We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
91
9
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
9
4
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2013

If you wish to stay in an accommodating, respectful, clean, quiet, FREE WIRELESS WIFI in suite. Stay here. Food, interactions with owners superlative!
If we are so lucky to return to Russell. This is where we would stay, again and again.

Room tip: All 3 rooms great!
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

If you are visiting Russell, this is the place to stay. Wonderful hosts, superb accommodation and the best breakfast ever. Emma and Steve go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and have excellent local knowledge to share. The lovely old house is a haven of comfort. We can't recommend it more highly.

Room tip: We've tried Kiwi and Tamarillo - all of the rooms are excellent with lovely en suites.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delyse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We enjoyed a nice peaceful and relaxing stay at The White House in early February this year. Perfect location in the heart of Russell within walking distance of everything without any hills to climb unlike some other accommodation. Emma and Steve very friendly and helpful and booked us on the Explore NZ Bay of Islands Dolphin Cruise - fabulous, highly recommend. Accommodation very nice and breakfast delicious.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AARobertson1Fife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We spent 3 nights in this great B&B. Steve & Emma are great hosts, ever helpful. Breakfast is fabulous, whatever you want, & Steve is always on for a good long morning chat!! The room was fabulously. It's a great place to stay & we will go back some day & let anyone we know going to Russell to stay here. Just a great place.

Room tip: No great difference
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fmt1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed at The White House for three nights close to the beginning of our travels in New Zealand and were still suffering a bit from jet lag. Steve and Emma are exceptionally friendly and laid back hosts and staying with them certainly helped us relax and take in the wonderful atmosphere of Russell and the surrounding Bay of Islands. The accommodation was very comfortable and Steve and Emma have done a great job in restoring an historic property which had been left derelict. Steve's cooked breakfasts were great and Emma was kind enough to let us use her washing machine and hang out our stuff to dry. A couple of days after we left, my husband realized that he had left some clothing in the room. We tracked Steve and Emma down (on one of their rare days off!) and Emma came to the rescue by shipping the items on to Wellington where they were waiting for us on our arrival. Many thanks to our wonderful hosts!

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muskoka_canadaSwooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews