We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Coleraine(Greymouth)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$107
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paroa Hotel(Greymouth)
Book now, pay at stay
US$108
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greymouth Seaside Top 10 Holiday Park(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$48
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duke Hostel(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$38
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
US$94
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundowner Motel(Greymouth)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$94
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$88
US$83
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
194
34
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
34
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafrican themethe kitchenmovie roomfree kayaks and bikesmusical instrumentsthemed decorfantastic decorhot tubstayed longerone nightdorm roomlovely gardenhomely feelgreat kitchenlounge areathe ownertrain station
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2015

We only stayed here for one night but loved it. Staff provided great recommendations for local sightseeing and food. Room had a fun theme and bathrooms were extremely clean and well kept. Room was quiet for a good sleep and well heated in the winter. Wifi didnt quite reach our room right down the end but was better in the general area.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the main general area have stronger wifi connection!
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2015

As soon as I walked into te Global Village backpackers I felt at home. The gentleman who checked me in was very friendly and helpful. The dorm room I was in was big and the bed was comfy and there were free water bottles if you felt a it cold. Each bed has its own light, shelf and, very importantly, its own plug socket which means there was none of the usual scramble and negotiating with roommates to get my phone charged up. The kitchen has some new cookers and sinks and was very well equipped with plenty of tables to sit at. The bathrooms have also been redone recently. The lounge however was my favourite part. It has plenty of sofas in different arrangements with a massive wood burner by the wall in the middle. This meant that the room was warm and cosy and a wonderful place to spend a cold July evening. The decor throughout has a heavy African influence which is wonderful with some really beautiful pieces of art. My only regret is that I only stayed for the one night! I will definitely go back if I go through Greymouth again!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Miaroundtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay. As soon as we walked in Global host gave us a warm welcome and the homely feel was great. Rooms comfortable and warm with Plenty of power points a must for travelers. Rooms are centrally located close to beautiful bathrooms which are so so clean and fresh. Kitchen is well organised with everything you need. Free wifi. I cant recommend enough for any traveler of any age. Congratulations on operating such a professional lovely place.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Julz505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Fascinating place decorated with tribal artifacts and art from all over the world by the owners. beds were a bit hard for me but not to worry when everything else was so interesting. AMAZING communal kitchen VERY well organised and regularly cleaned by the staff who were mostly backpackers travelling through. it was a pleasure to come home to this place every night. You felt very safe here and alot of friendly people too. Books to read, maps of the world, comfy homely lounge rooms and sunroom to relax in, well run laundry for your own use. ONLY thing I didn't like was that the staff were cleaning the kitchen with the most disgustingly filthy dishcloths which really should have been thrown away each day or two. The kitchen was very very well provisioned in every other way though.

Room Tip: All rooms are very unusual , interesting and quite individual.
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

This hostel tastes quite cool, I really liked that being nice and cozy!!
I have tried free kayaking which was freezing last evening, but
You are likely to enjoy and feel NZ. Lol

Bed room is cool, those each of beds have individual light and a power plug which was really helpful. However, during the night was soo cold. There is a heat pump which is not really works, just warm up a wee bit, but the rest of stuffs are all good
Friendly travellers and woofers sweet as !!

Room Tip: Was not sure but I reckon a room that closes to the lounge there is a good stove lol
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Red0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews