We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
91
9
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
9
4
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2016

We have just spent five nights at The White House in Russell over the New Year period, and loved it! While on first impression the road frontage of the house is shabby, what is down the path is not!
The large garden has plenty of places to sit, the BBQ is clean and efficient, there is even a spa pool if you are travelling during cooler months.
There were two couples and two of our children in our group - the house was perfect for this combination with three bedrooms upstairs, each with their own beautifully appointed bathroom, as well as another separate toilet adjacent to the laundry downstairs. The kitchen is very well equipped with all the necessary facilities, even right down to tea, coffee, salt and pepper. There is an extensive DVD library with TVs and DVD players in each room and the lounge.
The White House is very close to the township of Russell - literally minutes for great coffee, restaurants and the two Four Squares, the ferry to Paihia and beyond. You can get your daily workout pounding the surrounding hills, take in the awesome views and swim at beautiful Long Beach - 15 minutes away. Wifi is fast and free.
We loved our time here and will make sure we return.

Room Tip: Each room is very well appointed, towels, robes, shampoos and lotions supplied. If you need single beds, the hosts can split them.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilippaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2015

My wife and I spent 3 great days here over the Waitangi Day weekend, and found it a very pleasant getaway from the crowds. The Jurys, our hosts, were tremendously helpful with our planning and once we got there -- very responsive and full of good information. The house is well appointed, and has a good, functional kitchen. Rooms are spacious and the bathrooms had all you'd need. It's well located in the town, just a short walk to the stores, pub, restaurants, etc. All in all a great introduction to the Northlands.

Room Tip: Saturday night at the pub is a little rowdy, but not enough to disturb a good night's sleep in one of the rear bedrooms.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strangemansland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Well appointed and comfortable room in an historic setting. The little extra touches made it even more inviting. The White House was well situated within Russell with the main waterfront area a very short walk. Our hosts, Steve and Emma, were friendly, well versed in the local area to suggest activities, attentive with an eye for service yet unobtrusive. Missing those wonderful cooked breakfasts in the garden.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRJ2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I completely agree with all the recent rave reviews, so I won't repeat the detail.
A lovely property in a great location with wonderful hosts.
I have no hesitation in recommending The White House and hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0BINH00D69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Russell has always been a favourite place but the first time at the White House. We loved the old world charm and the graciousness of the hosts, Emma and Steve. Sitting on the deck as the sun goes down into the canopy of trees or having breakfast in the morning in the garden. It is actually better being slightly away from the busy-ness of the waterfront which is still only a couple of steps away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPMMarch14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews