We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a resort nor near the water, not worth the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
at Water's Edge Resort
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night only because when we arrived the Mantra was booked and we could only get in the next day.
The place is pretty old and hasn't been updated at all or renovated at all.
The rooms are big but mismatched furniture and again all really old and outdated.
I decided to wait for the Mantra to shower as I didn't want to use theirs, the shower glass was cloudy and the tiles pretty gross.
Curtains were broken in our main room so the lights from the Woolworths across the road put up our room like a Christmas tree.
When I went to make a coffee I had to clean a mug as they had all been put back dirty.
They make you pay to "Hire" a pool towel.
No wifi in rooms even though they advertise this.
Housekeeping is only offered for booing of 8+ nights and if you want your room serviced before then you have to pay $85 and $30 for fresh sheets.
I guess if all you want is good location and can put up with all the negatives then this is for you but I read reviews and still booked here thinking "can't be that bad, it's only 1 night" but left feeling like I could have booked Peppers or Mantra or another beautiful fully serviced accommodation for the price I paid here.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Ashlee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2017

Large apartment with great views.Fully equipped kitchen.Steps from the Main drag,restaurants and Woolworth. Free parking is a big+.
Poor Wifi -connected sometimes on the balcony only(known issue for Australia).
Airlie Beach still recovering from cyclone but most businesses & restaurants are open.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 430aleksandrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

After emailing the hotel a couple of weeks before arriving to advise that we were arriving in an early flight and requesting an early checkin, we were left sorely disappointed.
Arriving at the hotel, with other guests off the same flight, we were told by a very unfriendly receptionist that it had just turned 10 o'clock and to go for a walk and lunch and come back later. Our luggage had to be left in the open reception area, which was not secure.
After checking a few times we were told they had been painting and waiting on the paint to dry or that housekeeping were still in the room.
Eventually got access to the room at 2.05pm after a long wait and being on the go from 5 am with kids. Other people came and got access to their rooms way before us throughout the day.

Lovely apartments, with lots of space and beautiful pool and spa. All other staff, Emma on reception and breakfast lady were really lovely and helpful.

Wifi isn't great but clean rooms and fab location. Noisy late at night from music at local pub but out with hotels control.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Janeym16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

I stayed with a group of girls in early June. The name is completely misleading the hotel is neither a resort nor is it near the waters edge.
It is however in arguably the best location in Airlie, be mindful when booking accommodation that Airlie is basically built into the side of a cliff so even though a hotel might not seem far away you could be hiking up a very very steep hill to get there and back. This place is close to town but not so close that its noisy (nightlife/music) and convenient to the supermarket. We were on the bottom floor and still had views.
As always the photos make the room look nicer than it is, ours was very dated but it was spacious.
A lot of renovations going on all over Airlie so don't expect much serenity at the moment, lots of noisy machines all day but I don't think that was just this hotel.
Pools are really nice although they're freezing and surrounded by tradesmen.
I know I'm not the first to say it but NO FREE CUPS OF TEA AT INCLUDED BREAKFAST is moronic. I don't mind a simple toast and cereal breakfast or paying for coffee but its all a waste of time if you cant have a cup of hot water and a tea bag included, especially as we could bring our own from the room.
Also I don't think the price reflected that there was constantly a tradesman painting the building in an extremely noisy machine 2 metres from our balcony.
They charge for wifi and the wifi sucked.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Like many other travellers have experienced lately, unfortunately more negatives than positives.

During reservation process we weren't advised that two of the three pool were closed, no restaurant open and that there was major maintenance work going on.

The day before our arrival we were told that our spa was broken and wouldn't be fixed in time. We were given option to move hotels but my husband and I got married here 9 years earlier so wanted to stay here. We were moved to a great sized apartment with the beautiful Airlie ocean views.

Whilst we appreciate the impact of Cyclone Debbie we should've been advised of the maintenance work going on for repainting the hotel. For our anniversary and my birthday we had the sound of high pressure cleaners during the day.. not ideal when we didn't have the best weather so was trying to enjoy some relaxing downtime.

Check-in was also not good. We had early flight into Proserpine so got to Hotel around 10:30am (which hotel was aware of given airport limo transfer included in package). We were advised that our room wasn't ready but wouldn't be long. So we went and picked up hire car and grabbed a bite to eat. We got back around 1pm to be greeted by a different girl who said we couldn't check in till 2pm and we had to wait regardless of me trying to say to her we'd already been there earlier.

We were greeted by our bottle of Moët, chocolates, etc as part of the Romance Me Whitsundays package. Room was clean however the pillows on the bed smelt like damp dish clothes so had housekeeping remake bed.

Guttering on verandah was damaged by cyclone so at times we had a noisy waterfall onto the balcony due to the inclement weather that week.

We didn't bother with the complimentary "continental" breakfast due to having to pay extra for Tea and Coffee. Suggest hotel rethinks that based on what "continental breakfast" means.

The rest of our stay was good and got the well needed rest we were looking for. Airlie nightclubs can be pretty loud but didn't really bother us too much at night.

One major positive was that I left a watch in the room and was contacted by the hotel. This is a first for me ever getting something returned. So many thanks for that!

So all-in-all an ok stay but not fantastic unfortunately.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AussieTraveller-f1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
1.4 km away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
419 reviews
0.4 km away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.5 km away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#8 of 56 in Airlie Beach
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#42 of 56 in Airlie Beach
367 reviews
0.7 km away
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
#48 of 56 in Airlie Beach
295 reviews
0.5 km away
at Boathaven Spa Resort
at Boathaven Spa Resort
#30 of 56 in Airlie Beach
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Water's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Water's Edge Resort

Address: 4 Golden Orchid Dr | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: €138 - €241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — at Water's Edge Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If location, tranquillity and comfort are what you are looking for in holiday accommodation, then Water's Edge Resort apartments are for you. Water's Edge Resort apartments in Airlie Beach, are quietly nestled in the hillside amongst lush tropical gardens, 100 metres from the centre of the bustling cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach. Water's Edge is quite simply one of the Whitsunday's premier holiday locations. Holidaying at the beautiful Water's Edge Resort 1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Ocean View apartments allows you the best of both worlds. You are within walking distance to the cosmopolitan village of Airlie Beach and all that it has to offer as well as being on the door step of the Whitsunday Islands and the pristine waters of the Great Barrier Reef.....the epitome of paradise. Water's Edge Resort exudes style, sophistication and refinement. Professional and personalised service, breathtaking location, exquisite Balinese decor make Water's Edge Resort the perfect choice for a first class Whitsundays holiday. Airlie Beach is the epitome of a beach town, you'll instantly feel the carefree and relaxed attitude emanating from every space. You'll find it in the Airlie Beach Lagoon, a manmade saltwater swimming area surrounded by sand and grassy knolls, where you can lounge away the day in the sun. You'll find it in the beachside parks where afternoon barbeques proliferate and continue into the evening hours and you'll find it in the alfresco dining restaurants where fresh seafood overflows from every dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your at Water's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Hotel Airlie Beach
Waters Edge Hotel Whitsundays
Waters Edge Airlie Beach
At Water's Edge Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing