We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious”
Review of Arcadia Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arcadia Motel
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Clean and spacious”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I mostly appreciated the fact that everything was super clean and it has a kitchenette, again everything, glasses, cups, plates and towels very neat. Also the room was a very decent size. The hotel is close to Tahunanui beach. Nelson center can be reach either by car, 15 min drive, or by foot through a nice hour walk along the coast.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Hi Guys,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. Our apartments do have a nice roomy feel to them with lots of kitchen space and are all extreemly clean and fully equipped. We hope the rest of your vacation in NZ was an enjoyable experience for you and we would be happy to extend our hospitality should you decide to take another trip into Nelson on future holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    61
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
70
91
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washougal, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We stayed at the Arcadia Hotel for three nights. The kitchen was well supplied with utensils. The room was clean and cleaned each day. Dish cloth and dish towels were replaced each day. The owners were very helpful. The room furniture was out dated, but sufficient. The hotel, as many of the hotels in this area, had airplane traffic, but it quit at night. There was unlimited Wi-Fi

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindasColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Hi Linda,

Many thanks for your review. It is nice to know you have found our motel well equipped and very clean. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We are continuing to upgrade the funiture within the appartments and we have just introduced new very comfortable lakewood dining chairs and are currently upgrading new bedside cabinets and headboards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usk UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed at the Arcadia Motel for five nights in a one bedroom apartment. It was lovely, like a home from home. Cooking facilities excellent. Very clean and well stocked with kitchen utensils. We liked the lay out of the units and the courtyard area.
Andy the owner was very helpful and booked a trip to Abel Tasman National Park for us. All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Hi Jane,

Many thanks for your comments and review. It was a pleasure to book you guys in on the Abel Tasman trip, a highly recommended special day out where you always come back with some super pics! Great to know you had a home from home experience here at the Arcadia, which is exactly what we are striving to acheive for all our guests. We hope you enjoyed your NZ experience and are thinking of taking another trip here sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We had a great time living there. The beds were new and very comfortable. The room was very clean. The host was very nice, friendly and helpful. Recommend to everyone if you are looking for a place to stay at Nelson.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tum_Kanlaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Hi Tum,

Thanks for your review and recommendation. Really good to know your found our Super King beds really comfortable. It is most important to give a good nights sleep to our valued guests! Please do not hesitate to give us a call on your next trip into Nelson. We look forward to seeing you guys again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We selected this property for our 3 week New Zealand vacation based upon Trip Advisor reviews and price—trying to find the “sweet spot”. We held all our reviews until the end of the trip in hopes of reasonable comparisons across the country, factoring in the standards we found typical in New Zealand (for example, free, unlimited internet is not the norm as it generally is in the US).

It is located in a neighborhood section of Nelson, at the “beach” end of town rather than downtown. There are 3-4 small hotels in a row and otherwise nothing commercial for several blocks. Most of town is 10 minutes away.

Pro's:
-Friendly host (Andy).
-Very, very clean.
-Well appointed, especially the kitchen which was larger than most.
-Free internet in room, although it was very spotty for us, even with a 4-bar signal.

Con's:
-Only happens once or twice a day, yet you are in the flight path for the airport.
-Tiny pool, if that's improtant to you.
-A bit expensive when compared to the dozen or so comparable places we stayed in New Zealand.

Overall, just fine. Clean and reliable.

Room Tip: The rooms across the back of the property back up to a campground. Those along the main leg of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJVLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millener, Owner at Arcadia Motel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Hi Guys,

Many thanks for your views. It is super to know that you have found our motel very clean and tidy and our kitchens were well equipped and of a good size. We were happy to offer you free Wifi. Our summer season tariffs are very competiive in Nelson and also do include our added xtras such as Wifi and Sky Guest Select.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
2.8 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
3.5 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
3.2 km away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#13 of 41 in Nelson
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
4.2 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
667 reviews
0.9 km away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#18 of 41 in Nelson
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Motel

Property: Arcadia Motel
Address: 36 Golf Road | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arcadia Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arcadia is a beautiful, quiet motel with an off-street courtyard situated only 500m from Tahuna Beach, 1km to the Nelson Links Golf Course and a short walk to excellent local cafes, bars and restaurants. We have 12 fully equipped spacious units ranging from studio to 1 & 2 bedroom family apartments. All units have Luxury Sleepyhead beds, full kitchen and bathroom facilities, High Definition MY SKY TV in each apartment with Record, Pause, Rewind features! Dont miss your favorite shows! Progressive DVD players, Truly Free Unlimited Hi-Speed Fibre WiFi access for all guests. IPod Docks and off-street parking. Relax by the solar-heated pool or experience the many cultural and adventure attractions that Nelson offers. Walk or mountain bike to the center of New Zealand or Rabbit Island and enjoy the spectacular views. Visit the weekend market and pick up something special. Founders Park and the Japanese Gardens are great places to relax with the family. Nelson - your stepping stone to the Abel Tasman National Park, Rainbow Ski Field and Marlborough Sounds. Arcadia Motel - your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arcadia Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing