We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
37
5
4
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
5
4
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscold cutsjosecaveswalksrecommendationmargarita
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We stayed in Terenes as we wanted to visit the caves at Tito Bustillo, which is only 5 minutes away by car. The village is very picturesque with its beautiful old stone houses and the sea on one side and the mountains on the other. There are some lovely walks around the village and good restaurants which offer excellent local cuisine. Tiu Xicu was even better than we expected! Our room was beautiful, warm and cosy and decorated in the style of Andalusia. Our hostesses met us and showed us around and gave us the history of the house and told us the story of their family in the village. Our stay was perfect, The bed very comfortable, the included breakfast delicious and all home prepared. marguerite and Mélanie made us feel very welcome. One extra note for anyone wishing to visit the caves at Tito Bustillo, if possible book in advance on line, the cave with the paintings is very popular and is often booked out.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussiesAwayFromHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

very helpful Spanish/French speaking staff, superb breakfast (best ever in Spain for me), quiet location, nice cosy house.
restaurants nearby, spacious room with loads of storage space, clean, comfortable, all you can expect for a nice stay for a VERY reasonable price.
We payed double for other hotels that can't match this beautiful place and service.
Best WiFi ever in Spain, free, fast and reliable.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Relax_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile

Our horror began when we tried calling the. Management at night to update on our late arrival .when we reached there there was no one .we had to go back to ribadesella after stranded for couple of hours driving around the dead town trying to find a place to stay. .for which we had to cough up last minute premium .the next morning I called up the hotel to complain the lady could not speak English. ..with the help of Google translator I managed to explain to her we ate coming to her property and she said fine...when we reached again ...no one is here ...and I am standing outside like an idiot with my luggage .extremely untrustworthy management...lovely place but shame that they can be extremely unsafe for leaving people stranded like this . First negative review on trip advisor .

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank sameer u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile

As I write I am standing outside this hotel . we arrived last night from Seville at 1am with a bonifide booking from booking.com for 2 nights. We had informed on email are arrival maybe after 11. Guess what since 9pm no body took our calls here or opened the doors. After much Adi villa Rosario gave us a room at 2am.
We called tiu xico in the morning finally a Spanish speaking lady picked up and couldn't understand a word we were saying. We told her in broken Spanish we are coming n she said OK. We r standing outside right now nobody is opening or taking our calls. We have traveled the world and all over Spain but this kind of nonsense uncaring and unprofessional behavior is beyond my comprehension. I'd say booking .com and this hotel should be pulled up for this. This faceless torture is totally ruining our Asturia trip. If you book this totally insane place do it at your own risk..

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Neha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015

Lovely very clean and comfortable room , very good value. Breakfasts were great , slight difference each day at our own choice, including homemade preserves and cakes. So full we hardly needed any lunch ! Terenes is about 5 minutes from Ribadesella , which is a really nice seaside town with a good selection of restaurants and some very interesting caves . The owner of Tiu Xico spoke fluent French as well as her Spanish but very little English but with our limited Spanish we were able to understand her recommendations of places and restaurants to visit so well worth asking her for advice. In Torenes itself there are 2 bars/ restaurants funnily enough we thought the lower rated one was much better than the other one so worth reviewing the trip advisor ratings fully before you visit them. All in all an excellent and most enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews