We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with this choice between Christchurch and the glaciers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beachfront Hotel Hokitika
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Hokitika
Reviewed 16 October 2017

If you're driving between Christchurch and the glaciers and need a place to stay then I would recommend staying in Hokitika, and the Beachfront Hotel is a great option. It is in a convenient location with a supermarket across the road, and the rooms are simple yet comfortable. The west coast of NZ can get wet and cold, but the rooms have heating and provide a nice respite. In-room dining from the Ocean View Restaurant is available and the food options are decent.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jc300917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking time to review the hotel in regards to your recent stay.

I am pleased to hear that you found the location convenient and that the features of the bathroom and the dining facilities exceeded your expectatios.

We look forward to seeing you soon here again

Regards
Oytun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

Sadly couldn't get a room in the beach facing wing but still enjoyed our stay. The service was great. The room was spacious and comfortable. Great location in terms of finding a place to eat and a minute walk to the beach, which is where we enjoyed our breakfast. Wouldn't say it is a 5-star hotel but still very good.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Regards
Oytun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

I only stayed here one night, on a business trip, and really enjoyed it. Rooms in the wing facing the beach have a great outlook, especially of the sunset! The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The restaurant delivers a very good buffet breakfast, complete with barista coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the wing facing the beach, for the sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.
I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel as the best in Hokitika and that the view and the features of the rooms were great along with the positive feedback about the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards
Oytun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We enjoyed our stay here, our room was fantastic, heated floor in bathroom, very cosy, great bath also. The meals were fantastic, 2 and 3 course dinners and fabulous breakfasts. One problem is you have to walk outside to get to restaurant and if raining you get wet!

Room Tip: We were on ground floor overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kandeb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel in regards to your recent stay.

It was great welcoming you all back to the hotel again and I am very pleased to hear that you found the room features above your expectations with bathroom being the cosy one. I will certainly share your feedback with the chef for the quality of the food.
As for the access to the restaurant, we are certainly planning to remedy this area in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Regards
Oytun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
161
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

We chose this hotel for our one night stop over to break the drive between Nelson and Franz Josef. We had a twin room which we found spacious and quite comfortable. Although refurbished - the decor is a bit dated. However the shower was fantastic!

For a one night stop over this hotel is suitable.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oytun C, General Manager at Beachfront Hotel Hokitika, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking time to share your feedback in regards to your recent stay.

I am glad to hear that you found the room spacious and comfortable. Quick note to advise that the refurbishment of our rooms in the superior room category were completed last year.

We hope to see you soon again in the near future.

Regards
Oytun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hokitika hotels
0.4 km away
Bella Vista Motel Hokitika
12.5 km away
Awatuna Homestead
Awatuna Homestead
#1 of 1 in Awatuna
63 reviews
0.9 km away
Fitzherbert Court Motel
Fitzherbert Court Motel
#9 of 10 in Hokitika
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Shining Star Beachfront Accommodation
1.3 km away
Annabelle Motel
Annabelle Motel
#2 of 10 in Hokitika
270 reviews
0.4 km away
Jade Court Motor Lodge
Jade Court Motor Lodge
#5 of 10 in Hokitika
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Hotel Hokitika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Hotel Hokitika

Address: 111 Revell Street, Hokitika 7810, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Hokitika
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hokitika
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hokitika
Price Range: €94 - €297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beachfront Hotel Hokitika 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning Beachfront Hotel Hokitika located by the beach and in the central of Hokitika offering wide range of accommodation from 28 luxury, modern and spacious Ocean View Rooms overlooking Tasman Sea, to 23 newly refurbished Driftwood superior rooms to 2 & 3 bedroom suites or The Magnificent Penthouse. Newly refurbished Ocean View Restaurant with its sleek and contemporary design overlooking Tasman Sea offering daily breakfast, dinner (A La Carte, Buffet and Set Menu Options) Central location to Pancake rocks, Shantytown, Gold panning, art galleries featuring jade, wood, ruby rock, gold, glass, Fox and Franz Joseph Glaciers as well as numerous rainforest walks and cycle trails. * Free WIFI, * Free Parking, * Laundry service, * Bike storage, * Free Netflix (Only in Penthouse) * Bottle Store on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beachfront Hotel Hokitika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hokitika Beachfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing