We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
58
83
39
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
83
39
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseal colonyan upper level roomgreat view from roompier hotelthe kitchenquiet roadacross the roadsnowy mountainsminute walksmall balconyvery pleasant staykaikoura rangeseasy accessstayed here for two nightstown centrecooking facilitiescatfish
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2017

The motel has good views across the bay and receives good afternoon sun. It's a short stroll from the excellent Pier Hotel. It does everything adequately. There is a reasonable amount of road noise, though that didn't disturb our sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Otupaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Travelled to Kaikoura for a weekend staying at Panorama Motel. Beautiful outlook across the bay over to the snowy mountains, very peaceful. The facilities in the room were very adequate and clean. Bed comfortable. Pier Hotel 200 metres down the road, and an approx 2k walk around to the seals. Would choose this motel again if every staying in Kaikoura. Kaikoura was very quiet due to the road closures etc, but our trip from Christchurch was hassle free with only a short delay of maybe 15 minutes. Was great to support Kaikoura shops, motel and restaurants. Keep on keeping on Kaikoura.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Viv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

went and stayed during march, very clean units, well set out. also got very friendly service. had a wonderful 10 days. thanks we will be back. motel was close to everything we needed. walking distance to restaurants. enjoy our stay and helping out kaikoura during the rise up from the quakes. we live in chch and know the heartache.Kia kaha

Room Tip: we were on the second floor loved it.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ginnys38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

First, Jan was a great host. With the closing of the roads she sent me detailed directions on how to get there. And wow! Kaikoura is amazing...and the Panaroma offers the best view in town. Overlooking the harbor with the mountains in the background...was amazing. especially in the morning, watching all light up. The room was nice (#204) on the second floor. Large, comfortable and clean. the motel is walking distance to the Pier Hotel where you can get great food, a pint and a great view. Was going to stay for 2 nights...stayed for 3. As I was driving Kaikoura and looking at the location of all the other spots...this one is best...

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. Only downstairs rooms were available due to safety inspection restrictions. Upstairs should be available anytime now. A clean and comfortable room with a fantastic view from the patio. Easy access and a short walk to best restaurant in town. You can pick the tide level by the aroma, but the price you pay for being just across the road.

Room Tip: I think every room offers exceptional view across the bay.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hydrographer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews