We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and serene location”
Review of Millar Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Millar Road
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We stayed here last weekend with a group of friends to celebrate a couple of significant birthdays. The house is lovely and the location was beautiful, with stunning views across the vineyards to the sea. The environment was peaceful and relaxing, with the only noise from birds singing and sheep baaing. We had Haumoana House and Villa 1, fantastic accommodation for a large group. Would totally recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ianj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We had a most relaxing 2 night stay in Villa 1. Beautiful view, even in winter! Wonderful open plan design that allows maximum sunlight into the house. The 3 portable heaters & fire place were more than enough to keep the place warm & cosy. The owners kindly provided fresh eggs, milk, jam, bread, yoghurt, fruit & a bottle of wine grown & made at the estate. It was very good wine by the way, available for purchase at the pool house if you wished to bring a bottle home. All amenities were quite luxurious, comfortable king size bed, high quality linen & big bath tub.

Hastings & Napier (Art Deco town) were within a 20min drive away with some good restaurant choices but since we had a fully functioning kitchen (dish washer too!) we ended up cooking ourselves. The produce in New Zealand is so fresh, we bought fish, lamb chops, chicken, veggies & popped them on the barbecue. With good food, wine, amazing view & wifi, we didn't really need to or want to leave the property!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ManChaTeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Just spent a great weekend at this amazing place, nestled between the rolling vineyards of Hawkes Bay. If you want to recharge your batteries with panoramic views of picturesque landscape then round up your favourite travelling companions and hotfoot to this luxury getaway. Thank you Greg for looking after us.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We couldn't believe we were actually staying here, Millar Road was like a sanctuary in the middle of a hectic holiday, we could have stayed a week not just two nights. The villa was great, modern with understated luxury, views out to Hawkes Bay, situated in a vinyard. We had a welcome pack with bread, coffee, bacon, eggs, yoghurt and homemade strawberry jam with a bottle of wonderful wine from the vinyard! It was heaven, weather wasn't great but we didn't care, lit yhe lag fire and relaxed.
Napier was good to visist and Havelock North, lots of cycling and paths close by.

It is a bit remote but well worth the drive

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HilarySch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg_at_Millar_Road, Owner at Millar Road, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Thank you very much. Those little wood burners are the bomb aren't they!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed two nights in this fabulous luxury cottage. Ginny and Greg were so helpful and we had everything we needed and more. The organic and natural wines are some of the best i'v tried and being surrounded by vines offers a fantastic back drop. Napier just 10 minutes away.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Radar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg_at_Millar_Road, Owner at Millar Road, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Thank you. We've tried to put our own twist on the Hawke's Bay experience, so it's great to get such feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
16.6 km away
Meadowood Country House
Meadowood Country House
#1 of 2 in Fernhill
34 reviews
7.2 km away
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
7.5 km away
The Magpie Motel
The Magpie Motel
#7 of 18 in Hastings
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Hastings
95 reviews
9.1 km away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Hastings
66 reviews
9.8 km away
No photo provided
Frimley Lodge Motel
#15 of 18 in Hastings
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millar Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millar Road

Address: 83 Millar Road | Rd10, Hastings 4180, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hastings
Price Range: €282 - €481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Millar Road 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millar Road offers seriously stylish accommodation on a beautiful vineyard estate nestled into the northern end of the Tuki Tuki Hills with panoramic views taking in mountain ranges, Hawke’s Bay wine country and the Pacific Ocean. Millar Road is a true New Zealand design experience, with award-winning architectural design and contemporary New Zealand furniture, furnishings and art. Millar Road’s 20-hectare estate includes a large house, two villas, a swimming pool and a pool house. Up to 16 adults can be accommodated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millar Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millar Road Hotel Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing