We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn on Main Hervey Bay(Pialba)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Main Street Motel(Hervey Bay)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Hervey Bay(Hervey Bay)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$100
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akama Resort(Hervey Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Hervey Bay(Hervey Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
334
100
23
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
100
23
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscinema roomfree breakfastwine and cheesethe kitchenfraser islandflash packersbig walkshuttle busthe east coastcommon areasfantastic hostelbed female dormprivate roomno air concommon roomshuttle servicetea coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This is by far one of the best hostels ive been to. It is run by a vey nice couple who are so welcoming and will help you out with anything. Rooms are standard. But common area is great. Nice big and clean kitchen. Great patio with a pool. Very comfortable living area. If i ever came back to hevey bay, id stay here without question. Very helpful with booking tours and buses as well. Very friendly and amazing people! Highly reccomend!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This hostel was the best hostel I've stayed during my whole trip. Free very good breakfast (toast, cereals, tee, coffee), free wifi, pool etc etc.
The staff was very friendly and they really care about you and do everything to make your stay as nice as possible. They really love their job.
We stayed two nights in two different rooms. The first one $25 was okay but nothing special. The second one was renovated for $28 and it's really worth it to spend $3 more. Huge shower, nice beds, 2 pillows.. BUT no AC!
I strongly recommend that hostel - we had a great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophia92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

In 5 months of travel, we have not stayed anywhere so friendly, comfortable and impressive as Flashpackers! Bill and his wife Lynn go out of their way to make you feel at home and well looked after - thank you so much guys! Bill was really helpful and honest when it came to booking trips. The place itself is beautiful, we hardly left the hostel as it had everything we needed - gorgeous pool and outside decking area, amazingly clean and new communal kitchen and chill out area (really comfy, huge sofa area), great free wifi and cinema. Rooms with ensuite makes such a difference. The BBQ on Friday night was brilliant - such a good laugh! Didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Four bed dorms weren't even bunks, just single beds - really nice!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Flashpackers is not your ordinary hostel, the facilities and service are second to none and the team goes over and above to make sure your stay is comfortable.

Highlights were:

- Free high speed WiFi internet access
- Great cinema room with a good selection of films. (It's PC based so you can watch your own movies from USB Flash Drive too)
- Large and clean swimming pool
- Clean linen and towels provided
- Free Breakfast
- Small 4/6 Person dorms and private double rooms available.
- Massive seating area and large, well stocked kitchen.
- BBQ
- Free Bus Service

Fans are supplied in each room and although there is no A/C option at the moment, (apparently it's coming and the wiring is already done), you can always stand in the huge walk-in fridge!

If you're looking to do Fraser Island, then go with the tour from Dropbear Adventures who have a deal with Flashpackers which includes accommodation. Dropbear's tour is probably the best experience you can have on Fraser and run by two guys (Mark & John) who know the island completely, I saw a lot of other tours providing Cup Noodles for dinner, we had steak and seafood we caught ourselves!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IGavinAnks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The first mention in this review has to go to Warwick the owner who is one of the most friendly and helpful people I've met. The hostel itself is nice and spacious and the rooms have good showers. The lack of air con is just about tolerable with an electric fan but not a major issue at all. The facilities are more than adequate and I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcuff1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews