We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Warwick House
Nearby Hotels
Palms Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saxton Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$124
US$121
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Crest Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcadia Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
135
51
18
11
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
51
18
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbayview suitetower roomgrand ballroombay view suitevictorian stylepeacock roomball roomsmoking roommueslinew zealandclaw foot bathold mansionformer gloryfour poster bedother guestssouth islandrestored house
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

My husband and I spent 3 nights in this beautiful Bnb. The owners, Nick and Jenny, couldn't be more welcoming and helpful in every way. We were in the bay view suite and it was quite lovely. Jenny recommended the restaurant Hopgoods and we liked it so much we ate there 2 of the 3 nights. I left a jacket behind that I figured I lost for good. Jenny contacted me and had it sent to my hotel before we left NZ. I would highly recommend staying at the Warwick House. It's a very special place in the careful hands of Jenny and Nick.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickFerrier, Owner at Warwick House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Janice,
It was lovely to have you here and we are very pleased you enjoyed our special Nelson area also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We were treated like royalty at the Warwick House. The hosts Jenny and Nick, were fantastic and the house is amazing. The view from our room, especially the reading nook, was fantastic. Every inch of our suite was furnished with loving care, down to the fresh flowers and the towel warmers in the loo. The breakfast was fantastic and generous and the traveling suggestions they gave us were perfect. I highly recommend staying here!!!

Room Tip: Warwick House is high on a hill and is very quiet. All the rooms have a good view.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgfhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

This Victorian Gothic building was built in 1854 and is the oldest building on the South Island. It looks very impressive as you drive through the gates. There's a small parking area for guests. Advisable to reverse into the bays as getting out could get tricky.

We were welcomed by the owner who has done a very good job in restoring the building to its former glory. He had great pleasure in showing us the ballroom - and rightly so.

There seemed to be a bit of confusion about our room booking possibly because I had booked - and prepaid - through a booking agency months beforehand. In the end, though, we did get a room. Actually it was a suit down stairs to the left of the main entry. There is also a pathway down from the carpark so we were able to use that rather than lugging our suitcases down the steep steps.

There are two suites in the 'wing' we were in with a shared entry area and small kitchen with fridge. Just a very basic kitchen setup.

Our suite had views of the hills from the lounge area with a claw foot bath under the window. Unusual in this day and age but not in times past. And that's the thing to remember with the building. It's old and, like us, the older we get the less well some parts work.

The suite comprises the lounge area with sofa plus there's a small dining table in an alcove with a window seat. There's a separate bathroom with shower, basin and toilet. It was missing a bath mat but we coped.

The separate bedroom contained a lovely comfortable bed and two table lamps.

Two suitcase stands are provided, which was good.

There are also a couple of moveable oil heaters if required.

An eclectic collection of furniture added to the quirky nature of the suite.

Parts look a little tired but all up it was a good place to stay. We stayed for two nights. The room wasn't cleaned or tidied (or bed made) after the first night but not a problem. Just something to be aware of, though.

Hopefully the fact that we prepaid will be noted tomorrow when we check out. Yes, I’m writing this from our suite whilst looking outside at the most on the hills.

Which reminds me, there is free wifi although the connection is a bit weak and tends to freeze on occasions.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gfsc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickFerrier, Owner at Warwick House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for your detailed comments and interesting observations.
We do try to keep the house as authentic as possible so that guests can feel the history and atmosphere of the interesting early Victorian period.
Our apologizes regarding the missed room service, we forgotten to advise our staff of your arrival. Nick and Jenny.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Warwick House. We felt very welcome as soon as we arrived, were treated to a fantastic room (one of the suites) which was spacious, and tastefully decorated with fantastic furniture.
The hosts were extremely friendly and looked after us very well. The breakfast was divine, especially the toasted home made muesli.
Thanks Jenny and Nick for such a relaxing and enjoyable visit. All the best to you both!


Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickFerrier, Owner at Warwick House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Many thanks Jenny, I was nice to have you both here for 2 nights.
Pleased you enjoyed Nelson. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

It was absolutely amazing! We are a young backpacker couple traveling through NZ with less budget. Usually we pay less than 70NZ$ for our hostels but one day we decided to make an exception. Warwick House was such a great choice and it was one of our highlights during our NZ-journey! I want to come back one day!

... the breakfast was also amazing!!!
Thank you so much?

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hendrik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickFerrier, Owner at Warwick House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Many thanks Hendrik, was very nice to have you here.
We have a lot of guests with quite a tight budget who book for a special night with us.
Also a lot of Wedding and Honeymoon nights in our larger rooms.
We enjoy sharing the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews