We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing 360 views with great design getaway.”
other travellers have booked this property
Chalet during the day
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet during the day
View across vineyard to sea Dining & Kitchen from deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Chalet during the day
View across vineyard to sea
Dining & Kitchen from deck
Mist over the valley
Bedroom opening from deck
Sunrise over the vines
Other bedroom
Modern kitchen
Reflection of vines in Bedroom window
Open plan living & dining
Full moon over chalet at night
View to the North during day
Bedroom & artwork
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Russell, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ksn111
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing 360 views with great design getaway.”
Reviewed 17 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The Paroa Bay Chalet was a wonderful beginning to our adventure in New Zealand. Two friends, who love quiet, natural beauty, great design, good food and fresh air spent four amazing nights at the Paroa Bay Chalet. Our drive to Russell was easily accomplished for our daily outings, but we were always happy to return to such a clean sumptuous living space within which to unwind and find some personal space. We walked to the nearby vineyard and took many photos of the shifting atmosphere. We sat on the porch and read, brought yarn arts, and assembled a small puzzle. Away living at it's very best. We watched the stars at night and said hello to the neighboring cows in the morning. Highly recommended, and worthy of the R&R that we so craved on our vacation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloise B
1 review
“A View to die for”
Reviewed 13 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We booked out all three chalets for our wedding. Claire the owner, was more than accomodating right from the start and went out of her way to help us organise for the day, as well as working for us by preparing and serving all the food on the day. She and her husband were just lovely, as all our guests commented, and did a fabulous job with the food.
We wanted a very low key, relaxed kind of wedding - and I think Paroa Bay Chalets suited that perfectly. The chalets themselves are modern and new and well equipped with things that make a big difference such as toys (if you have bubs - which we did), sky tv (if that's your thing), freshly ground coffee (everyone's thing) and views over vineyards, bush and out to the sea in the distance - something I could have gazed at forever.
You feel secluded without feeling isolated.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time, as did our families and cannot thank Claire and her husband enough for turning our vision into a reality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Feb 2018
Hi Eloise and Dom
It was an absolute pleasure and privilege to have you celebrate your marriage at our chalets and we wish you guys all the best for your future together.
Cheers
Claire & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raewyn K
Waipu
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Top Stay”
Reviewed 15 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Loved it. Beautiful views, quiet. Within walking distance to top restaurant. Apartment had everything we required. Would definitely stay again & Clare was lovely to deal with

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2018
Hi Raewyn
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. And yes great to have a top notch restaurant within walking distance.
Cheers
Claire
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GXYS
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ah-mazing”
Reviewed 2 October 2016 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed 2 nights here last year with my parents. Breathtaking view. The chalets were almost brand new and had everything we needed. Comfortable space inside and outside. Very quiet.

I particularly like the floorplan where the two bedrooms are at different ends of thr chalet with the living and dining areas in the middle.

The hosts Clair and Richard were most friendly.

A short drive to Russell town centre where we did the Bay of Islands tour and there were many dining options.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A dream!”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Paroa Bay Chalets for two nights over a weekend and it was absolute bliss!
We arrived late Friday night to find the most amazing chalet, very clean and tidy and with everything you could want! Claire made our arrival so simple with easy to follow instructions on how to get there from Auckland - we were very taken with just how easy and stress free it was to organise this stay!
The location and views were amazing - just absolutely breathtaking. To cap it all off, a beautiful outdoor spa is nestled among the trees for your use and it provides pure relaxation.
All in all, an amazing weekend and stay. We are very grateful for this experience and trust that we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to place a review and yes we very much hope you will be back to.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing