We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
135
52
18
11
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
52
18
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bayview suite grand ballroom victorian suite peacock room ball room smoking room new zealand claw foot bath muesli old house former glory current owners have stately home other guests four poster bed double booking south island
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Well located in a quiet area. It really was a grand old mansion and the exterior is quite magnificent. When we were shown our room on the lower level we were quite disappointed. Apparently little if any effort had gone into trying to maintain the charm of the original house when blocking off this small suite. The decor was somewhat shabby at best. The bedroom/sitting room was fairly large but the only seating was a horribly uncomfortable futon (I suspect it would have been equally uncomfortable to sleep on). The towels were mismatched and thinning, one of them was even disintegrating. The bedding looked/felt low-end. The bathroom contained a fridge and toaster and a chest with drawers that were difficult to open/close - it basically had all the charm of a cheap motel. The proximity of electrical outlets and appliances to the water sources begged the question to us about safety as we could see no GFI's which I thought would be mandatory in such situations.
The dead flies in the corners that were there when we arrived were still there when we left 3 nights later.
Breakfasts were reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Roadees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickFerrier, Owner at Warwick House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback.The room your agent booked for you was was on the ground floor as all the upper suites were already booked . When you book through a third party it is advisable to check what has been booked for you especially if you have special needs.The room you booked is 40 square metes and was renovated to a high spec. level last year.The electrics were completed by a registered health and safety technician and there is a RCD unit in the fridge nook.The bedding was supplied by a local manufacturer and has been thoroughly enjoyed by previous guests.
We wash and LINE dry all of our linen to reduce our impact on the environment and for this reason do not provide extra large bath towels as this would impact on the power and water consumption. Towels are mostly not the same colour which guests have said they like so they can identify their own bath towel. We service the rooms daily and noticed that your lights were usually left on which attracts insects. Having many flowering plants and mature trees on the property means there are also some insects which pollenate the flowers.
Breakfasts in the Grand ballroom are a lovely way to start the day with classical music and candles.
We make the fresh fruit salad using local fruits with homemade yoghurt, homemade muesli, bread and toast, local jams.
A cooked option is also offered ,the herb scrambled eggs being a regular favourite.

We are available to contact from 7am in the morning until 10pm at night - 7 days a week. -
If there is sometime you need at the time you are here, you can let us know immediately.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

We got to the sunniest place in New Zealand at a day where it was raining cats and dogs - very unusual - even the dog would´t leave the B & B the hosts told us. We got our room and loved it as we were able to stay there during the ugly weather and had a great niche for reading, watching TV and just spending time together. Sometimes you have rooms where you immediately get depressions when it´s raining outside. But this place is unique, ancient, cozy and beautifully renovated and decorated. The breakfast in the morning was just wonderful. I love a nice presentation and here it starts with China, Silverware and tiny little flowers on the scrambled or poached eggs. The hosts make the granola muesli themselves and you feel in every tiny bit love and care for what they are doing. Well done. We can highly recommend this boutique hotel. And by the way - if you are on vacation and left your dog behind - you are welcome to take the owners´dog out for a walk. I would have done it, but me and the rain just don´t work together...;-)

Room Tip: We had a room downstairs which we liked a lot but other guests told us that the rooms upstairs are way nicer!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Energyseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickFerrier, Owner at Warwick House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thank you for the lovely comments.
A large old historic home like this does take a lot of love.

Being able to share it with so many appreciative guests is what keeps us going.

Nick and Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

.....you nees to stay here. What a lovely welcome from Daniella. And the propety is so historic and interesting. And very well kept. The room was just amaizing. You must stay here to feel touch of time 100 years ago.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 214anua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised at the overall beauty of Warwick House, both inside and out. Our room was lovely and comfortable with plenty of space. The stunning ballroom was a great place to start the day and meet some of the other guests. Everything was well done, including the breakfast and access to the public rooms. We also appreciated the information from the owners about nearby activities. Definitely a place we would re-visit.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Betsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickFerrier, Owner at Warwick House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Dear Betsy, Thank you for the nice comments is was so nice that you had 4 days here to really see a lot of the lovely Nelson area and be able to relax like a real holiday.
It is always so sad for us when guests arrive 1 night and then have to leave the next day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Spent three nights here with my partner. We were luckily given the go ahead to check in a night early which saved us from the unrelenting rain on the west coast. Greeted by the lovely Nick who talked us through local attractions and a little of the houses history. Our room was beautifully presented and had an old world charm. The house is in a great location, 10 minute walk from town and closer to walks (where you can take the resident puppy for a walk).
Only negatives were all attributed to the age of the house, with noisy plumbing and loud floors waking us a few times, and giving the occasional ant in the room (apparently it was the season for them).
Definitely recommend if you're wanting to stay somewhere with character.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickFerrier, Owner at Warwick House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Hi Daniel,
Many thanks for the review and your nice comments. Great that you guys got out and about and made the most of things here during your 3 nights in Nelson.
We have had such amazing weather here for the last 3 months, but the last week was a bit more challenging. Hope you get back to Nelson again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews