We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watermelon and mint crush was a highlight on a hot day!”

Border Store in Kakadu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Description: Just to good for it not to be reviewed. Middle of nowhere but brilliant Thai chef with a treechange location
Restaurant details
Description: Just to good for it not to be reviewed. Middle of nowhere but brilliant Thai chef with a treechange location
Reviewed 27 October 2018

We enjoyed our visit to the boarder store. They had wonderful refreshing cool drinks - the watermelon and mint crush and the lime crush were both delicious! They also had a toilet for public use and a tap where you could fill up water bottles - very important if you're going to be out in the heat of the day!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank sugarandvinegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

We made a welcome stop here for some ice cream and a cool drink. We found out later they are the same people who run the Unbinik restaurant in Jabiru. Friendly people.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank GilbertandYumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Friendly staff who are happy to chat and give you info on the area. Amazing thai food (large portions so can easily be shared with a 2nd person) ranging from mild to hot. My pad thai saw me through for a dinner and 2 pre dinner snacks.
Their drinks are amazing and such a welcome relief from the heat. The rosella iced tea and ginger/lime ice crush were my favourite. They also make real coffee. Lighter snacks are available such as sandwhiches, hot chips (again, amazing) spring rolls, ice creams and standard cold drinks.
Local art work is also for sale in the store and books about the area.
A 'must stop at' site for sure! We frequented the Border Store every day we stayed in Kakadu (Jabiru). The same lovely family also operate the restaurant at Anbinik in Jabiru.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

The border store is exactly that, it is on the border of Kakadu and Arnhemland. Just a stones throw from Cahill's crossing which takes you across into Arnhemland and Ubirrr, which has its rock art galleries and plateau to watch the sun set from or to just lookout over the country. The store has cold drinks, souvenirs, icecreams, takeaways and a Thai restaurant. The owners at the border store also run the Thai restaurant at Anbinik Kakadu Resort, so the food is delicious, they actually grow some of the ingredients out the back. The staff are friendly, service is prompt. There are toilets across the road run by the parks, they are drop toilets.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Enjoyed some delicious food here while sitting outside in the garden area. The fruit drink was refreshing and the spring rolls yummy.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Border Store in Kakadu also viewed

Jabiru, Kakadu National Park
Jabiru, Kakadu National Park
 
Kakadu National Park, Top End
Jabiru, Kakadu National Park
 
Jabiru, Kakadu National Park
Kakadu National Park, Top End
 

Been to Border Store in Kakadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing