We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Berkeley River
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kununurra(Kununurra)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
132
13
10
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
132
13
10
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroomthe main lodgebeach drivefishwater poolssand dunesaboriginal rock artincluded activitiessunset drinkshelicopter pilotan amazing experiencedarwin airportbeautiful rockinclusive wineland cruiserspectacular sceneryking george falls
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2017

A once in lifetime experience which should be shared by more Australians.

Amazing setting, pristine wilderness, wonderful accommodation and fabulous staff - what more can one ask for,

We travel the World to places like Machu Picchu and find it a spiritual experience - but here in Australia, we have something in our own back yard which is just as deep and meaningful.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

A very special and memorable experience that lived up to all our expectations. Rare opportunity to see part of Australia that is rarely seen by Australians or overseas visitors. Compare to overseas trips this stay represented tremendous value for money considering it included flights over Northern Australia, accomodation, all meals and activities.
Activities were scheduled but there was no obligation to participate. they were well run and very enjoyable, while the staff were very knowledgable.
Be prepared though for the open air bathrooms, although lying in a hot bath under the stars has pleasant memories.
Many thanks to the chefs! nothing was too much trouble, including the preparation of our freshly caught Dew Fish which was a huge hit with all the guests.
Despite previous comments the variety of Australian wines was excellent, the sunscreen was plentiful, and the Australian made toiletries were well received.
Thank you to all staff for a very memorable holiday, we wish you all the best.

Room Tip: Rooms with views over the Berkerley River mouth were stunning combination of cliffs and ocean.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Well, I've read through a few reviews & agree with most of the comments. We found the staff did a great job to satisfy every whim, especially being in an extremely remote location. Nothing beats the scenery & what nature dishes up on the Kimberley Coast. The rooms were great with views to the ocean or the cliff faces, both as equally beautiful, plus comfy beds. The outdoor bathroom was divine. To stand under the shower looking at the Milky Way, Southern Cross & billions of stars ... even topped Uluru for us. Be prepared for some rugged walks & climbing in & out of a safari trucks, on & off boats, in & out of helicopters. Climbing up the face of cliffs to reach pristine pools to swim in away from the salt water crocs. Or maybe fishing or bushwalking with one of Australia's living legends, 'Bruce'. I doubt there's anything flying, crawling or swimming he doesn't know about the place. What a nice bloke! As for the food, I know previous reviews sing its praises BUT it was soooo below par. I totally understand how remote Berkeley is & did hear mention of a few chefs coming & going over the past season. No excuse for the cost. Yes, there was alcohol flowing anytime of the day but that's not a cloak for under par food & portion size (especially after the physical activity during the day). Really, really, disappointing to the point of frustration. AND, George Clooney has a lot to answer for with bloody POD coffee. It is not, nor will not ever be coffee. Just get an espresso machine & learn how to use it. On the up again, the Ultimate Helicopter activity with True North Airlines was AMAZING. Peter the pilot was great, informative & a gentleman. We will remember the King George Falls forever, the sunset on Mount Casuarina, the coastline & turtles. Too much to take in & absolutely fabulous. We loved the fishing, hiking, boat day cruise & camp itself. Thank you for a lovely, though hungry, holiday.

Room Tip: Do you want the morning sun or the afternoon sun? Some guests were particular.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AustraliaSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We have traveled around and through this amazing Country three times. The opportunity to spend 5 days/4 nights at the Berkeley River Lodge was a standout from all of the regions we havespent time in.This remote Kimberly location brings with it a set of logistical challenges for the staff, accommodation and Restaurant. If you expect the same exotic pampered accommodation of 5 star hotels in a City or resort destination, then lower your expectation, where Berkeley River more than excels is in the unique, isolated and pristine environment, The staff are exceptional and really make the experience special. They multi task and work extremely hard. Should a guest make a request it is attended to immediately, not in the fullness of time or when they get around to it, they do it immediately. The activities are brilliant. the food is great and the beverage selection (including quality wine) is exceptional. I must mention by name some of the guides and staff. Matt, you are a wonder, so considerate of the people you lead in the walks and in your Boats and vehicles, you are very informed about the Aboriginal 1st Nation people and the Geography and History of the Region. Your sensitivity and passion for this amazing environment is to be honored. Ben the Maintenance Manager also does multiple hospitality tasks. The fishing trip he took us on was a brilliant day, many varieties of the regions fish were caught and mostly released, including a 73 cm Baramundi. Jacki (the Manager) was working hard to improve some of the facilities (particularly the dining room chairs). Emily and all of the other young ladies were exceptional. This is a special place, be prepared to be overwhelmed with it's surroundings.

Room Tip: Rooms and Villas 1 to 20 are all the same
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Rod19472015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We absolutely loved our six nights at BRL in May -- a huge thank you to everyone who went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and very very special.

Our flight from Darwin was fantastic with amazing views and then you see the Lodge and that long red landing strip. We were met by Manager Jacqui who did a great job of looking after absolutely everything and everyone.

We did the River Cruise - Bruce's knowledge and his life story is incredible, Creek Walk, had a rest day and walked along the Timor Sea edge but were warned to walk 5 metres from the shoreline due to crocs then taken to a lovely spot for lunch. Other half did a fishing trip day which I SO wish I'd done - sounded a great day..

First two nights we were taken to a special spot to see sunset for our pre-dinner drinks which was so peaceful and then we turned around and we had the full moon rising over the Timor Sea = extra special ~~

Hired a heli for a day with another couple (thank you Raelene & Peter for such a great day!!) -- Jim our wonderful pilot, took us first to see 30,000 year old rock art only discovered 7 years ago = WOW! Then off to the top of King George Falls for lunch and a swim in beautiful rock pools. Up again and landed in the most amazing spot for some fishing which was so much fun - no luck but lots of bites and the waterfalls there just topped it off - Alcatraz I think was the name..
Then up again for sunset drinks and cheese platter on top of Mt Casurina. Flying back into the Lodge and seeing the villas all perched on top of that sand dune was another highlight. Well worth every $$ - thank you Jim.

Food was good for where we were and to accommodate everyone's tastes must be a challenge -- we were happy with our meals and you can't fault how hard everyone works to make sure you're enjoying every minute.

Special mention to Bec for looking after us so well and your partner Matt served us such good food - thank you.
Caleb & Epp, Emily & Emma, and another special thank you to Matt Dempsey -- you all make sure everyone are enjoying their holiday as much as possible - thank you.

We loved our room, small but comfortable. Outdoor shower can be a bit of a challenge if it's windy (to get wet!). Rooms cleaned daily and in May we never needed the air con.

Berkeley River Lodge is a very special place and we hope to return ~

Thank you again from Brett and Julie

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BaySydney3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews