We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
138
20
13
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
20
13
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safari tent camp kitchen undercover area mountain bike trails camping trip clean amenities ping pong hard ground awesome weekend rail trail facilities are great bush retreat campers kitchen a queen size bed great place for kids long weekend thanks guys
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

If youre looking for a complete change from the from the usual,try this place.Its in the forest yet only 1km from town,walk trails all around.Weve been 4 times,and still love the place.You can bring your caravan/tent or there are plenty of cabins to stay in .The staff are so friendly and helpful. Last trip We took the 2 grand children 8 and 10year olds,they were out exploring with new friends every chance they got.Weve been in winter and still had a great time walking the trails
when the local streams are running,coming back to sit around the firepit with a toasted marshmallow and a glass of local red.If you feel like a change from walking there are bikes for hire.The ammenities are close by and very clean.We met quite a few people on 2nd or 3rd visits,considering the place hasnt been open Long says a lot.Thoroughly reccomend a stay

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at RAC Margaret River Nature Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Hi Bernie, thanks for your review, we were getting the idea that you liked this place when you booked in for the 4th time!!! Our kids miss your Grand kids and often ask when they can come back. I think they really enjoyed their time riding their bikes around and exploring the bush. We hope you can all come back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We were desperate to get away around Xmas time and could find nowhere anywhere up or down the coast to go from Perth and basically had given up, such is the issue in WA where the world and his wife tend to want to go at any one particular time and that usually coincides with when you want to. All part of living in the most isolated city on earth and If you don't book 2 years in advance for the busy times, you may as well stay home as far as WA is concerned. Perhaps that is why we are contemplating a move East after 30 years in the West.

That being said we thought we would give things a crack for when most were going back to work in January. Still no luck, so in desperation tried just about everywhere in the region and stumbled on this place. Amazingly I wasn't greeted with loud guffaws and the mental picture of a site manager rolling around the floor slapping his thighs with mirth or made to feel stupid for asking such a dumb question of was there any room for a caravan between the dates of x and y? The unexpected response was that there was and " how long would you like to stay?" And ( I know you don't start sentences with conjunctions but I like the dramatic effect it has on a sentence :-) ) it was pretty cheap to, not that this was ever going to be a factor.

We rolled up, found the place up a gravel track that opens up into a forest clearing, slap bang in the middle of what you think is nowhere, but if you were keen could walk to the town centre in 10-15 minutes or bike it in even less time.This place is magnificent. The owners are as friendly as you can get and it is such a peaceful place as you will ever imagine.

There are a few issues to traditional caravan establishments such as grey water and black water restrictions and a request that you don't run air conditioners, but honestly it doesn't matter once you get your head around it and it's more than worth these small inconveniences.

We love it and will be back. Hopefully for us it will be just as unspoilt as it is now, but once the word gets out about this place, I can but hope that there will still be room left for us.

We wish you the very best with your new venture people, this will be a huge success for you guys and enjoyed every minute of the visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buggeritwillthisdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at RAC Margaret River Nature Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Hi, thanks heaps for your review... don't worry - there is plenty of space here and being so new we usually have good availability right up until the last minute! We really do appreciate reviews as it seems to make a massive difference to people finding out about us, and as a new venture we need to get word out!!! We are a bit different to other caravan parks, but being in such a cool spot inside a national park, like you, most people are happy to adjust as long as they are aware beforehand of how we have to operate! We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I booked a few months in advance wanting to stay in their Eco lodge, but it wasn't fully ready for when I was there, but Claire was excellent in accommodating me in a dorm room and arranging it so I was in it all alone for 3 nights! Heaven for a poor student who's spent a week sharing dorm rooms! I loved the grounds; being in these surroundings was so peaceful and serene. The dorm was simple, 2 bunk beds (1 a double bed!!!) off the main undercover area. There were some groups of people that liked to get louder as the moon rose, but Claire enforced the 'no noise after 10pm' rule and shut that down! :) I met the family's father as he worked on the grounds and he was so pleasant and such a friendly man. The amenities were clean and accessible.
I couldn't have asked for anything more. I was so happy with the whole atmosphere of Wharnecliffe Mill and for such a great price. Thank you Claire and family, I can't wait to return and check out the Eco lodge and the Safari tents! Amy :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amybB6506YX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at RAC Margaret River Nature Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Hi Amy, Thanks for the review, and sorry we were not able to get you into the lodge. I think you would love the safari tents for next time you are down this way - great spot to really chill out! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Nestled in the trees sounding Margaret River is Wharncliffe Mill Bush Retreat, almost like walking through the wardrobe into Narnia. At night you can see the stars shining through the trees; something which you simply can't see in the big cities. The experience here is basically unlike any other camping grounds than I've seen in my life. Facilities are above all expectations, entertainment areas are awesome and there is plenty of space for all. Would absolutely recommend this retreat to anyone. Period.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't miss the off-road into the camp! It's hard to see and mightn't be on your GPS, but there is a blue sign pointing you in the right direction :)
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NotAdvisable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at RAC Margaret River Nature Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Hi Damian, thanks for your review and for the photo you posted on our facebook page, it really captures the essence of the camping experience here. Hope to see you down here again soon. Cheers, Claire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Amazing place to camp. Camp sites are well spaced throughout ground, and have clean amenities available.
Only about 5 minutes from town, yet due to the surrounding bush/trees it feels like you are ages away from civilisation which is great to allow you to get away from the hustle and bustle.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Brendanstorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P, Owner at RAC Margaret River Nature Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for posting a review. It is bizarre how secluded it feels and we did try and make sure our sites were set well apart so people had the real bush camping feeling! See you again soon. Cheers, Claire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews