We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and warm hostel, friendly hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Global Village Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Global Village Backpackers was a great place to stay – friendly hosts, clean, warm, free wi-fi and not to mention the interesting decor! My personal highlight would be the free bike hire as it made Greymouth so much more accessible without a car. The host even dropped me off at the train station for free when I left.

Thanks very much for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mrspidernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

I've stayed in many hostels throughout the world and this is one of the best I've ever stayed in. The hostel is very clean and cosy, with a fantastic travel-themed decor. The staff are very friendly and give good recommendations for things to do in the area. The beds are very comfortable, each with a socket and light.

Cannot recommend highly enough

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jan94nev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

We found ourselves passing through Greymouth and what luck we happened upon Global Village. This is the best hostel we stayed at during our NZ trip, possibly our entire travels! Our private room had two comfortable beds, fun decor, plenty of lighting and outlets. The kitchen was so well equipped we were able to cook dinner and breakfast easily. Really a gem of a place, if you are in Greymouth, stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bcary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

This was far and away the best hostel I've ever stayed in! It was incredibly clean and comfortable. The two people working there were very friendly and helpful. And the room setup was as good as can be for a 6-bed bunk room. I stayed in the female only room, which was a lovely change from hearing guys snore in other hostels. The bed was comfy and as I was in the top bunk, I really appreciate the little shelf for belongings on the wall and individual light for reading. The kitchen has everything you could want and the female-only bathroom was clean with nice showers. Only stayed for one night so did not take advantage of the amenities, but the common space was comfortable and wifi worked well. Would highly recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Global Village has a really nice feel to it. Great travel memorabilia is part of the decor. Very clean and plenty of room and utensils etc for cooking. Very nice clean room and the bathrooms were also very clean. Nice dining area and lounge area.

Room Tip: Not sure as we only stayed one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.7 km away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 19 in Greymouth
203 reviews
1.5 km away
Greymouth Seaside Top 10 Holiday Park
1.3 km away
Noah's Ark Backpackers
Noah's Ark Backpackers
#4 of 13 in Greymouth
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 19 in Greymouth
323 reviews
0.2 km away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 19 in Greymouth
360 reviews
2.2 km away
North Shore B&B
North Shore B&B
#2 of 16 in Greymouth
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Village Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Village Backpackers

Address: 42-54 Cowper Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Greymouth
Price Range: €37 - €68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Village Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Global Village Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing