We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$116
View deal
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Algotels
Trip.comUS$125
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
118
138
71
23
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
118
138
71
23
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 357 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2021

The buliding was under construction and hard to find. Breakfast was a dissapointment. The room was on the sunny side, and was very, very hot all night.
The hotell was lacking atmosphare and felt poorly staffed.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank HeidiSitara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kim Engan Strand, General Manager at Quality Airport Hotel Vaernes, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2021

Hi HeidiSitara.
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving your review.
We are sorry to see that you are not satisfied with your stay and promise to work even harder to improve our services.
The construction work will be finished within a few weekes and the main entrance will be easier to find. Our hotel has ordinary ventilation but no aircondition. When outside temperatures are very high this affects our hotel rooms. In such situations we have fans for lending in the reception. We also will look into our staff schedules to make sure we have enougt staff to take good care of our guests and if you could share some ideas on what we can do to improve our breakfast we would appreciate this. Please send this to kim.engan.strand@choice.no
Kind regards
Kim Engan Strand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2021

I have chosen the Quality Stjørdal because of positive previous experiences with these hotels. I should better have stayed in the best western Hotel instead. Could not sleep before 02:30 because a disco was running in front of the hotel whole night. In addition, no ventilation. The service was extremely poor. Nobody was really eager to help :-(

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank 0256DG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kim Engan Strand, General Manager at Quality Airport Hotel Vaernes, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2021

Dear 0256DG1.
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving your reply.
We are happy to see that your previous experiences with our hotels has been positive and the more sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations this time. It seems that the summerheat and fewer covid-19 restrictions has led to many people finding their way out into the streets to celebrate their holidays. What we do in such cases is that we notify the local authorities so they can follow up on the incident. Our hotel does not have air conditioning but ordinary ventilation. During extreme heat we offer free fans for lending from the reception.
We hope that you despite your last experience will visit us again sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Kim Engan Strand
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2021

This review is colored by the best stay I ever had at a Nordic Choice the days before at Bodø Ramsalt. This is the other end of the spectrum.

Location:
Don't be fooled by the name "Airport Værnes". It is a 2 km (1,1 mile) walk from the terminal. There are local busses (if you find one) and taxis, but they will drain your wallet. Quality Hotel Stjørdal would be more apropiate. BUT - I knew that and it was a concious decision to stay there.
Stjørdal is not a place to go to on holiday. It is not a nice city. You stay here, if you have to.

Arrival:
Signing at the hotel is not existent (at the moment). Construction work. Had to search for the entrance.

Maybe I was unlucky or my expectations were to high after staying at Nordic Choice Ramsalt in Bodø (their newest hotel), but there were worlds between those hotels. No smile, no warmth in the welcome. A dark place (due to the construction work). I got checked in but nothing compared to other places. Didn't get the good vibe from the staff.

Room:
Stuck in the 90s (like the hotel). Spacy, but needs color (and a smell check). Hotel has NO views due to location! Just you know! Good bed.

Good sized bathroom. Shower head was from decades ago and not working like one expects. Like an old shower in a public pool area. Easy and cheap fix with a trip to Jula!

Breakfast:
Terrible, the worst ever. Where should I start. Camp style, no effort. Cold unmotivated staff. Old and dirty toaster. All food cramped on one table. No welcome, more like a dentist appointment. Got some bread and toppings and left as fast as possible. (your kitchen staff seems to like 1x1 cm cubes of everything... take the knife away^^). Breakfast often is a highlight of a stay. Hotels i Norway normally compete for hte best breakfast. But they left the competition here.

Overall:
Mentioned that I was unhappy when I checked out, but it didn't seem to interest the lady there. I should come back and give them a chance after the rennovation. But won't happen. I would stay away. Scandic Hell is closer to airport, same price range, superb breakfast.

Staff at Quality Airport Værnes should take a trip to Bodø and see what they do there. From customer handeling to uniforms/service - amazing. Lots and lots to improve. Love Nordic Choise, but this must be a "bytting".

Very good Covid-19 handeling!

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
1  Thank Travelelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kim Engan Strand, General Manager at Quality Airport Hotel Vaernes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2021

Dear Travelelg.

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving your review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel in Bodø and the more sorry to learn about your experience during your stay with us. You should have high expectations when you book a Nordic Choice Hotel and there is no excuse for poor customer service. In your case we obviously have room for improvement. Espescially as you expressed your concerns at check-out.
I can assure you that we will work to improve this in particular and in the other mentioned areas in general.

I am pleased to see that you found our Covid-19 handling satisfactory and that the size of the bathroom was ok.

The ongoing construction work will be complete within 8 weeks and we do apologize for any inconvenience this work may cause to our guests.

Even we did not meet your expectations this time around we hope that you wil visit us again sometime in the future.
We really would like to show us from a better side and feel free to write to me personally at kim.engan.strand@choice.no in order to make such arrangements.

Kind regards
Kim Engn Strand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2021 via mobile

Bad cleaning service, uncomfortable and noisy beds, lack of towles. Small Windows and bad ventilation and the ventilation sound was loud and annoying,no fridge or mini bar in the room. It was not terrible but i was disapointet becuse i expected more.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 749miatlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kim Engan Strand, General Manager at Quality Airport Hotel Vaernes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2021

Dear 749miatlb.
Thank you so much for staying with us and for leaving your review.
We are so sorry to learn that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and will for sure look into these matters.
This is not what we want our customers to experience when staying with us. If you would be so kind as to send me your e-mail adress i will get back to you as soon as possible and you can reach me at kim.engan.strand@choice.no
Hope to hear from you soon.
Kind regards
Kim/Team Værnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2020

I booked a room at this hotel, as it was the closest to where I should work. The hotel is average, good bed, OK + breakfast, but a bedroom where all electric outlets was on the opposite wall from the bed - so no way to charge phone or ipad while resting in the bed, or typing on a laptop.

So room: OK–, bed OK+, bathroom OK(-), breakfast OK+, position OK (for being close to the town centre, not the airport), personnel OK.

Walking distance from the railway, although difficult to see the hotel at night (no sign as I could see, had to use the phone's map app).

Date of stay: October 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank einarse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kim Engan Strand, General Manager at Quality Airport Hotel Vaernes, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2020

Hi einarse.
Thank you so much for staying with us and for leaving your review.
We promise to take a closer look at the areas for improvement that you point out and do appreciate you letting us know.
We hope to see you soon again.
Kind regards
Kim Engan Strand
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews