We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh amazing!”
Review of Dolphin Encounter

Dolphin Encounter
Ranked #1 of 27 Tours in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Swim with the dolphins in their natural environment or watch their acrobatic displays form the comfort of the boat.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oh amazing!”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This was truly amazing!! Well worth getting up for the 5.30am departure. The day before our trip there had been strong winds & a very heavy sea, fortunately this had passed but had also left the water a bit murky. But in saying this it was still spectacular. We swam with a group of about 200 dusky dolphins.... well my husband & the other swimmers did. Unfortunately the deep water got to me and I only lasted in the water for a short time but the dolphins were so inquisitive. Swimming around investigating everyone, leaping & diving in & out of the water. It was the most wonderful morning, even if I did look like the blimp bobbing about on the ocean!!

The crew were very attentive & knowledgeable & friendly. Thank you so much guys we had a great time

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suz2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinEncounter, Front Office Manager at Dolphin Encounter, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Kia Ora
Thank you for taking the time to review our Dolphin Encounter! Good to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed the tour! Sounds like you had some good numbers of dolphins out there! Safe Travels, Encounter Kaikoura team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    915
    65
    16
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Out of this world and into theirs!”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Absolutely amazing. Boat ride out is so scenic! Booked it as a present for my sister and Dad and made the booking for the month previous. Arrived at the desk and was devastated to find out that there were no places left! The girl at the counter was amazing and managed to get us on the afternoon trip-I could have kissed her but it would have been weird for her! So we swapped around a few things and went on wings over whales in the morning-absolutely fantastic also- saw a sperm whale, then the pilot took us for a spin and showed us a pod of dolphins- there were hundreds and that is when we realised what we were in for! The dolphins were amazing, the water cold for the first few mins but due to the top class gear you are supplied-no problem! Best experience in the south island! Love love loved it! Thank you so much for fitting us in-super company!

Helpful?
1 Thank irelandais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinEncounter, Front Office Manager at Dolphin Encounter, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Kia Ora!
Thank you for lovely review! Great to hear we got you out on board and things worked out well! Your description "Out of this world and into theirs" is brilliant! Very appropriate! Hope to see you back again soon one day!
Encounter Kaikoura Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic operation!”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Professional staff who really take care of you from beginning to end. A young girl kindly helped my slight daughter with her wetsuit so she would be comfortable -- she ended up having to wear two wetsuits, one atop the other. Great idea!! They staff was very adept in dealing with motion sickness and making everyone feel comfortable. The others in my group, who were not sick, had an unforgettable experience swimming with hundreds of dolphins. If you are prone to seasickness, make sure you take something to abate it before you go out.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler_1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinEncounter, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin Encounter, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us we really appreciate it and top tip on the sea sickness! We do opearate on a very exposed coastline here!

We do see Trip Advisor as our online guestbook so it's great to hear what people think and we love reading that our clients have had a great time! All thanks goes to the incredible duskies here in Kaikoura! It is a delight to read too that we were able to keep your daughter warm (ish!) and that you felt well cared for by the crew! Thanks again! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best wildlife experience swimming with hundreds of dolphins”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Awesome activity in Kaikoura area. While we were on a whale watching outing we witnessed the largest gathering of dolphins we had ever seen. We learned we could snorkel with them and booked it for the next day. We donned wetsuits at 5:30am and rode to the boats with about 20 others. Once on the water we saw the sun rise at 6:45( cool of itself) and the crew spotted a few dolphins swimming together. Into the chilly water we plunged and we started to learn about swimming with these amazing creatures. We had to reload and disembark a couple more times as the captain had to chase larger pods. The third time was the charm as a gathering of at least250 dolphins became quite interested in us. I had as many as 5 dolphins circling and investigating me for minutes at a time. They would swim away and another group would come into view. This went on for over 40 minutes at which point we had to reload to go back to the base. Well worth the early wake up, the $$'s, and the cold water. Best thing we did in that area!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank joncra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinEncounter, Front Office Manager at Dolphin Encounter, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Kia Ora
Thank you for such a lovely review! Sounds like you had a great tour and some very good numbers also! We agree that the 5.30am tour is worth getting up early for, our sea conditions are often the better ones and you often get that great sunrise!
Safe travels and hopefully we will see you again one day! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great staff coped well with motion sickness”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

di this trip on a very rough day and as a result 3/4 of the passengers were suffering from motion sickness and the staff did a stirling job.
we saw 200-300 dolphins and even stopped the boat to see some albatroses as some of the passengers had expressed an interest in this.
we did the dolphin swim and although it was nice to be in the water with them on this day the water was quite murky and rough and the dolphins didnt seem too intersted in us. it was more fun watching them interact with each other from the boat.
the people at dolphin encounter were proffesional and informative and the tour itself was very slick.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank katiedarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinEncounter, Front Office Manager at Dolphin Encounter, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Kia Ora Katie
Thank you for your review! Sorry to hear you got a bit sea sick, we do operate on a very exposed area of coastline. Im pleased to read that the sea crew were most accommodating with people feeling unwell. Sounds like you had some good numbers out there that day!
All the best and safe travels, Encounter Kaikoura Crew :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Encounter also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Dolphin Encounter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing