We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Most appallingly filthy hotel. Carpets disgusting, shower full of mold. To top it off the wifi didn't work and the staff were rude and unhelpful. Do Not Stay There. Awful way to end a lovely holiday. If it hadn't been so late at night I would have left

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lesleyann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShalendP_11, Front Office Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments about the standard of maintenance. This is of a major concern to me. You can see by our other reviews that we take great pride in our property standards – we invest a lot of time and money to ensure our building remains spick and span. I have addressed your concerns with our Maintenance Manager and will follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property. It is disappointing to hear that our standards were not up to par. It would be helpful in rectifying the problem for future guests if you could provide me with your room number. My email is – Kiwi.reservations@vrhotels.co.nz.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent. Perfect for what we required. Easy to get to and great parking. Rooms were clean and spacious. With kitchenette and nice bathroom. There is a bar and restaurant on site. Short drive from airport and easy drive to onehunga and Sylvia park. Warm and comfortable. Thanks

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank boysmum123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShalendP_11, Front Office Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best part of our one night stay here was the beds: comfy, clean and with soft, new, bedding. Other apsects of the hotel could do with some refurbishment and repair. The single-glazing does not screen traffic noise out adequately, especially the regular arrival and departure through the night of the airport shuttle bus which crunched over the disintegrating tarmac outside the hotel door. There was black mould in our shower and the bathroom vanity unit had water damage. Our suite was spacious but a bit bleak, without pictures or ornaments. There were no bedside lights. In one bedroom the lighting was too low to read by and in the other the one ceiling light that could be turned off from the bed didn't work. There was also no bathrrom plug. When we drew the attention of reception to the dud light and missing plug, we were met with a nervous smile and no offer to fix things; we got the sense that this situation was neither new nor unique to our suite. Later we found that although there was an in-room tray for making tea and coffee, no teaspoons were provided.

We would not recommend eating an evening meal here even though there is no other restaurant in the vacinity. The food was disappointing. We ordered steak and 'fish of the day', both with chips. The chips were good but the steak unexpetedly came smothered in an unappetising, glutinous, brown sauce. The fish had been described by the waitress as 'pan-fried'; it turned out to be a breaded fillet deep-fried from frozen.

The staff do not seem to be a happy team. The only spontaneous smile we got was from the cleaner. The reception staff seemed anxious and not at ease. The haughty service in the restaurant was unwelcoming.

There is a free shuttle bus to the hotel from the airport. On the return trip there's a charge of 2 NZD per person. The return trip was slower than the frst one and took 40 minutes.

The same management provide a motel and a back-packers' hostel on the same site. For the price we were paying, we had expected hotel standards but did not get them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road outside and not over reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravellingGirl2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShalendP_11, Front Office Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here the night before an early morning flight to Sydney and used the special offer to leave the car whilst I was away. The room was clean & comfortable and exceeded my expectations for a reasonably moderately priced motel. The half hourly shuttle service on the yellow bus worked well both to and from the airport (make sure you get a ticket from reception) the core test of any place would I stay again - well yes most definately as long as the price was this reasonable

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nich0lasp0well
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShalendP_11, Front Office Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room I thought I had chosen wasn't the one I got (which was the reason I wanted to stay there in the first place), I would recommend ringing also to make sure your room choice is correct. The room we ended up with was fine, even though I had no hand towel and there were two red taps which made it confusing to know which was hot and which was cold. Being charged $20 for early check in seems unnecessary. No lift was a pain because we had a lot of luggage. The room view was very ugly (old workshop). The reception lady was rude and not helpful at all, her tone was short, sharp and lacked empathy. I will NOT be returning there again.

Room Tip: Not a room facing ugly workshop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShalendP_11, Front Office Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ramari S,

Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less that top notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not usual for our hotel.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mangere hotels
3.7 km away
Ibis budget Auckland Airport
1.5 km away
Jet Park Hotel & Conference Centre
4.3 km away
Novotel Auckland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Auckland Airport
2.4 km away
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
2.2 km away
Sudima Auckland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel

Address: 150 Mckenzie Road, Mangere, Auckland 2022, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mangere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Mangere
Price Range: €65 - €132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel is a 52 room 3 star hotel that is located within a 5 minute drive to Auckland Domestic and International Airport. The hotel specialises in looking after guests by offering clean, great value accommodation with little value added free extras such as:* Free Parking for 10 days* Free Shuttle pick ups ONLY from the airport* Airport drop offs $2.00 per person. Free Light Continental breakfast per person on particular room types per night of stay. We are your perfect choice for a night before a flight out, or just the start of your journey within New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel Mangere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing