We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Cheers for Katch-Up”

Katch-Up Seafood Grill & More
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$36 - US$72
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Katch-Up at the top end of Margaret River is the only seafood restaurant in town and offers upmarket, casual dining. With its nice, large al fresco area and a cosy stone fireplace Katch-Up has evolved to a new Margaret River favourite. The team of highly qualified European chefs are passionate about creating innovative dishes highlighting quality fish and seafood with changing specials. Their commitment to using local and seasonal produce is of primary importance. Besides seafood and fish, Katch-Up offers a variety of meat dishes and vegetarian options and also caters for special dietary requirements. One of Katch-Up's all-time favourites are the marron, the highly appreciated and sought after fresh water crayfish native to Australia's South West, which is served as an entrée as well as a main course. However, to indulge into a unique and unforgettable seafood treat, Katch-Up's legendary 'Seafood Platter for Two' with two whole Donnybrook marron, one in the cold and one in the hot section, is a must. Katch-Up is fully licensed. The wine list created by owner Silvia Koehler, a former Swiss wine importer, offers a great variety of Western Australian wines and some fine drops from Europe and New Zealand. It is the foremost goal of the kitchen and floor team to make guests feel welcome and at home and to fulfil all their needs and wishes where possible. Katch-Up is the winner of the 2017 'Readers Choice Award' for Seafood of the Australian Good Food and Travel Guide.
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Six of us went for a relaxed Birthday Celebration on Friday 2nd June and it was super; nice ambience, gorgeous food and great service - what more could one ask for. The Barramundi was beautifully cooked as were the oyster kilpatricks, scallops, mussels, calamari and sea food pasta and the desserts were sumptuous. Katch-Up is one of the best Restaurants in Margaret River - don't miss it.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank winebuff43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2017

We meet him standing on the top of the hill on a cold winters night, silent, tall, elegant.
Looking down the street and then at us; "Would you like to see the menu?" Gentle, inviting, charming, no pressure...delightful. "Yes we would."

Thus began an intriguing fulfilling and "gemütlich" (German for coziness, friendly, family feeling) rewarding evening. Herbert and his wife Silvia have an amazing restaurant in a street of amazing restaurants.

We have been to many famous restaurants around the world and Katch-Up ranks highly with the top.

I had the special the scallops and the swordfish my wife the beef and they were both excellent. The desert was in the amazing category with pineapple slices and pomegranates with a lime sorbet.

It was so go we came back another night for the wine and my wife had the beef and I could not talk her out of it; she so loved it. This time I had the venison. Good but not as good as the one that had in the black forest two years ago but very good. Recommendation they are fish specialists and brilliant at fish. Desert chocolate mousse Herbert boasted, jested "Best In the World". I do not know but if it is not I would really enjoy trying to find something better.

Would we come back yes immediately. Herbert is a charming welcoming host. Next time I want to fly down and spend the weekend using Margaret River as a base to explore the area by air.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Neil_GPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

The seafood platter has both a hot and cold plate. All seafood was very fresh - the raw oyster, prawns and marron were perfect! Hot food was cooked very well too. Enjoyed every last bite!

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Kenaina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

We celebrated Mother's Day at the Katch-Up Seafood Grill. Fearing that the restaurant will be full for the special day, we decided to go in much earlier to get a table. That's seems like one of the best decisions we made! We managed to get the full attention from their wonderful staff!

The food was awesome! We ordered their seafood chowder to share, a seafood Mariana and a steak. All of which were well executed by the chef. The seafood chowder is especially worth to try!

We will come back next time when we're in the area!

Date of visit: May 2017
3  Thank Autumndew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

A great seafood restaurant with the friendliest service. We went there for our 59th wedding anniversary and they went out of their way to make it special. wonderful place.

Date of visit: May 2017
4  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Katch-Up Seafood Grill & More also viewed

Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Katch-Up Seafood Grill & More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing