We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wacky Stays(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bay Cottages Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Barnacle Bills(Kaikoura)
US$92
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
121
91
16
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
91
16
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa baththe main roadstate highwaymodern motelroad noiselight sleeperovernight stopfull kitchenwhale watchingswimming poolwould definitely stay here againbars and restaurantstown centrecouple of nightsfirst floorcontinental breakfastmin walk
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Great view from the units upstairs. Free internet at great speed. The parking is very good and you have your car in sight all times. The owners very friendly and the helpful. All the amenities were working well. Only thing which was a bit annoying was the stairs very noisy when people going upstairs at night. But over all a great experience and will definitely stay again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We were running late on our road trip the day we were meant to check in and the staff stayed after hours so we could check in. Close to everything you might need. The room was wonderful, very clean and a great size.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Hospitality from Karl and his partner was great but the noise from people going up the stairs was a pain. Room was very warm and bed was a dream. Wet rooms may be easy for cleaning but leaves water everywhere in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Choose a unit away from the stairs
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank postmanpat39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

The motel located about 10 minutes walking distance from the town area. We like the view of beautiful snow cover mountain from motel. The owners are friendly and helpful. The room in good condition and clean with comfortable bed. stable wifi and strong shower water pressure. Many parking space on site. The room with full kitchen but not allow to cook seafood and curry. I think it is acceptable because seafood and curry have strong smell. We were stayed near the main road just in front of the reception office, but didn't feel noisy. recommend to stay this motel.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank sheacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

The lodge is situated a short walk from Town and has ample parking. Bedding and towels were good quality and clean. The kitchenette was clean and well equipped. The kitchen blind was dirty.
The main issue for me was the smell of stale urine which seemed to be embedded in the fabric of the room. I did mention this and could have asked to move room but did not wish to spend time moving possessions at the time. The owners are great and I now wish I had moved. The seating isn't the most comfortable being bucket chairs but were bearable for the short amount of time spent in the room. My advice would be to avoid room 8 until it is thoroughly cleaned which I am sure the owners will wish to do.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at the back.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rowever15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBH, Owner at Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

Dear Guest.
We as owners and three of our cleaning staff checked twice for the odour in the room you had mentioned to us. None of us could detect any unpleasant smells.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews