We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite wonton soup ”

Shanghai Chinese Cafe
Ranked #24 of 37 Restaurants in Katherine
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Some dishes just stay in your taste memory and the wonton soup at the Shanghai is one of them . It is quite simple - a very tasty stock, wontons, Bok Choy and cubes of ham and I
Love it. So much so that I had it for lunch nearly every day I was in Katherine. The steamed pork dim sims are also delicious.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank KERRYNT979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2016

Normal full Chinese menu even if it is a bit pricey. Most mains were around $23 mark.
Got the Salt & Pepper Squid and took back to where I was staying. Absolutely disgusting.
The batter was so hard it was like pork crackle chips. The salt was so heavy it made the food inedible. The two pieces I tried to eat the squid had been hammered to such a thinness as to be non exsistent.I had driven 5 hours to get to Katherine and was really hungry but could not eat it. Returned it to the shop and although lights were on inside the shop was closed. Went back to write compliant on some paper but had nothing to write it on. I have taken a month to write this as life does go on and you forget.
Thanks to Maccas for a great meal instead!

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank t0pend2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

We were told by other travellers that this was the place to eat at in Katherine.

Well, we were not disappointed.

Somewhat old and tired looking it still came up with the goods as far as a meal went and we enjoyed the evening. After all it is in Katherine not Sydney.

Each time we come through Katherine we make a point of eating here so they must be doing something right, great meal, great value.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

the food is amazing living locally we have food from here regularly and they never disappoint it is always amazing and fresh!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank meme710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

The portion is huge! value for money. Best value when the meal is shared, just like the traditional chinese dining culture.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank ngdanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shanghai Chinese Cafe also viewed

 
Katherine, Top End
Katherine, Top End
 

Been to Shanghai Chinese Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing