We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality!”
Review of Tealmere Grove B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whangarei
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tealmere Grove B&B
Ranked #14 of 29 Whangarei B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 December 2014

This is a B&B set in a small gated area, surrounded by large trees and bush and is very peaceful. The owners, Anna and Harry, are wonderful hosts and very genuine people, very helpful and willing to please. The apple pie we had read about is superb; there is a great variety of breakfast food. Above all the warmth of our hosts made us feel that we were truly leaving as friends.

Room Tip: Our room had lovely morning sunshine; the other room has a larger bed and would have afternoon sunsh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goodjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2014

There seem to be a broad range of high quality B&Bs for reasonable prices in Whangarei. We chose Tealmere Grove based on the Trip Advisor reviews and were very happy with this choice.
The B&B is located 3km out of Whangarei, close to Kiwi North. The neighbourhood is very quiet and looked well-to-do.

Anna and Harry are very hospitable hosts. We were welcomed with tea and cake before we even had a chance to bring the luggage to our room.
As we arrived around 6:30 pm they didn't expect us to show at all, but they were very relaxed about it. I got the impression that running the B&B is more a hobby than business for them (and a way to collect pocket money for the grandchildren).
Anna and Harry emigrated from the Netherlands in the 1980s and have lots of stories to tell. They like to chat with their guests (without being obtrusive!) and we felt very welcome.

The house is very big and every free corner is decorated with Anna's beautiful colourful acryl paintings. She is very modest about it (“Everybody in Whangarei is an artist. It is just a hobby, you know.”), but they are in fact really good! You could buy one as a very special and personal souvenir. The prices were very reasonable.

There are only 2 guest rooms. We were the only guests and stayed in room 1 which is decorated in red colours. The room is well lit and there is a bedside lamp for both persons. You have access to the gardens from the room. Nights were very quiet (aside from the big clock in the hallway).
The ensuite bathroom was quite spacious. There were 3 soft towels for every person and enough space on the washbasin.
There was a guest lounge with sofa, table, chairs, TV, free wifi etc. where we were served juice and cookies.

For breakfast there was tea, coffee and juice, cereals, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, toast, honey, jam, several cheeses (REAL cheese, not cheddar), original Dutch chocolate sprinkles and if you like them eggs.

You don't have to check out at a certain time, especially not when it is pouring.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2014

Excellent service in a beautiful quiet location also close to the city centre and Barge park. Amazing laid out rooms and outside garden with sunbeds to relax on. Air hockey table to play on and wonderful nearby bush walks. A very large variety of delicious foods for breakfast! Overall an outstanding stay!!! Definitely be back! Thank you Anna and Harry!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jess757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Very welcoming & friendly host. Comfortable and quiet accommodation with Apple cake to die for! Plenty of space and lovely outlook in the bush setting but still close to amenities, cafe and shops. Happy to go back and stay another time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank GeoffC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Anna and Harry made the five of us very welcome from the moment we arrived. Comfortable accommodation overlooking a wonderful garden at the rear so worth asking for a garden facing room. Breakfast was superb and we left with a plate of Anna's famous apple pie to set us on our way....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whangarei hotels
3.1 km away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
150 reviews
12.8 km away
Lupton Lodge
Lupton Lodge
#1 of 34 in Whangarei
297 reviews
4.9 km away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Motel Six
Motel Six
#16 of 34 in Whangarei
58 reviews
5.2 km away
Burgundy Rose Motel
Burgundy Rose Motel
#6 of 34 in Whangarei
130 reviews
8 km away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tealmere Grove B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tealmere Grove B&B

Address: 7 Tealmere Grove, Whangarei 0110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Whangarei
Price Range: €57 - €71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is located Close to town, adjacent to a reserve with kilometers of tramping and walking tracks. Absolutely no traffic noise. We are 25 min. from NZ nicest beaches.45Min. From the Bay of Islands. That makes our B&B ideal for daytrips to see Northland. All our bedrooms are with en-suite with King, Queen and king single beds. For the little one there is a cot. The private TV room has Microwave and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing