We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel in Oz!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, either side of our tourof Fraser Island and both thought the hostel was the bes we had stayed in over our months holiday in Oz! On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and everything was explained and showed to us etc. We were very pleasantly surprised straight off as the photos dont do the place jusitce. The whole place is is perfect condition, all brand new and with loads of room, excellent cooking facilities, so clean, amaxing big comfy couches to lounge on, cinema, and excellent wireless. The out door area is awesome with loads of decking, cool chairs hanging from the roof and the most gorgeous pool and gardens to lay out in! We stayed ina double room which was like a hotel room.. all brand new ikea furniture with the comfiest bed.. the hostel had anice felign to it during the day and evening but was very quiet at night which was excellent as we were up early for our trip! I would reccomend this hostel to everyone and anyone looking for soemwhere in hervery bay.. the location is also excellent and the free breakfast is an added bonus as the prices are very reasonable! Stay here if in Hervery Bay!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for Flashpackers Hervey Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 367 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2012

This is by far one of the best hostels ive been to. It is run by a vey nice couple who are so welcoming and will help you out with anything. Rooms are standard. But common area is great. Nice big and clean kitchen. Great patio with a pool. Very comfortable living area. If i ever came back to hevey bay, id stay here without question. Very helpful with booking tours and buses as well. Very friendly and amazing people! Highly reccomend!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This hostel was the best hostel I've stayed during my whole trip. Free very good breakfast (toast, cereals, tee, coffee), free wifi, pool etc etc.
The staff was very friendly and they really care about you and do everything to make your stay as nice as possible. They really love their job.
We stayed two nights in two different rooms. The first one $25 was okay but nothing special. The second one was renovated for $28 and it's really worth it to spend $3 more. Huge shower, nice beds, 2 pillows.. BUT no AC!
I strongly recommend that hostel - we had a great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophia92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

In 5 months of travel, we have not stayed anywhere so friendly, comfortable and impressive as Flashpackers! Bill and his wife Lynn go out of their way to make you feel at home and well looked after - thank you so much guys! Bill was really helpful and honest when it came to booking trips. The place itself is beautiful, we hardly left the hostel as it had everything we needed - gorgeous pool and outside decking area, amazingly clean and new communal kitchen and chill out area (really comfy, huge sofa area), great free wifi and cinema. Rooms with ensuite makes such a difference. The BBQ on Friday night was brilliant - such a good laugh! Didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Four bed dorms weren't even bunks, just single beds - really nice!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Flashpackers is not your ordinary hostel, the facilities and service are second to none and the team goes over and above to make sure your stay is comfortable.

Highlights were:

- Free high speed WiFi internet access
- Great cinema room with a good selection of films. (It's PC based so you can watch your own movies from USB Flash Drive too)
- Large and clean swimming pool
- Clean linen and towels provided
- Free Breakfast
- Small 4/6 Person dorms and private double rooms available.
- Massive seating area and large, well stocked kitchen.
- BBQ
- Free Bus Service

Fans are supplied in each room and although there is no A/C option at the moment, (apparently it's coming and the wiring is already done), you can always stand in the huge walk-in fridge!

If you're looking to do Fraser Island, then go with the tour from Dropbear Adventures who have a deal with Flashpackers which includes accommodation. Dropbear's tour is probably the best experience you can have on Fraser and run by two guys (Mark & John) who know the island completely, I saw a lot of other tours providing Cup Noodles for dinner, we had steak and seafood we caught ourselves!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IGavinAnks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hervey Bay hotels
2.2 km away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
4.9 km away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,955 reviews
0.3 km away
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay, Fraser Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
4.6 km away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#7 of 23 in Hervey Bay
594 reviews
1.8 km away
Tower Court Motel Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flashpackers Hervey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flashpackers Hervey Bay

Address: 195 Torquay Tce, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Hervey Bay
Price Range: €19 - €51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flashpackers Hervey Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Flashpackers Hervey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing