We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
45
37
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
37
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews motor lodge stayed here would stay again quality amenities wifi code within walking distance central location hawkes bay close to town wall heater air conditioning great facilities one bedroom unit clean rooms spa bath minute drive bed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really happy with the spacious clean room. The bed was super comfortable and there was lots of towels and quality amenities in the room. The Management were helpful and friendly. There is a pool for the warmer months and also a conference room. We enjoyed the spa bath in our room and tv in the bedroom. Also room service breakfast if you need it. A very central location in the Hawkes Bay. Would stay again.

Room Tip: room on the left side as you drive in away from the road
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemizfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

Great Motel complex, handy to town, reasonably priced and nice clean modern facilities. Would definitely stay here again. Nice and close to the race course which was our main aim for the weekend. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lindy2221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks very much. Race days are always very busy and a lot of fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

I had to make an unplanned stay in Hastings and managed to get a good deal for a night here online. Now maybe I didn't read the room description carefully after a 12-hour day, but you don't expect a one bedroom unit to have 2 single beds in the living area and no comfortable chairs.

What really annoyed though was a polite request to change to another unit being met with "we're nearly full tonight". I'm not sure why the carpark was half full later in the evening.

Then there was the issue of the roadworks that stopped you from turning off the main road to access the motel. This wasn't their fault obviously, but some comment or instructions would have been appreciated.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank Dughlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

We are sorry you didn't read the room description correctly but we are not sure how we could have helped with that. What we said when you advised of your mistake was that we had an almost full motel and the only room types left available were the ones you had booked so moving was only possible to a room of the exact same configuration. Cars in the carpark is not the only indication of a full motel and the implication we lied to you and had rooms available for you to switch to is a little insulting and childish. Certainly if we had been able to accommodate your "polite request" we would have.
In regards to the roadworks, any request for instructions around interpreting the traffic signs would also have been willingly fulfilled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We stayed for one night and it was a very well appointed and clean room. We walked into town and went to the movies and had dinner (around a 5 minute walk). The only comment we have was the lack of engagement by the owners. They were polite but didn't show much interest in any conversation or enquiring where we from or whether we needed to know anything about the area etc. Lovely motel none the less.

Room Tip: We had a room away from the road.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaM2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portmans, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thanks very much for posting a review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay here regalrdless of where you were from.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

I stayed at the Portmans Motel for a week, I found the service very friendly and my room was great. The bed was very comfortable and the free wifi was a cheery in the top. Breakfast was surprising really good. All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend the Portmans Motel to anyone.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank vanepale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D, Owner at Portmans Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thanks very much, We're pleased you had a surprisingly good breakfast. Kaye (the owner who cooked it) is a very experienced commercial cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews