We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barkly Homestead
Nearby Hotels
Bluestone Motor Inn(Tennant Creek)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Goldfields Hotel Motel(Tennant Creek)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Eldorado Motor Inn(Tennant Creek)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tourist's Rest(Tennant Creek)
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Banka Banka Station(Tennant Creek)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
150
144
34
12
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
150
144
34
12
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan oasismt isahappy hourbar and restaurantvan sitesremote locationpowered sitestaff were friendlygreat meallong driveweek tripwelcome reliefgreat stoproad tripcamping areacold beeren route
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

The cabins are clean and tidy and very comfortable. The food was good but the staffing levels were a bit of a let down. There was only one girl on the front counter and one guy on the bar.
I think they could benefit from putting more staff on during the busy times. Aside from this, everything else was good at both dinner and breakfast times.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Tiana-Bremner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Hi,

Staffing is always an issue. Unfortunately we do not have access to casual staff to call on for the rush. We do attempt to staff the best we can but sometimes it can go from being very quiet to very busy. Fair work regulations stop us from allowing the backpackers from working too many overtime hours without huge wages so it is difficult. We hope you stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Barkly Homestead for one night after our long drive from Darwin. It had everything we wanted, hot showers, clean linen and a comfortable bed. The price was a little expensive ($150) for a standard room but I guess you can't really argue when it doesn't have any competitors close by and is everything you want when travelling. We didn't eat at the homestead but we read the menu and it sounded delicious, especially the breakfast menu. Overall a great overnight stay!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank NKGardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Hi,

Thank you for your kind review. It is appreciated by everyone here. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We did not initially plan to stay here but so glad we did. Lovely staff, good food and a level drive-through site. Had a real Homestead feel, with Jackaroos and Jillaroos enjoying some Sunday Arvo R and R at the next table.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Deborah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Hi Deborah N!

Thanks so much for your kind review. I'm so pleased to hear you decided to stay with us and joined us for some food.

Enjoy the rest of your trip, we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Would recommend staying here. We had a couple of cabins which were very good. We went into the pub and had a couple of great steaks. Despite being close to the road we still found the rooms to be quiet. Probably because there is not a great deal of traffic along the road.
Good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kieron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Hi Kieron J!

Thanks so much for your great review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and managed to join us for dinner! I have passed your words onto the chefs.

Enjoy the rest of your trip and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

stayed one night as most people do , the rooms were very clean and comfortable , found the staff were very friendly nothing to much trouble , food was excellent , the whole atmosphere of the place was above expectations , I really think if your not happy about the accommodation and food you must be very hard to please, would highly recommend , its in the outback enjoy. petrol was expensive if you want city prices , stay in the city
Roy

Room Tip: I don't think it matters
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Manager at Barkly Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Hi Roy P!

Thanks so much for your fantastic review! Its reviews like this that really keep us going out here. Its so nice to hear from people who appreciate what we do. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and meals, and that the staff were working as well as ever. Happy staff and happy customers really make the atmosphere here and i'm glad you could see that.

Enjoy the rest of your trip and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews