We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Global Village Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2016

I seldom write reviews but I really want to give a 5 star to Global Village. Stayed for two nights, Russell and Yurie are amazing host together with the staff members. They provide me honest and useful advise, I was picked up from the train station afternoon and I was planning to rent a car the next day to check out pancake rocks but Russell suggested me to do it in the same day because the weather on the following days will be rainy. I am glad I did what he suggested.
And I really like the artistic interior. Clean comfortable and they have a complete facilities

Room Tip: I stayed at 4 bedroom number 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2016

Globally themed rooms with cozy communal living space and kitchen. They have a hot tub that you can use privately for $5NZD. Water probably could stand to be changed, but felt good on a cold day nonetheless. I'd recommend Global Village. Short walk to grocery and restaurants/bars.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicholas49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

This was the best organised hostel that I have ever stayed in. Everything seemed to have been thought out maticulously. They have a variety of room types, common areas and a well equipped kitchen. Although there isnt tons to do in Greymouth, I imagine a lot of people stick around just because they like the place and the atmosphere so much.

Room Tip: i stayed in a double private and found it very nice, no complaints.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank Darrah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

This was the first hostel where I saw grey nomads! People cleaned after themselves and wiped the counter top! The door to the dorm rooms didn't slam! Free tea, coffee, and I think there was sugar in the kitchen.

Free kayak and bike rental. Laundry is 2nzd per load and there are plenty of clothesline to dry stuff. I camped for 2 nights at 18nzd per night and it was easy to put in tent hooks. Sandflies weren't a problem, but the mosquitos were in the yard. Then I moved into a 6 person dorm, and I paid 26nzd (or 24nzd, can't remember) with a BBH card, but no discount for camping. The beds were solid, and the room was nicely decorated.

The owners clean with the WWOOFers and I think this is one of the reasons why this place is so spic-n-span. The place is eclectic, but tastefully decorated. I found it very easy to socialize. There's not a lot of space to sit in the dining area, so it forces you to socialize :) The lounge is a better spot for those who don't want to socialize. Free and unlimited wifi.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HarryTheHairyHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed for a few nights at Global Village as the calm of autumn replaced the crowds of summer. There's lots of attention to detail at this place -- the kitchen is well-organized and the spacious dorms have ample storage space.

Brightly-painted woodcarvings from Malawi decorate the walls, and are for sale at the front desk; all profits benefit humanitarian causes in the area of each item's creation.

This hostel is more of a sanctuary than a social space. The lounge, incredibly comfy with Wi-Fi and a warm fire, will help you unwind after a long bush walk. It's a bit easier to meet people in the kitchen or TV room. You can spend a day or two using the free bikes and kayaks to do some budget exploring.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank elqueanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greymouth hotels
0.7 km away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 19 in Greymouth
203 reviews
1.5 km away
Greymouth Seaside Top 10 Holiday Park
1.3 km away
Noah's Ark Backpackers
Noah's Ark Backpackers
#4 of 13 in Greymouth
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 19 in Greymouth
323 reviews
0.2 km away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 19 in Greymouth
360 reviews
2.2 km away
North Shore B&B
North Shore B&B
#4 of 17 in Greymouth
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Global Village Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Village Backpackers

Address: 42-54 Cowper Street, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Greymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Greymouth
Price Range: €37 - €80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Global Village Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Global Village Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing