We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location for visiting Las Terrenas and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room and kitchen in the background.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Living Room and kitchen in the background.
Living room & dining area which seats six.
Ocean view from the dining table.
Fully equipped kitchen.
Second bedroom 2 Twin beds.
Let us reserve a relaxing massage for you.
Shiva's Cave Yoga Studio on site and open to guests.
Workout area with sea view.
Stairs leading to upper cave chamber.
Amazing rock formations.
Inner chamber, quiet and cool for meditation.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Las Terrenas, Samana Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Grant H
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect location for visiting Las Terrenas and Samana!”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights on a recent trip to the DR. I based my decision on the photos of Monte Placido and other reviews and was not disappointed. The views are simply spectacular, there is a continual breeze to keep you cool, hardly any mosquitos and a fantastic pool to cool off in. Don, Diana and their staff are great hosts and you feel right at home with plenty of privacy in your vila. It is a steep drive up to Monte Placido but I managed to do it no problem even in a compact Chevy in the middle of the night. It's a short drive to the beach in Las Terrenas, Playa Bonita, Playa Coson and El Salto de Limon. The beaches are great but staying up on Monte Placido gives you the best of both worlds in my opinion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2015
Yes the panorama from our mountain top is quite something. The misconception of many is wanting to be on or near the beach. In Samana we don't just have 1 beacj many pristine beaches along the cost line and an an easy reach from Monte Placido Vacation Rentals. Monte Placido Vacation Rentals is comprised of 5 rental homes ranging from a studio just for 1 or 2 guests up to 5 guests per home.
Looking forward to welcoming you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luba t
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place to remember”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What can I say, this place is sensational! One of my friends /whom I trust with planing/ found it and it was perfect for our girls little get away. It's great for families as well. The nature and its sounds surrounding you takes you places where you switch your mind off.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Thank you Andre. Yes MONTE PLACIDO is so private that families as well as couples can stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A quiet place for a relaxing vacation with a breathtaking view”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing 2 weeks at Monte Placido. With not many people around, we mostly had the pool for us. In the evenings we grilled several times enjoying the sunset.
As we arrived from Germany, we got there by car from Punta Cana (don't try to get your rental car at the airport - their gonna fool you), which ment a 4 hour drive, but was totally worth it.
We had a quad for a day, which turned out to be great fun -> we would recommend to have a quad for your hole stay, as the streets of Las Terrenas are no big fun by car.
We just choose Mount Placido and therefore Las Terrenas out of the blue, and we definetally had the right instinct.
Don and Diana were always up to help, or organize things for us. We also found a great restaurant "Mi Corazon", whose host was also very lovely and giving us tips for the stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the ocean view from the mountain
Liked least: to leave :-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Hello . Tank you for sharing your experience for other future guests.
No doubt that have any kind independant mode of transportation makes your stay IN Samana more enjoyable. Many have in mind that being "on the beach" is the primary element in their decision making. If one rents in town the beach their is busy as all the other beaches in Samana are undeveloped and pristine and getting by car, ATV or motorbike is a must. One last note on this subject MONTE PLACIDO is strategically located just East of Las Terrenas so an easy reach to all bewache(s)..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEBxdeuil
Gatineau, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No Brainer...just GO”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We found this paradise a few years ago and came back for a second time and maybe soon a third. All pictures do not make it justice. Don and Diana will be the best host you will ever encounter in your travels. Does not matter what villa you choose...they all have something cool to offer. I could keep writing you a full sells pitch but I think you just should GO and see it for yourself. This is now our new Home Away from Home. :)

PS: Go ahead and rent a car with them...lets you explore more freely

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views....soo amazing
Liked least: Having to go back home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2014
Yes, renting a mode of transportation be it a scooter, motor bike or ATV or car is the best way to discover Samana. You can go to our own website MONTE PLACIOD VACATION RENTALS search for it on the net. There much more information logistics.....
MONTE PLACIDO is comprised of 6 villas. Just contact of more infromation about the studio for 1 or 2, our larger villas for up to 8 or a for a group up to 24...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc D
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding vacation at Monte Placido in Samana!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

After the never-ending winter of 2014 - my partner and I needed to get away to restore ourselves back to sanity and didn't know where to go. We had never been to the Dominican Republic, as whenever we'd hear about it were about the all-inclusive resorts of Punta Cana or Puerto Plata. When we travel, we prefer to take in a bit more of the culture and not follow the masses and do our own thing. AND I'm happy to say, we found it at Monte Placido, located on an idealic hilltop on the Samana Peninsula in the Dominican Republic.

Where to begin. If you can fly into El Catey, do it! It's only about 40 minutes- mostly beautiful scenic drive along the coast of the azure-colored Atlantic Ocean on a brand new highway (with barely any cars on the road!). Once you get to Monte Placido, (yes, as we had read - it's a steep hill, but after going up once and tackling a couple of sharp turns - you'll get the hang of it) put it in the low-gear, take it steady and you'll be compensated by a breathtaking view. Photos do not do justice to this hilltop haven.

To start, you are welcomed by about 5 Spanish-style ochre-colored houses surrounded by a smartly landscaped garden with a kaleidoscope of tropical flowers with strategic lush trees to give each unit their own sense of privacy - juxtaposed by an infinity pool at the centre of the property with ample seating for larger groups, if need be. While you're obviously not on the beach - you are surrounded in the foreground by a 180 degree view of the Atlantic coastline with a constant warm ocean breeze. Each of the six units are charmingly decorated in their own style - kept immaculately clean with all that you would require (Flat screen Satellite TV with a few English channels) WiFi if you need to be connected, fully equipped kitchens with all necessary dishware, pot&pans, etc... Some of the units are surrounded by a fence, making them dog-friendly should you decide to bring Fido along!

Owners Don and Diana, who live on-site in the center villa, are very conscientious of guest privacy. We barely saw them unless we rang their bell. The groundskeeper Jean-Claude, along with the rest of the crew are extremely polite and are mindful of any noise. Cleaning service is only every other day - but if you require any extra items, they will make it available for you. If you wish to use the grill, there's a large bbq grill just off the pool area along with seating for up to 10-12 guests under the canopy.

The Location is great as you can discover so much of the region as Monte Placido is located at the centre of the Samana Peninsula making most attraction nearby (we were at secluded world-class beaches in 15 minutes) and most others within 1 hour away at the most. Truth be told, over 12 days, we only went to 5 of the 12 recommended beaches as we opted for the pool, hilltop vistas and ocean breeze! The town of Las Terranas is nothing special, but there are countless of great dinning options.

IN short - if you have a penchant for the standard all-inclusive experience then this is not the place for you. BUT, if you're in for something unique and a little different and special with lots of local charm and a priceless setting that you will never forget, then, be sure to put Monte Placido on your Caribbean 'bucket list'. You will not regret it. We can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2014
Wow! I have no comment this reviews says it all. Thank you it will really help future guests. Diana and i are waiting for you on top of our little mountain over looking the ocean..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing