We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
195
34
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
34
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafrican themethe kitchenfree kayaks and bikesthemed decorfantastic decorhot tubstayed longerhomely feeldouble roomlovely gardengreat kitchenlounge areathe ownertrain stationfree wifia great place to staystayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Globally themed rooms with cozy communal living space and kitchen. They have a hot tub that you can use privately for $5NZD. Water probably could stand to be changed, but felt good on a cold day nonetheless. I'd recommend Global Village. Short walk to grocery and restaurants/bars.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nicholas49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

This was the best organised hostel that I have ever stayed in. Everything seemed to have been thought out maticulously. They have a variety of room types, common areas and a well equipped kitchen. Although there isnt tons to do in Greymouth, I imagine a lot of people stick around just because they like the place and the atmosphere so much.

Room Tip: i stayed in a double private and found it very nice, no complaints.
Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank Darrah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

This was the first hostel where I saw grey nomads! People cleaned after themselves and wiped the counter top! The door to the dorm rooms didn't slam! Free tea, coffee, and I think there was sugar in the kitchen.

Free kayak and bike rental. Laundry is 2nzd per load and there are plenty of clothesline to dry stuff. I camped for 2 nights at 18nzd per night and it was easy to put in tent hooks. Sandflies weren't a problem, but the mosquitos were in the yard. Then I moved into a 6 person dorm, and I paid 26nzd (or 24nzd, can't remember) with a BBH card, but no discount for camping. The beds were solid, and the room was nicely decorated.

The owners clean with the WWOOFers and I think this is one of the reasons why this place is so spic-n-span. The place is eclectic, but tastefully decorated. I found it very easy to socialize. There's not a lot of space to sit in the dining area, so it forces you to socialize :) The lounge is a better spot for those who don't want to socialize. Free and unlimited wifi.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HarryTheHairyHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed for a few nights at Global Village as the calm of autumn replaced the crowds of summer. There's lots of attention to detail at this place -- the kitchen is well-organized and the spacious dorms have ample storage space.

Brightly-painted woodcarvings from Malawi decorate the walls, and are for sale at the front desk; all profits benefit humanitarian causes in the area of each item's creation.

This hostel is more of a sanctuary than a social space. The lounge, incredibly comfy with Wi-Fi and a warm fire, will help you unwind after a long bush walk. It's a bit easier to meet people in the kitchen or TV room. You can spend a day or two using the free bikes and kayaks to do some budget exploring.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank elqueanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

During my two week trip on the South Island this was definetly the best hostel I stayed in. Very friendly staff, a nice kitchen, a cosy lounge area and quality beds. In addition they have free bikes and Kayaks to use. The hostel just has a very personal feeling which is really awesome!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Rutger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews