was a big room, for the price we paid it was in need of an update. Looking down over the balcony there was cement roof tiles smashed or missing off the roof. This was possibly from the Cyclone 5 months prior and just not fixed yet. We checked out the spa, the temperature for a heated spa was so low I was actually chivering being in the spa water. The cleaning of the room had remains of long hair still in the shower drain and around the bathroom floor near the toilet. I had already been down to reception once and had no help so I decided to let it be. The other issue was the free Wi-Fi internet, it was that slow it was not worth them even having on. The included breakfast was bread with some spreads, yoghurt and cereal. I've not had a breakfast that was lacking on choice since I was in Turkey. Photos attached. For these reasons I rate my stay as "Average" or a "3"

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We transferred here after booking at another substandard apartment. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the room we were given was marvelous.
Emma on the front desk is magic. The drive, pathway in is a bit of a killer but I guess that's what you get to be up high with views. The room was large and comfortable.
The only negative is the lousy free Wi-Fi. Needs improving. Thanks Jeff and staff.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GeoffandJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

I called up a couple of hours before to ask whether i could check in early - no go..fair nuff. Turned up 15 mins to 2, and was told it would be 15 mins more to wait. Didn't get checked in 230pm, then was told nothing about parking or the gym not being able to be used. Think that that person really didn't want me there before hand. i was warned about the construction, didn't realise that the gym is now a site office. The place is noisy at night, everything every other tenant does reverberates through out the place. the furnishings are outdated. the location is excellent and so are the views.

Room Tip: top floor rooms would be quieter,however these are probably 2 & 3 room apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boots in the Br... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We recently stayed in one of the 3 bedroom apartments and loved the view and the room. The master bedroom was like something in a magazine and the outdoor area was enormous. In fact, even with 6 of us in the apartment, there was a huge extra area around the side that we never even used!

Million dollar views the moment you walk in the door into the lounge-dining area were just WOW!

There is still some minor damage on show about the complex and the exterior of the apartment itself, but this could not detract from the wow-factor of the whole experience!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank QldKeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
1.4 km away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
419 reviews
0.4 km away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.5 km away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#8 of 56 in Airlie Beach
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#41 of 56 in Airlie Beach
367 reviews
0.7 km away
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
#48 of 56 in Airlie Beach
295 reviews
0.5 km away
at Boathaven Spa Resort
at Boathaven Spa Resort
#31 of 56 in Airlie Beach
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Water's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Water's Edge Resort

Address: 4 Golden Orchid Dr | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: €137 - €243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — at Water's Edge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If location, tranquillity and comfort are what you are looking for in holiday accommodation, then Water's Edge Resort apartments are for you. Water's Edge Resort apartments in Airlie Beach, are quietly nestled in the hillside amongst lush tropical gardens, 100 metres from the centre of the bustling cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach. Water's Edge is quite simply one of the Whitsunday's premier holiday locations. Holidaying at the beautiful Water's Edge Resort 1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Ocean View apartments allows you the best of both worlds. You are within walking distance to the cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach and all that it has to offer as well as being on the door step of the Whitsunday Islands and the pristine waters of the Great Barrier Reef.....the epitome of paradise. Water's Edge Resort exudes style, sophistication and refinement. Professional and personalised service, breathtaking location, exquisite Balinese decor make Water's Edge Resort the perfect choice for a first class Whitsundays holiday. Airlie Beach is the epitome of a beach town, you'll instantly feel the carefree and relaxed attitude emanating from every space. You'll find it in the Airlie Beach Lagoon, a manmade saltwater swimming area surrounded by sand and grassy knolls, where you can lounge away the day in the sun. You'll find it in the beachside parks where afternoon barbeques proliferate and continue into the evening hours and you'll find it in the alfresco dining restaurants where fresh seafood overflows from every dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your at Water's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Airlie Beach
Waters Edge Hotel Whitsundays
Waters Edge Airlie Beach
At Water's Edge Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing