We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay, good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzherbert Regency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fitzherbert Regency
Suffolk
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I have stayed at the Fitzherbert Regency on a number of occasions when travelling with business. The accommodation is located on the park, a few hundred metres from the centre of town. The centre is within walking distance but being set slightly further from The Square means it is very quiet. The room are spacious and the small kitchenette is fully equipped. The rooms are always spotlessly clean and the common areas tidy. There is plenty of parking available outside of the units. The owners are extremely helpful and welcoming and it is a pleasure to return here with each trip to Palmerston North. Breakfast is offered and delivered to the room but I have not tried this. There is also a mini bar in the room for snacks and drinks. There is a large bathroom with a spa bath and lovely toiletries. This is a lovely, reasonably priced motel

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
6
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed for one night enroute from Rotorura to Wellington and the Fitzherbert provided a great "pit stop" experience. Here's the trick: when you check in with David at the front desk and he attempts to describe to you how the modern electronic key to the unit's door operates and turns on the lights, simply act befuddled by claiming you aren't yet well-versed in the nuances of a New Zealand accent and he will come to your car, lift out more than half the baggage and race up the stairs and show you how everything works! We were settled in the room in less than five minutes utilizing this method. Of course, it was more convincing because I had an American accent. We requested breakfast for 6:15AM the next morning and at precisely 6:15AM, there was David at the door with the two omelets which were the most memorable of our trip. They must have been created with at least four eggs each and were unusually fluffy as if they had been created by a French chef. No checkout was required (because we had booked online) and we were out the door and on the road by 6:45AM. But to back up a bit, we were hungry when we arrived and immediately adjacent to the motel was a gas station with a full-service convenience store which featured tasty English dinner pies. Because the motel room included a kitchen area along with plates and utensils, we were able to buy the fixings for an instant meal (including ice cream) and we were all set for the night. The bathroom was gigantic with a humongous bathtub with water jets. It looked big enough for at least two people. The shower area was also big enough for two people and had the absolutely best water pressure and shower head of the trip. The beds were also big and comfortable and there was central heat since it was the Southern Hemisphere equivalent of April above the equator. This was also the place to watch the water swirl "the wrong way" as in clockwise (rather than counter-clockwise) down the drain since (again) the bathroom sink was also gigantic. (Toilets these day use "power flush" technology so the water doesn't move in a circle.) Since WiFi Internet Access was one of my requirements, I was able to negotiate (at time of making my reservation) "free" Internet access. David gave me a couple of password coupons upon check-in and the signal was great and I was able to work for an hour to check my email and do some basic text-based information gathering on just one of the two download-based coupons. (This is not designed for those seeking to watch videos. Bandwidth use in New Zealand is more costly to subscribers than in the USA.) If you're in a hurry to travel from one destination to the next and want the "fluffy towel quality" of a nice place to stay, this is the place!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David200111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NAPIER
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

best value for money stay in Palmerston north
paid $ 120.00 for a room that other motels would be $150.00

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SQUIRENAPIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

Easy to find in motel row on Fitzherbert Avenue. lovely new accommodation with AC.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carryon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawkes bay
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

Travel regularly across north island and this is the best accommodation I've found - I stay an average 10 nights a year here. This is luxury at average motel prices - I have tried a good few motels in Palmy in the past and they haven't got a patch on Fitzherbert. Got to mention chef on site for amazing breakfasts (almost too good - my waistline is suffering). As a woman travelling on her own security is important to me and I always feel safe and well looked after here. Being virtually next door to the botanical gardens is a huge plus for after work destressing. If there is a downside to mention it is that the cafe's and restaurants are a 10 minute brisk walk into town. Hardly a biggie and a bit of plus for a quiet's nights sleep

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HawkesBayChesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
1.0 km away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.0 km away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.9 km away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Harringtons Motor Lodge
Harringtons Motor Lodge
#8 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.0 km away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.9 km away
Hacienda Motel
Hacienda Motel
#2 of 36 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzherbert Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzherbert Regency

Property: Fitzherbert Regency
Address: 250 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzherbert Regency 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Fitzherbert Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing