We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
122
91
17
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
91
17
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa baththe main roadstate highwayroad noiselight sleeperovernight stopwhale watchingfull kitchenswimming poolwould definitely stay here againtown centrecontinental breakfastroom was spacioussouth islandmotelkitchenettesh1
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018

We stayed at the Gateway Motor Lodge in Kaikoura for two nights. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The owners were extremely helpful when we ran into a potential problem involving intercity coach schedules, calling our travel agent (we did not have a phone) several times to make sure we had the correct pickup time.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mitch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

We had an upstairs 2 bedroom apartment which was quite spacious and with a full kitchen and nice balcony with a great view of the mountains. Everywhere was very clean and beds comfortable. Nice big bathroom and shower cubicle. The complex is well maintained including the swimming pool. Ample parking and just a short walk into town, either across the park (though it is a steep climb back up this way) or via the path alongside the main road. The motel is located on the SH1 so be prepared for some road noise during the day. Jeff and Kathy were very friendly and helpful. Thank you for everything.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank streetcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Our room was dated but spacious and the owners were very friendly and accommodating (they loaned me a phone charger as I left mine at the last stop).
The location is not bad but if we went to Kaikoura again I would prefer to stay on the Main Street, closer to the beach.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank teenlancett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

We had a big family room with a kitchen and ground floor parking. Super convenient for walking into town and very clean. Does the job but does not have that much character. But hey, you’re there to be outdoors, right?

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank ghanbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for our honeymoon and had a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable stay. The owners were very friendly and went out of their way to help us with all our needs as did the rest of staff. We were in a spa unit which we found modern, warm and comfortable and the spa was great at the end of a busy day. Well worth the money this place has great views and is handy to central Kaikoura, an easy walk. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend. Thank you for wonderful honeymoon accommodation.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RachelE2197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews